• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen 5000 Series Processor Support Comes to ASRock X370 Motherboards in Leaked BIOS Update

AleksandarK

Staff member
Joined
Aug 19, 2017
Messages
1,690 (0.85/day)
When AMD announced its 5000 series Ryzen processors, the company has noted that the new CPUs will be able to operate only on the 500 and 400 series chipsets, with a simple BIOS update. That means that millions of motherboards can install the latest CPUs with no problems. Today, we get to see something that is not a usual thing. ASRock has prepared a BIOS for its X370 Taichi motherboard, and it has been leaked at jzelectronic.de. The newly leaked BIOS is said to bring support for AMD's Ryzen 5000 series of processors codenamed Vermeer. Yes, you are reading that right. ASRock has found a way to bring Vermeer to the unsupported X370 platform.

Although impressive, you must note that the BIOS is in the alpha stage of development, which means that it is enriched with possible bugs and glitches, so it is not recommended for use for now. AMD is against this, and said for Tom's Hardware that "AMD has no plans to enable or support AMD Ryzen 5000 series on AMD 300 series chipsets." That means that ASRock has produced one-off software and it is still a question will the company further develop this new "P6.61" BIOS. You can download it at the jzelectronic.de website but proceed with caution.


View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
270 (0.12/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard B550M Steel Legend
Cooling XPX (custom loop)
Memory 32GB 3200MHz cl16
Video Card(s) 3080 with Bykski block (custom loop)
Storage 980 Pro
Case Fractal 804
Power Supply Focus Plus Gold 750FX
Mouse G603
Keyboard G610 brown
Software yes, lots!
Wow, "they found a way"...?
Aren't 300 and 400 series chips basically the same?
So they did not "find a way" but were just brave enough to port support against AMDs wishes...!?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,928 (1.61/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 @3800Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Wow, "they found a way"...?
Aren'd 300 and 400 series Chips basically the same?
So they did not find a way but were just brave enough to port suppport against AMDs wishes...!?
No really. AMD has never said that the 300 series boards can't work with the new processor but are not being supported. It has been proven some time ago that the 300 series can work and identify the new 5000 series CPUs correctly. If you decide to use the 300 series board with the new CPUs from AMD and if something happens or the CPU will be damaged or whatever reason will there be when it stops working, you can't put blame on AMD since you have done this knowing the risk. It's like OC. If you OC with exceedingly high voltage and you burn the god damn CPU that's on you. Just an example.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
217 (0.21/day)
Wow, "they found a way"...?
Aren'd 300 and 400 series Chips basically the same?
So they did not find a way but were just brave enough to port suppport against AMDs wishes...!?
One should always assume tech media can either not resist clickbaitery or are downright uneducated in the subject.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
782 (0.28/day)
System Name Fat NCASE
Processor Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING B550M ZAKU (WIFI) Edition
Cooling Scythe Fuma with 3 SCYTHE Wondersnail 2400RPM + Arctic MX2
Memory Corsair Vengeance 128GB @3200Mhz Cl16 (32GB X 4)
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 3060 StormX ITX 12GB
Storage MX500 4TB SATA + Toshiba MG08 16TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27UL500 4K monitor
Case Jonsbo W2 black
Audio Device(s) Onboard realtek 1200 & Soundblaster G3 usb
Power Supply ASUS ROG STRIX 850W Gundam Edition
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse :)
Keyboard RK100 Royal Kludge
Software Windows 10 HOME
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
That is impressive makes me wonder if there would be b350 support too.

Asrock do have a known history making things that are not official supported. Anyone remember asrock "Sky OC" feature? A feature would let you overclock lock intel cpus. Though it was promptly pulled down due to pressure from intel. I wonder if this would the same for Amd 300 series.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,722 (0.39/day)
That is impressive makes

No it's not. There's not much difference in between the 4x0 series and 3x0 series. The chipset is housed inside the CPU and no longer the board. There could be some signalling issues perhaps when going to PCI-E 4.0 but thats about it. AMD has stated that it does'nt offer support for older series as the 3x0 but vendors are "free" of choice to still do it if they desire.

At least you got a serious upgrade path now from AM4 in general, ryzen 1x00 series all the way up to 5x00 series.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
217 (0.21/day)
It's the year 2020. Information can be pulled in a second.
The time people spend writting comment wondering how this sorcery is achieved, they would be able to pull information how all 300, 400 and B550 chipsets are made by the same vendor using the same pinout. They would also find that the socket pinout is unchanged and that the general I/O of Ryzen MCU is the same as it was 3 or 4 years ago. Maybe then they would realize there is no physical limitation to achieve this even on A320 boards, other that uefi size limitation.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2020
Messages
118 (0.12/day)
Yeah boy, was hoping Asrock did this (they were one of the earliest to bring Matisse support to X370 which allowed me to run 3900X on my X370 Taichi, has been absolutely rock solid). I'm on the fence about whether I'll upgrade to 5900X, but nice to know that I can without a motherboard purchase. When was the last time you could run 4 generations of Intel processor on the same mobo?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
5,428 (1.51/day)
No it's not. There's not much difference in between the 4x0 series and 3x0 series. The chipset is housed inside the CPU and no longer the board. There could be some signalling issues perhaps when going to PCI-E 4.0 but thats about it. AMD has stated that it does'nt offer support for older series as the 3x0 but vendors are "free" of choice to still do it if they desire.

At least you got a serious upgrade path now from AM4 in general, ryzen 1x00 series all the way up to 5x00 series.
Um what, what do you mean by that :wtf:
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
270 (0.12/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard B550M Steel Legend
Cooling XPX (custom loop)
Memory 32GB 3200MHz cl16
Video Card(s) 3080 with Bykski block (custom loop)
Storage 980 Pro
Case Fractal 804
Power Supply Focus Plus Gold 750FX
Mouse G603
Keyboard G610 brown
Software yes, lots!
He means that Ryzen CPUs are SoCs, which can function without the 300, 400 or 500 Series "Chip(set)" entirely. And he is right.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
2,131 (0.63/day)
Location
Serbia
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard X570 I Aorus Pro
Cooling Noctua L12S + Kryonaut
Memory HyperX Fury 2 x 8GB 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) RX 470 Nitro+ 4GB
Storage SX8200 Pro 512 / 860 Evo SATA 250GB
Display(s) 24G2U
Case NR200P
Power Supply Ion SFX 650
Mouse G703
Keyboard Apex m500 (gateron yellow)
Software W10
That is impressive makes me wonder if there would be b350 support too.
Probably, but B350 boards are mediocre at best, I personally wouldn't put any Zen3 cpu in one of those.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
5,428 (1.51/day)
He means that Ryzen CPUs are SoCs, which can function without the 300, 400 or 500 Series "Chip(set)" entirely. And he is right.
Yes that bit I already know, except the part about chipset which sounded confusing. It really doesn't have anything to do with the SoC part.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
499 (0.15/day)
System Name Personal Rig
Processor Intel i5 3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push/Pull
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz Vengeance
Video Card(s) Intel HD4000
Storage Seagate 1TB & 180GB Intel 330
Display(s) AOC I2360P
Case Enermax Vostok
Audio Device(s) Onboard realtek
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Mouse Microsoft OEM 2.0
Keyboard Logitech Internet Pro White
Software Legal ;)
Benchmark Scores Very big
That is impressive makes me wonder if there would be b350 support too.

Asrock do have a known history making things that are not official supported. Anyone remember asrock "Sky OC" feature? A feature would let you overclock lock intel cpus. Though it was promptly pulled down due to pressure from intel. I wonder if this would the same for Amd 300 series.
Yeah, asrock had plenty of quirky boards in their past.
Like for example 945 series with core2 duo support https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/ConRoe1333-DVIH/index.asp#BIOS
Or 1156 with P67 (normally a 1155 chipset) https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/P67 Transformer/index.asp
Or 775 with Core2 Duo, AGP and DDR1 support https://www.asrock.com/mb/via/775dual-vsta/
Or AMD 939 board with optional AM2 support https://www.asrock.com/mb/ULI/939Dual-SATA2/
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
2,624 (0.71/day)
System Name Skunkworks
Processor 5800x3d
Motherboard x570 unify
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB 3600 mhz
Video Card(s) asrock 6800xt challenger D
Storage Sabarent rocket 4.0 2TB, MX 500 2TB
Display(s) Asus 1440p144 27"
Case Old arse cooler master 932
Power Supply Corsair 1200w platinum
No it's not. There's not much difference in between the 4x0 series and 3x0 series. The chipset is housed inside the CPU and no longer the board. There could be some signalling issues perhaps when going to PCI-E 4.0 but thats about it. AMD has stated that it does'nt offer support for older series as the 3x0 but vendors are "free" of choice to still do it if they desire.

At least you got a serious upgrade path now from AM4 in general, ryzen 1x00 series all the way up to 5x00 series.
People here, in all their fedora tipping "whel ACHTUALLLY" euphoria, seem to forget that AMD never made AGESA code for the 300 series, and putting that code on a 300 series motherboard without AMD's help is not as simple as clicking and dragging.

AsRock deserves credit here for supporting years old boards with a BIOS update without official help from AMD. That is not the simplest undertaking ever.

Probably, but B350 boards are mediocre at best, I personally wouldn't put any Zen3 cpu in one of those.
If you already have the board, and are interested in a better 6 core, then there would be no issue. Zen 3 pulls less power then zen 2, and just becausea motherboard uses the B350 chipset doesnt mean its VRMs cant handle zen 3 anymore then having X570 as a chipset means the VRMs can handle a OCed 5950x properly.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
365 (0.14/day)
AFAIK, the blame is not on AMD on this. They support what they have to. Anything else fall upon the motherboard vendors because it's their choice to make. Why? Because it's their sellings that can be hurt by it.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
2,624 (0.71/day)
System Name Skunkworks
Processor 5800x3d
Motherboard x570 unify
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB 3600 mhz
Video Card(s) asrock 6800xt challenger D
Storage Sabarent rocket 4.0 2TB, MX 500 2TB
Display(s) Asus 1440p144 27"
Case Old arse cooler master 932
Power Supply Corsair 1200w platinum
AFAIK, the blame is not on AMD on this. They support what they have to. Anything else fall upon the motherboard vendors because it's their choice to make. Why? Because it's their sellings that can be hurt by it.
AMD supplies the microcode to make the updates possible, if they choose to not supply code for the 300 series officially then the blame is on them. Board makers are no more responsible for makign these code updates thmselves then they are writing their own GPU drivers for AMD graphic cards. This was discussed at length earlier this year, AMD sold AM4 as having "4 years of support" and cant seem to support that for either consumers OR their board partners.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
236 (0.05/day)
Processor 3700X
Motherboard X570 TUF Plus
Cooling U12
Memory 32GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970
Storage 512GB 970 Pro
Case CM 500L vertical
AMD supplies the microcode to make the updates possible, if they choose to not supply code for the 300 series officially then the blame is on them. Board makers are no more responsible for makign these code updates thmselves then they are writing their own GPU drivers for AMD graphic cards. This was discussed at length earlier this year, AMD sold AM4 as having "4 years of support" and cant seem to support that for either consumers OR their board partners.

Yeah, expecting vendors to write drivers is scummy. Which is why AMD did exactly that with their laptop Ryzen chips until FEB2019. This was contrary to their previous stance of providing native driver support for laptops GPUs (before Ryzen launched, that is). AMD even went as far as publicly shifting blame onto OEMs for not making drivers quickly enough.

All I know is I'm glad we all made enough of a ruckus so my Ryzen 2500U laptop finally got its 3rd driver about 8 months in (fixing a couple of app compatibility and perf issues). AMD made the chips, and marketed them as AMD Ryzen and AMD Radeon Vega, it's AMD's responsibility for drivers. Even Intel stopped being so immature years ago, and that's a company that ditches sockets every 2 generations, even when there is 0% reason to or no HW incompatibility.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
3,424 (0.73/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name LenovoⓇ ThinkPad™ T430
Processor IntelⓇ Core™ i5-3210M processor (2 cores, 2.50GHz, 3MB cache), Intel Turbo Boost™ 2.0 (3.10GHz), HT™
Motherboard Lenovo 2344 (Mobile Intel QM77 Express Chipset)
Cooling Single-pipe heatsink + Delta fan
Memory 2x 8GB KingstonⓇ HyperX™ Impact 2133MHz DDR3L SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) Intel HD Graphics™ 4000 (GPU clk: 1100MHz, vRAM clk: 1066MHz)
Storage SamsungⓇ 860 EVO mSATA (250GB) + 850 EVO (500GB) SATA
Display(s) 14.0" (355mm) HD (1366x768) color, anti-glare, LED backlight, 200 nits, 16:9 aspect ratio, 300:1 co
Case ThinkPad Roll Cage (one-piece magnesium frame)
Audio Device(s) HD Audio, RealtekⓇ ALC3202 codec, DolbyⓇ Advanced Audio™ v2 / stereo speakers, 1W x 2
Power Supply ThinkPad 65W AC Adapter + ThinkPad Battery 70++ (9-cell)
Mouse TrackPointⓇ pointing device + UltraNav™, wide touchpad below keyboard + ThinkLight™
Keyboard 6-row, 84-key, ThinkVantage button, spill-resistant, multimedia Fn keys, LED backlight (PT Layout)
Software MicrosoftⓇ WindowsⓇ 10 x86-64 (22H2)
Today, we get to see something that is not a usual thing.
This is usual once its ASRock that we are talking about. :laugh:
Also, I'm just waiting for support across the BAR.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2019
Messages
516 (0.40/day)
I'm not surprised given that the X370 Taichi was reviewed as "overengineered", serving as AsRock's flagship for the new Ryzens at the time. It makes sense that it could likely support Zen 3 all the way up and down the stack; only lacking PCIe 4.0 capability. It'd be great if AsRock can get this to work; I have two of them that could use this for a final upgrade. Add in ReBAR support and it should be just peachy for a future GPU upgrade as-needed.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
865 (0.28/day)
Processor ryzen 5 5600x
Motherboard AB350m Pro4
Cooling custom loop
Memory TEAMGROUP T-Force TXKD416G3600HC18ADC01 16gbs XMP
Video Card(s) HP GTX1650 super 4gb
Storage MZVLB256HBHQ-000H1 PM981a (256GB)/3TB HDD
Display(s) Nitro XF243Y Pbmiiprx
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
b350 can support ryzen 5000 series. Also asrock has bioses on the website that can be cross flashed from some of the b450 boards to there b350/x370/a320 boards and work normally. ive done it but sense i get so much flack for this sort of thing i just dont bother posting it.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
92 (0.02/day)
Processor R5 1600@3.9
Motherboard ASRock Gaming X
Memory 2x8 3300 CL14
Video Card(s) 1080 SEAHAWK
Display(s) ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Im a bit sceptical, even if it works frequency or bios option will be limited right ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,491 (0.25/day)
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix x570-I
Cooling Lian Li Galahad 240
Memory Crucial DDR4-3200 32 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA RTX 3090
Storage Adata 1Tb NVME
Display(s) Samsung G9 Odyssey
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair SFX 750W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard The rabbit hole of custom mechanical keyboards
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
Yes! Please let this bios make it to full release. Keep my 3 yo X370 Taichi alive longer. Now only if I can find the 5900X anywhere.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
1,551 (0.51/day)
Location
Leland, NC
System Name The Captain (2.0)
Processor Ryzen 5 5600
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Cooling 360mm Be Quiet! Pure Loop 2 FX, 5x Be Quiet! Light Wings fans
Memory 16 GB (3200Mhz) G.Skill Trident Z Royal (Silver)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1660 Super
Storage 1x Crucial MX500 500GB SSD; 1x Crucial MX500 500GB M.2 SSD; 1x WD Blue 7200 RPM HDD
Display(s) Aorus CV27F 27" 1080p 165Hz
Case Be Quiet! Pure Base 500 FX
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS+ Platinum 750W
Mouse Varies based on mood; is currently Razer Basilisk V3
Keyboard Varies based on mood; currently Razer Blackwidow V3 Mini Hyperspeed
About time the OG Ryzen X370 chipset gets some attention. Nice, ASRock!
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
499 (0.15/day)
System Name Personal Rig
Processor Intel i5 3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push/Pull
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz Vengeance
Video Card(s) Intel HD4000
Storage Seagate 1TB & 180GB Intel 330
Display(s) AOC I2360P
Case Enermax Vostok
Audio Device(s) Onboard realtek
Power Supply Corsair TX650
Mouse Microsoft OEM 2.0
Keyboard Logitech Internet Pro White
Software Legal ;)
Benchmark Scores Very big
Im a bit sceptical, even if it works frequency or bios option will be limited right ?
Why would it be? B450 is literaly B350 with different firmware. It's the same silicon. So if a board design just swapped chipsets and didn't do anything else, you could theoretically easily crossflash without issue.
 
Top