• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen and 3000/3200MHz DDR4 - does it work by default?

Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
83 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
System Name Arena-Fighter3u
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 B35
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Air
Memory 4x1GB 1066MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD7790 OC PCI-Ex 1GB GDDR5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe x1
Power Supply OCZ ZS550
Software Windows 7 x64 Enterprise SP1/Ubuntu 13.04 amd64
#1
This is question mainly to current owners of such rigs: what is current status on it? Do such high frequency memories run on ryzen cpus with their speeds or are they getting downclocked and it is needed to overclock them to get their nominal frequencies to work? Of course i'm thinking about motherboards with latest versions of bioses. I remember there was a lot of problems with 3000MHz memories on launch of ryzen, need of having specific memory sticks and specific motherboard and so on... how is it now?
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
691 (0.26/day)
Likes
227
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Ratchet
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom Loop, Ek blocks 280mm Rad
Memory 16gb TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) 1x ASUS STRIX RX480 OC(flashed to 580)
Storage JBOD
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX II
Power Supply Seasonic X-series Gold 850W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10
#2
3000Mhz tends to run out of the box, rated above that needs some convincing. I haven't come across any non b-die kits that will post at 3200 without any fiddling.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
914 (0.98/day)
Likes
416
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 4GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3200MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 120GB / HDD Toshiba 500GB
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentry XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Noganet ST-334 2400DPI @ 1000Hz / Touchpad
Keyboard Generic PS2 / Stock
Software Windows 10 x64 / Fedora 27 x64
#3
Yeah, 3066 works just fine, I can't confirm 3200.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,288 (9.36/day)
Likes
13,828
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
If its single bank RAM, yes it'll work fine. Dual bank (or four single banks) you'll need to overvolt your SoC/IMC, it probably wont work at high speeds with 4x dual bank sticks.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
8,521 (2.19/day)
Likes
7,525
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore AVX Offset 0
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3300 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7k6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#5
Samsung b-die is your best bet for 3000+
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,899 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,885
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,586 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,471
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1070ti
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard/ TBD
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#7
All memory speeds outside of Jedec standards officially listed on the cpu specs must be overcooked either manually or by enabling some type of integrated profile such as "XMP".
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,344 (4.07/day)
Likes
6,897
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#8
Is it really overclocking when the sticks are rated to run that speed? The IMC is being overclocked to run those speeds, however, the sticks are RATED for those speeds and thus not overclocked.

So, yes, for compatibility reasons on boot, it goes to JEDEC and will need AMD's "XMP" to run at its rated speeds.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,586 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,471
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1070ti
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard/ TBD
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#9
Anything over the cpu's rated Jedec speed is considered overclocking...
Maybe not memory overclocking but definitely IMC overclocking which is why those speeds aren't guaranteed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,288 (9.36/day)
Likes
13,828
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
ryzen really only cares how many banks the RAM has, i've had 2667 dual bank ram that struggled to hit 2400, and single bank 2133 that does 2800.

as long as you get the single bank stuff, or RAM thats otherwise verified to play nice with ryzen you'll be peachy
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2016
Messages
400 (0.48/day)
Likes
297
Location
Behind you
System Name Warranty Void/Silicon Sadness
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600 @ 3.7Ghz 1.235v
Motherboard AsRock AB350M Pro4 Rev 1.0
Cooling Deepcool Captain EX 240 White powaah + 2x Be Quiet! Pure Wings 2 140mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 3200MHz 2x8GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D GeForce GTX 1060 6GB X2
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB/ADATA SP550 250GB
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C TG
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Realtek ALC889 - 7.1
Power Supply Corsair CX550M 550W
Mouse A4Tech Bloody V3/SteelSeries Rival 100
Keyboard Microsoft Comfort 3000 Curve/ CM Masterkeys Pro M
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
I have 2 sticks of dual-rank Samsung E-dies that post out of the box at XMP 3200MHz. My purchase combos for silicon lottery have really been good on memory and CPU side for the past 6 years.

Memory is the main concern, then CPU IMC comes into play how it handles the DDR4 modules and finally the least impact should be the motherboard itself.

I haven't tested anything other than Corsair and Kingston assembled sticks, I can tell you that even after AGESA 1.0.0.6, the Fury X sticks could only muster 266MHz more than what was specified. I think the older 16nm dies came from Micron/Crucial. But that was 6 months ago, the memory modules right now on the market in stock is now an amalgamation of old and new DRAM modules, there only way to know what you got is by checking with a memory utility and CPU-Z.

Personally after the 1.0.0.6 update, most RAM worked fine at their XMP speeds. Though as said previously, it is not guaranteed to work for everyone.

Most memory that says they run 3000/3200MHz XMP should run those speeds, if worst comes you may simply downclock a step to get them to boot. Just make sure you have the latest BIOS update.

Or you could buy a verified G.Skill kit and call it a day, but it will probably cost you more.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
257 (0.20/day)
Likes
209
Location
San Jose, California
System Name Soon to be retired rig
Processor Intel i3-4160
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper Z5S
Cooling 2x Cooler Master Sickle Flow Green LED case fan, 1x Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU cooler
Memory 8 GB (2x4) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X R9 280X
Storage 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue 7200 RPM
Display(s) 27" BenQ GW2760S 1920x1080 monitor
Case Cooler Master 431 Elite Plus (custom painted)
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Seasonic M12 II EVO Edition 850W
Mouse Logitech gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G105 C.O.D Edition
Software Windows 7 64 Bit OS
#12
Or you could buy a verified G.Skill kit and call it a day, but it will probably cost you more.
When I was shopping for RAM recently, I wanted a G.Skill kit but man, they were steep, especially the cl14 kits, which everybody says is a guaranteed go with Ryzen. Last I checked, a cl4 2x8 kit of Flare X was around $230! :twitch:

In the end, I went with a 2x4 cl 15 2400 RGB kit from Team Group. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
2,028 (1.16/day)
Likes
1,018
Location
USA
#13
When I was shopping for RAM recently, I wanted a G.Skill kit but man, they were steep, especially the cl14 kits, which everybody says is a guaranteed go with Ryzen. Last I checked, a cl14 2x8 kit of Flare X was around $230! :twitch: In the end, I went with a 2x4 cl 15 2400 RGB kit from Team Group. :toast:
Where are you looking for RAM? Bought an 8GB kit for a Ryzen5 system and it was $65 shipped. A few weeks ago a 32GB-CL15 kit was $220.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
35 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
Manchester, England.
System Name Kali
Processor AMD RYZEN 1600x
Motherboard GA-AX370-Gaming 5 (UEFI mod by Ket)
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16Gb Corsair DDR4@3200mhz Dual row Hynix
Video Card(s) GTX 980
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250Gb. OCZ_SOLID3 120Gb and 2 x ST2000DX001-1CM64
Display(s) Iiyama G-Master GB2888UHSU
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 850 Gold
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Tecknet
Software W10 pro
#14
Hynix M die work with 1.4v and tRC changed to 58. Everything else on Auto.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
257 (0.20/day)
Likes
209
Location
San Jose, California
System Name Soon to be retired rig
Processor Intel i3-4160
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper Z5S
Cooling 2x Cooler Master Sickle Flow Green LED case fan, 1x Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU cooler
Memory 8 GB (2x4) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X R9 280X
Storage 1TB Western Digital Caviar Blue 7200 RPM
Display(s) 27" BenQ GW2760S 1920x1080 monitor
Case Cooler Master 431 Elite Plus (custom painted)
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Seasonic M12 II EVO Edition 850W
Mouse Logitech gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G105 C.O.D Edition
Software Windows 7 64 Bit OS
#15
Where are you looking for RAM? Bought an 8GB kit for a Ryzen5 system and it was $65 shipped. A few weeks ago a 32GB-CL15 kit was $220.
I got it from Newegg. $107. This was way before Black Friday...
 

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
11 (0.06/day)
Likes
12
#17
My G.skill 3200MHz sticks will run at 3200MHz but I need to go to BIOS and choose XMP profile.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
914 (0.98/day)
Likes
416
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 4GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3200MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 120GB / HDD Toshiba 500GB
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentry XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Noganet ST-334 2400DPI @ 1000Hz / Touchpad
Keyboard Generic PS2 / Stock
Software Windows 10 x64 / Fedora 27 x64
#18
I have cheap Micron 2400MHz chips, and 3200 works flawlessly at 16CL, 1,35v and a safe 1v for the SoC.
Tried 3333, didn't work.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,037 (0.51/day)
Likes
307
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
Hynix M-die user here (g.skill trident non rgb 3200mhz cl16).

I can run xmp profile toned down to 3066 with no modifications.
But to get rated 3200mhz I had to put in and tweak the settings manually.
Had to bump ram voltage to 1.4+v and add abit of VSoC and apparently a bit of VCore to make everything stable.
Using a giga board haven't used the latest stable bios but on the F7b found in there forums.
Passed GSAT and HCI memtest without errors for over a few hours.