• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen 9 3900x Voltage and Temperature

Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
117 (0.06/day)
System Name Snizzle
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series™ H100i PRO RGB
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C14 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA GAMING, 11G-P4-2383-KR
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Case NZXT H500
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 220-G2-0850-XR 850W
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky DK2108S
Software Windows 10 Pro
Doing some benchmark with Cinebench R20 . I notice something funny is when the computer is idle the voltage at 1.45-1.46 V and temp is around 45-55 Cel.
g5.PNG

g1.PNG

g2.PNG
g3.PNG


When i started doing the benchmark, the Voltage drop to 1.3- 1.4 v. The CPU core is at 4.0 ghz on all cores.

g4.PNG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,732 (3.80/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Doing some benchmark with Cinebench R20 . I notice something funny is when the computer is idle the voltage at 1.45-1.46 V and temp is around 45-55 Cel.
View attachment 126650
View attachment 126651View attachment 126652

When i started doing the benchmark, the Voltage drop to 1.3- 1.4 v. The CPU core is at 4.0 ghz on all cores.

View attachment 126653
That voltage is WAY too high! For first gen Ryzen 1.35 to 1.4 was common, but these new gen Ryzen CPU's should only be at 1.2 or 1.25.

See this and start at 3:32;
Jay will walk you through what to set and why.
 
Low quality post by HenrySomeone
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
117 (0.06/day)
System Name Snizzle
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series™ H100i PRO RGB
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C14 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA GAMING, 11G-P4-2383-KR
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Case NZXT H500
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 220-G2-0850-XR 850W
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky DK2108S
Software Windows 10 Pro
So, what I did was. I offset my cpu by - .1 in the bios. Now it showing 1.35 - 1.39 v
g6.PNG


After rerun the benchmark. It showing better result.

g7.PNG
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,732 (3.80/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Ah, yes, the delights of AMD ownership...
Actually, the problems here are not the fault of AMD, it's the board maker not setting the voltages in the BIOS correctly based on the CPU microcode
So, what I did was. I offset my cpu by - .1 in the bios. Now it showing 1.35 - 1.39 v
View attachment 126660

After rerun the benchmark. It showing better result.

View attachment 126661
Are your temps better as well? I'd still set the voltage lower, say -0.2, if you're not OCing.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
4,605 (2.20/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 4800x (upgrade from 3600 @ 4.4 all core no downclock)
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO (custom aggressive fan curve)
Memory G.Skill 2x8 (16gb) 3800 cas 16--- 1:1 Infinity Fabric
Video Card(s) Big Navi (upgrade for rx 580)
Storage Micron 2TB SSD
Display(s) Pixio Px7 27" 2560x1440 165hz IPS DCI-P3 95% HDR400
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P fans
Audio Device(s) Logitech THX 2.1 and Schiit Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
That voltage is WAY too high! For first gen Ryzen 1.35 to 1.4 was common, but these new gen Ryzen CPU's should only be at 1.2 or 1.25.

See this and start at 3:32;
Jay will walk you through what to set and why.
Jay is great. Always enjoyed his videos, don't watch anyone too much these days, except Linus once in awhile because he is goofy as crap sometimes. lol
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
117 (0.06/day)
System Name Snizzle
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series™ H100i PRO RGB
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C14 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA GAMING, 11G-P4-2383-KR
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Case NZXT H500
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 220-G2-0850-XR 850W
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky DK2108S
Software Windows 10 Pro
Actually, the problems here are not the fault of AMD, it's the board maker not setting the voltages in the BIOS correctly based on the CPU microcode

Are your temps better as well? I'd still set the voltage lower, say -0.2, if you're not OCing.
Yes temp drop down to 38-45 Cel. I think i stay at this offset at -0.1 for now and let see on gaming. Voltage will drop down 0.850v when idle and when is use is at 1.345 V, No i don't think i will OCing because of the state we in right now. lots of problem with the motherboard bios.
g8.PNG
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
4,605 (2.20/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 4800x (upgrade from 3600 @ 4.4 all core no downclock)
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO (custom aggressive fan curve)
Memory G.Skill 2x8 (16gb) 3800 cas 16--- 1:1 Infinity Fabric
Video Card(s) Big Navi (upgrade for rx 580)
Storage Micron 2TB SSD
Display(s) Pixio Px7 27" 2560x1440 165hz IPS DCI-P3 95% HDR400
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P fans
Audio Device(s) Logitech THX 2.1 and Schiit Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
Actually, the problems here are not the fault of AMD, it's the board maker not setting the voltages in the BIOS correctly based on the CPU microcode

Are your temps better as well? I'd still set the voltage lower, say -0.2, if you're not OCing.
Honestly Asus has always done this. Even on my Asus Z68 Deluxe or w.e it was called, whenever I flipped the switch to auto OC it on the mobo, called TPU and EPU, it would skyrocket high voltage and only give me 4.3ghz oc on sandy bridge 2500k... everyone always just manually oc'd a 4.5 clock at like much lower voltage than that.

Asus is just overrated as a company as far as I am concerned.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,425 (2.14/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 3600mhz Corsair RGB Pro/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR / MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
Similar issues on my Z390 Asus Maximus Code... Regardless of bios version the stock voltages for vccio and SA are way too high.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.51/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
All vendors seem to do it. I asked MSI (on the X99 platform) why this was... and their best response was: "it provides guaranteed stability."

Yeah... 1.35 VCCIO on a CPU that only needs 1.05v to function is not what I would deem safe, nor stable. Not to mention that anything over 1.3v on air/water was actually considered a damaging prospect too.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
739 (0.94/day)
Location
London, UK
That is something that i dont like, if cooling is at 70c, why 4.0ghz? supposed to be all at 4.6ghz, i wonder when the cpu starts throttling, 60c? does anybody know?

What the hell this is supposed to work all with 4.6ghz? 30c and vcore 1.2? well as cold as it gets vcore can be dropped little by little and maintains maximum clock speed allowed 4.6 on 3900x, or same can be said about as hot as it gets vcore and clock speed lowers to maintain temperature that is good to make that vcore stable.



Here at the techpowerup boos analysis, wizzard forgot to show the current temperature graph scale too. I wonder if temperature less than said 50c will still leave it at 4.2ghz maximum on all cores. LN2 bench can confirm my theory or a very good watercooling.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
154 (0.08/day)
System Name Harm's Rig's
Processor 2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard Asus Prime x470 Pro / Msi GD80 990fxa
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III ARGB 360 AIO/ Zalman cooler fan 110mm
Memory TRIDENT Z F-43600V15D-16GTZ /G.SKILL DDR4 3600cl16 16GB EVGA 16Gb 2400 DDR3
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti / 290x/290a cfx
Storage 1SSD / 1HHD
Display(s) 40"TV / 24" Asus
Case TT 37 VIEW 200MM'S/ NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply EVGA 1300G2/Corsair w750
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
Waiting till Christmas , lots BIOS updates till then.
learn the hard way with GD80 990FXA,BIOS updates every month for 8 months back in 2011.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
739 (0.94/day)
Location
London, UK
Doing some benchmark with Cinebench R20 . I notice something funny is when the computer is idle the voltage at 1.45-1.46 V and temp is around 45-55 Cel.

When i started doing the benchmark, the Voltage drop to 1.3- 1.4 v. The CPU core is at 4.0 ghz on all cores.
Can you disable smt and see if you can overclock it better, also can you see power consumption with smt off, 100% load? I just don't understand why no reviewers have done this test.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,787 (0.73/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 250GB 860Evo SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) 15" IPS
Mouse G703
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)
Software W10
No i don't think i will OCing because of the state we in right now. lots of problem with the motherboard bios.
You wont get much from overclocking anyway, don't bother. PBO and XFR do a good job. In some cases (like lightly threaded games) you might even lose performance versus stock.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
66 (0.13/day)
System Name Shiny Beast
Processor Intel Core i9 9900k 5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600Mhz CL17
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX 2080 Ti OC Black Ops 4 Edition
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, Samsung 860 Evo 1TB, Crucial MX300 525GB, WD Black 2TB
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 3440x1440 144Hz FreeSync
Case Corsair 500D SE RGB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z906
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600
Keyboard Logitech K750
All vendors seem to do it. I asked MSI (on the X99 platform) why this was... and their best response was: "it provides guaranteed stability."

Yeah... 1.35 VCCIO on a CPU that only needs 1.05v to function is not what I would deem safe, nor stable. Not to mention that anything over 1.3v on air/water was actually considered a damaging prospect too.
My Asus Maximus XI Hero used 1.45v VCCIO and 1.4v VCCSA on 3600Mhz XMP and almost 1.38v on the CPU for 4.7Ghz allcore turbo:kookoo:
Manually I got down to 1.365v VCCIO and 1.34v VCCSA with 4000Mhz RAM and 1.3v for 5Ghz on the CPU.
 

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,997 (2.07/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
I can't get it now (on mobile) but I saw a Reddit thread from an AMD rep, could even have been a guy called Rob. But... Monitoring software isn't reporting idle voltage. Effectively, the software wakes the core, which responds to the call as an intense load. Therefore, the idle voltage is actually a load voltage, instigated by the monitoring. Ultimately, it's like quantum. The act of observing the chip, changes it's state from cc6.
Only one single software or bios monitoring tool should be active. I think he said either CPUz was okay or Ryzen master. But only one. Mobo monitoring tools will mess either up.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
57 (0.01/day)
System Name RyZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 WIFI
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
Memory 4 x 8GB G.SKILL @ 3800MHz 16-16-16-32 1T
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB & 850Pro 1TB
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q IPS G-Sync 165Hz
Case Phanteks Eclipse P600S White
Audio Device(s) Edifier r1280t / Audio-Technica ATH-M40X
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus 650W Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Ten
Keyboard Fnatic Streak MX Red Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/46112957
I can't get it now (on mobile) but I saw a Reddit thread from an AMD rep, could even have been a guy called Rob. But... Monitoring software isn't reporting idle voltage. Effectively, the software wakes the core, which responds to the call as an intense load. Therefore, the idle voltage is actually a load voltage, instigated by the monitoring. Ultimately, it's like quantum. The act of observing the chip, changes it's state from cc6.
Only one single software or bios monitoring tool should be active. I think he said either CPUz was okay or Ryzen master. But only one. Mobo monitoring tools will mess either up.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cbls9g
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
1,010 (0.36/day)
Location
Belgrade, Serbia
System Name Intel® X99 Wellsburg
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-5820K - 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage V E10 (1801)
Cooling EK RGB Monoblock + EK XRES D5 Revo Glass PWM
Memory CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB /850 EVO 1TB / WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung P2450H
Case Lian Li PC-O11 WXC
Audio Device(s) CREATIVE Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA 1200 P2 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G900 / SS QCK
Keyboard Deck 87 Francium Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Finally day when gamers could buy killer PC for 2000$.
3900X, 1TB Gen 4 M.2-Radeon 5700XT CH4H Motherboard and 16GB RAM.
 
Low quality post by HenrySomeone
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,617 (0.48/day)
Location
Greece
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X@95W
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx 400 Black
Memory 2*8GB PATRIOT PVS416G373C7K@3333MT_C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Pulse 8GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, INTEL 540S SSDSCKKW180H6 180GB, Samsung F1 1TB, Hitachi HUS724040ALE640 4TB
Display(s) AOC 27G2U/BK
Case SHARKOON M25-W 7.1 BLACK
Audio Device(s) Realtek 7.1 onboard
Power Supply Zalman Z550
Mouse Sharkoon SHARK Force Black
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit/Win 10 pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 173p, multicore 1306p
Some BIOS and driver tuning is still needed to allow all CPUs to perform as intended for the boost frequencies.
 

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,997 (2.07/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Now a TPU news post.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
117 (0.06/day)
System Name Snizzle
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series™ H100i PRO RGB
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C14 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA GAMING, 11G-P4-2383-KR
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Case NZXT H500
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 220-G2-0850-XR 850W
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky DK2108S
Software Windows 10 Pro
I can't get it now (on mobile) but I saw a Reddit thread from an AMD rep, could even have been a guy called Rob. But... Monitoring software isn't reporting idle voltage. Effectively, the software wakes the core, which responds to the call as an intense load. Therefore, the idle voltage is actually a load voltage, instigated by the monitoring. Ultimately, it's like quantum. The act of observing the chip, changes it's state from cc6.
Only one single software or bios monitoring tool should be active. I think he said either CPUz was okay or Ryzen master. But only one. Mobo monitoring tools will mess either up.
I undestand the observer effect on TPU article, but why is it the Temp is so high. I mean if it in idle the Temp should be around 35-45 Cel. When it idle it sitting around 45-55 cel.
I am only running one instance monitor tool. Not opening up 2-3 tools to monitor.


Edit:
ALso, when i use or turn on Icue software from Corsair. The voltage will be at contanst 1.35- 1.37V when idol . When i turn it off the idol will drop down to .885v.

g55.png
g56.png
 
Last edited:

mngew

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Doing some benchmark with Cinebench R20 . I notice something funny is when the computer is idle the voltage at 1.45-1.46 V and temp is around 45-55 Cel.
View attachment 126658
View attachment 126650
View attachment 126651View attachment 126652

When i started doing the benchmark, the Voltage drop to 1.3- 1.4 v. The CPU core is at 4.0 ghz on all cores.

View attachment 126653
My 3900X also idles at those temperatures. I have mine cooled by H115i. I reseated the heatsink 3 times. Didn't make any changes. I'm going to try NH-D15 later tonight.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,732 (3.80/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
My 3900X also idles at those temperatures. I have mine cooled by H115i. I reseated the heatsink 3 times. Didn't make any changes. I'm going to try NH-D15 later tonight.
Like him, check your voltages in the BIOS. If they're above 1.25, set them to 1.25.
 

Prillan

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2020
Messages
1 (0.02/day)
Old post but i found that with gaming mode turned on in dragon center will push the cpu all the time hence the extreme idle temps, went from 45-50c to about 35-40 when i turned it off, maybe different utility programs are messing with eachother
 
Top