• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ryzen and 3000/3200MHz DDR4 - does it work by default?

Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
System Name Arena-Fighter3u
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 B35
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Air
Memory 4x1GB 1066MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD7790 OC PCI-Ex 1GB GDDR5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe x1
Power Supply OCZ ZS550
Software Windows 7 x64 Enterprise SP1/Ubuntu 13.04 amd64
#1
This is question mainly to current owners of such rigs: what is current status on it? Do such high frequency memories run on ryzen cpus with their speeds or are they getting downclocked and it is needed to overclock them to get their nominal frequencies to work? Of course i'm thinking about motherboards with latest versions of bioses. I remember there was a lot of problems with 3000MHz memories on launch of ryzen, need of having specific memory sticks and specific motherboard and so on... how is it now?
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
588 (0.23/day)
Likes
195
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Ratchet
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom Loop, Ek blocks 280mm Rad
Memory 16gb TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) 1x ASUS STRIX RX480 OC(flashed to 580)
Storage JBOD
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX II
Power Supply Seasonic X-series Gold 850W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10
#2
3000Mhz tends to run out of the box, rated above that needs some convincing. I haven't come across any non b-die kits that will post at 3200 without any fiddling.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
725 (0.90/day)
Likes
292
Location
Argentina
System Name Yukino
Processor Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard HP 240 G5
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston 1600MHz DDR3L
Video Card(s) Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD Kingston 32GB + HDD Hitachi 1TB (USB3.0)
Display(s) Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Power Brick
Mouse Touchpad + Genius USB
Keyboard Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSB x64
#3
Yeah, 3066 works just fine, I can't confirm 3200.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
If its single bank RAM, yes it'll work fine. Dual bank (or four single banks) you'll need to overvolt your SoC/IMC, it probably wont work at high speeds with 4x dual bank sticks.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,361 (1.95/day)
Likes
6,493
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#5
Samsung b-die is your best bet for 3000+
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
Jedec/SPD will run them at 2133 or 2400 first. You have to push them.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,083
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#7
All memory speeds outside of Jedec standards officially listed on the cpu specs must be overcooked either manually or by enabling some type of integrated profile such as "XMP".
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,497 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,259
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#8
Is it really overclocking when the sticks are rated to run that speed? The IMC is being overclocked to run those speeds, however, the sticks are RATED for those speeds and thus not overclocked.

So, yes, for compatibility reasons on boot, it goes to JEDEC and will need AMD's "XMP" to run at its rated speeds.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,083
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#9
Anything over the cpu's rated Jedec speed is considered overclocking...
Maybe not memory overclocking but definitely IMC overclocking which is why those speeds aren't guaranteed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
ryzen really only cares how many banks the RAM has, i've had 2667 dual bank ram that struggled to hit 2400, and single bank 2133 that does 2800.

as long as you get the single bank stuff, or RAM thats otherwise verified to play nice with ryzen you'll be peachy
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2016
Messages
353 (0.50/day)
Likes
269
Location
Behind you
System Name Warranty Void/Silicon Sadness
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600 @ 3.7Ghz 1.235v
Motherboard AsRock AB350M Pro4 Rev 1.0
Cooling Deepcool Captain EX 240 White powaah
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 3200MHz 2x8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 1GB @ 875MHz Core
Storage ADATA SP550 250GB
Display(s) AOC G2778VQ Freesync
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C TG
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Realtek ALC889 - 7.1
Power Supply Corsair CX550M 550W
Mouse A4Tech Bloody V3/SteelSeries Rival 100
Keyboard Microsoft Comfort 3000 Curve/Asus Sagaris GK100
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
I have 2 sticks of dual-rank Samsung E-dies that post out of the box at XMP 3200MHz. My purchase combos for silicon lottery have really been good on memory and CPU side for the past 6 years.

Memory is the main concern, then CPU IMC comes into play how it handles the DDR4 modules and finally the least impact should be the motherboard itself.

I haven't tested anything other than Corsair and Kingston assembled sticks, I can tell you that even after AGESA 1.0.0.6, the Fury X sticks could only muster 266MHz more than what was specified. I think the older 16nm dies came from Micron/Crucial. But that was 6 months ago, the memory modules right now on the market in stock is now an amalgamation of old and new DRAM modules, there only way to know what you got is by checking with a memory utility and CPU-Z.

Personally after the 1.0.0.6 update, most RAM worked fine at their XMP speeds. Though as said previously, it is not guaranteed to work for everyone.

Most memory that says they run 3000/3200MHz XMP should run those speeds, if worst comes you may simply downclock a step to get them to boot. Just make sure you have the latest BIOS update.

Or you could buy a verified G.Skill kit and call it a day, but it will probably cost you more.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
213 (0.18/day)
Likes
147
Location
San Jose, California
#12
Or you could buy a verified G.Skill kit and call it a day, but it will probably cost you more.
When I was shopping for RAM recently, I wanted a G.Skill kit but man, they were steep, especially the cl14 kits, which everybody says is a guaranteed go with Ryzen. Last I checked, a cl4 2x8 kit of Flare X was around $230! :twitch:

In the end, I went with a 2x4 cl 15 2400 RGB kit from Team Group. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
676 (0.42/day)
Likes
249
#13
When I was shopping for RAM recently, I wanted a G.Skill kit but man, they were steep, especially the cl14 kits, which everybody says is a guaranteed go with Ryzen. Last I checked, a cl14 2x8 kit of Flare X was around $230! :twitch: In the end, I went with a 2x4 cl 15 2400 RGB kit from Team Group. :toast:
Where are you looking for RAM? Bought an 8GB kit for a Ryzen5 system and it was $65 shipped. A few weeks ago a 32GB-CL15 kit was $220.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
28 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
Location
Manchester, England.
System Name Kali
Processor AMD RYZEN 1600x
Motherboard GA-AX370-Gaming 5 (UEFI mod by Ket)
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16Gb Corsair DDR4@3200mhz Dual row Hynix
Video Card(s) GTX 980
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250Gb. OCZ_SOLID3 120Gb and 2 x ST2000DX001-1CM64
Display(s) Iiyama G-Master GB2888UHSU
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 850 Gold
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Tecknet
Software W10 pro
#14
Hynix M die work with 1.4v and tRC changed to 58. Everything else on Auto.