• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen Owners Zen Garden

Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,880 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,398
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64


My current RYZEN now. All assembled now for testing. Yes I know the d15s covered half the board, so far I like how it turns out.

Have been testing my Ryzen 1700 with the msi B350 gaming pro, I am using my old ssd from my previous build without any reinstalling. Surprised it booted up and it automatically find the drivers. I prefer a clean install but I don't have a win 10 iso and also I the windows 10 I am now on is the free upgrade from windows 8.

Things seems to work find but I am having a huge problem with the mouse cursor lagging. Tried removing the gpu driver and realtek drivers but still the same things. It works fine then the mouse is jerky again. I unplug my ssd and put it into the the intel pentium and no jerky mouse. Not sure what the problem is. It is pretty annoying and my pc is not that usable.

Other than that for the hardware side of things I updated to the latest bios but I still can't go to my ram speed of 3466mhz even with lax timing, I guess this is the limitation of the board. I can go to 3200mhz around c16 timings but I am not sure of its stability have seems to not be stable. I settled for 3066mhz at around c14 timings. For 32GB is good enough. I don't expect this ram density to clock high for amd boards. I am pleasantly surprised for this.

The highest clock I can get out of my ryzen 1700 is 3.7Ghz at a not so impressive 1.3V. I can't seem to get to 3.8GHz when I typed it in the bios as I boot into windows cpuz would just show 1.5GHz strangely. It did managed to boot to 3.8Ghz once do a short cpuz test but after reboot it is stuck as 1.5GHz. Not sure if this is the limitation of this board. I think it probably have to put near 1.4v just to stabilise at 3.8GHz. My chip seems to hit a wall after 3.6GHz at only required 1.21V then need a massive increase at 3.7GHz.

My first Amd build is not as fuss free as my Intel pentium build. It seems like intel just feels more seamless to me even with the initial bioses for my H81 or previous z97. I am happy enough of the upgrade, I guess it need some tweaking.
Do you like the board

I have the same one
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
439 (0.45/day)
Likes
494
System Name RED
Processor Ryzen R7 1700 (Stock) 3.2GHz Overclock 3.6GHz @ 1.23V
Motherboard MSI B350M GAMING PRO
Cooling NH D-15S
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 X 16GB) DDR4 DRAM 3466 (PC4-27700) C16 for Intel 100 Series - Red PC M
Video Card(s) XFX RX460 4GB SINGLE SLOT
Storage Crucial Mx100 256GB
Display(s) NOW LG 27MP38 1980X1080 IPS/OLD Philips Brilliance 220CW 1680x1050 CCFL Monitor ( DEFUNCT)
Case RAIJINTEK STYX OEM/NOVA M PRO CASE
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z
Power Supply EVGA Bronze 500B
Mouse Logitech M100 Basic mouse
Keyboard Logitech k120
Software Windows 10 Pro
Do you like the board

I have the same one
I so far like the size of the board and it being simple. Got this board mostly because of the price being the lowest, the size and I just want something simple. This board almost in my itx case. Just that it is 1 slot to high. It would be perfect if it 3 slots high only.

What is your cpu clocks for this board?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,880 (1.89/day)
Likes
1,398
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I so far like the size of the board and it being simple. Got this board mostly because of the price being the lowest, the size and I just want something simple. This board almost in my itx case. Just that it is 1 slot to high. It would be perfect if it 3 slots high only.

What is your cpu clocks for this board?
I haven't finished my rig as I haven't had time

So not sure how high my 1700 can go
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,812 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
Just got my stuff back. They replaced both processor and mobo. Hopefully this new chip will be better binned for voltages and oc. Unfortunately will not be able to play with it atm. Weekend warrior problems. Haha cheers.
View attachment 90182
Awesome bundle but I still feel the lack of features on the Ryzen boards that's r on the Intel boards like on-board Creative Core3D.

I got the Gigabyte Aorus Z270 Gaming 7 with Creative Core3D the Ryzen X370 Gaming K7 r using the Realtek ALC1220 chip with SoundBlaster X-Fi MB5 it just isn't the same :(
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,702 (2.24/day)
Likes
5,953
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Update on my new BIOS.

Running 109.2 BCLK as the standard DOCP was flaky. Memory seems stable now at rated SPD/case of 3200/14.
Currently on Prime all cores at 3.8Ghz (35x). temps stable at 70 degrees after half hour. Don't want to press luck but it might be more stable now.
Thinking of maybe trying to lower latency (rather than hghr frequency on mem or core) but have no idea what I'd be doing....
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
263 (0.11/day)
Likes
96
System Name potato
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Team Delta 2x16GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) MSI R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 240GB & 840 120GB + HDD 2x WD VRaptor 500GB & WD Green 4TB
Display(s) Benq XL2730z
Case be quiet dark base pro 900
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Steelseries PC Bang
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software win 10 amd64
Whoops.

Was checking updates on the Asus auto update checker and thought the utility was called 'EZ Update'. Saw it was an older version (of said utility) so clicked update. Got a BIOS update message and thought, must just be waht it says...

Yup, Windows BIOS flash/update.

So, now on 1403 BIOS and lost all prior overclocked settings. Will start off on DOCP Standard (which was unstable previously, before the AGESA updates). If memory is stable and boots fine for few days, will start overclocking again.

Such a noob. :wtf:

EDIT: DOCP is not stable. POS Ryzen board.
Think I'll sell it soon and go back to Intel.

yeah, not a great board TBH
had a better experience on biostars :banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,030 (0.52/day)
Likes
290
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
FWIW , ladies and gents who have the giga x370 gaming k7 rev 1.0 they've put up bios F5 for release.

  1. Fix P2-state hanged issue while changing CPU Vcore of Ryzen 3
  2. Improve DDR compatibility
http://www.gigabyte.us/Motherboard/GA-AX370-Gaming-K7-rev-10#support-dl

Other giga am4 boards may have also some new updates.
As far as I've read, they included more dividers that was added for agesa 1006a and added an option for linux users to disable opcache function.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,988 (1.04/day)
Likes
949
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
Started experimenting with Beam.NG to see how far I could tax the CPU, but ended-up crashing the game by hitting max vRAM first :laugh:
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,030 (0.52/day)
Likes
290
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Just wanted to share something regarding gigabytes x370 K7 BIOS or maybe other board BIOS that they released on 2017/08/18.

K7 owner here and reporting some findings about the mysterious F5 bios that came out on the official site (it didn't go thru the BETA bios thread), it was just posted as a "stable" release.

A WARNING:
Having flashed the bios some users noticed it to set the cpu vcore to a very high voltage 1.55v instead of the default 1.2ish~ v. Having applied optimized settings saved and restarted it went back to normal.

Findings: Most or some users got the same experience.

More info, it is something to do with auto and voltage offsetting that this bug occurs, but if you set it to use a manual voltage and use LLC to compensate then you are golden.
At the moment have read and found out some people getting their processors fried due to this bug. We haven't heard yet from gigabyte in their forums regarding this one.

Minus that very very bad bug, overall the bios is very good. It has unlocked more dividers/mhz for the memory (3066, etc.).

+Noticed with the same oc settings that I use, the VRMs are also way cooler than previous set of bioses also my machine idle temps are way lower (atm running sweet spot 3.8ghz on all cores)
+XMP on some kits even on other dies that the godly b-dies can hit XMP with just turning on the setting without further tweaks. (I had to raise ram voltages to make it stable tho 1.4v)
+The notorious soft brick issue (for me maybe) does not happen (haven't noticed it too on F4). Maybe I just go lucky.

P.S.

I was not aware of the vcore bug as I always set my voltages manually, it was after a few hours of the bios being released that I found some user feedbacks regarding that new bios on the 18th made cpu vcore very high (some other flavor of the am4 gigabyte boards).

As of date I saw 2 or 3 persons on the gigabyte forum reporting of fried processors.

Just leaving it here for brothers and sisters who use a gigabyte board.
Sharing is caring :love:

Cheers!
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,774 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,376
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
8,171 (2.13/day)
Likes
7,181
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 1800X @ 4.1Ghz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE X370 Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD (128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FS/TS Extreme FS 14011:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14938447 TS 4769:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3315715

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,774 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,376
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,030 (0.52/day)
Likes
290
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Ohohoho what a way to wake up in the morning. Apparently giga took the bios down and replaced it with a fixed one.

That bios was really good but the vcore part made it undesirable.
Some can clock xmp speeds without tweaking. However my m-dies need a few tweaks with ram sub timings and voltages.
The VRM definitely is way more lower in temps.
(Now F6 or latest fixed bios carries the same properties minus the vcore bug).

Alas I hope those who got their processors damaged will get some compensation, but highly doubtful about that.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,774 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,376
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Alas I hope those who got their processors damaged will get some compensation, but highly doubtful about that.
That's the annoying part. How do you prove that the CPU was damaged by that BIOS at those settings? It's just as possible that the CPU was killed in any number of other ways, so no way to prove it in practice and Gigabyte gets away with it.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,030 (0.52/day)
Likes
290
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
That's the annoying part. How do you prove that the CPU was damaged by that BIOS at those settings? It's just as possible that the CPU was killed in any number of other ways, so no way to prove it in practice and Gigabyte gets away with it.
Damn it.. *Shakes fist!*

Well further update regarding the newer bios, everything is in order.

I just hate that they didn't even made it as a beta bios and put it up on the site as a stable release and they didn't event say a word about it. Just put up hey new bios for those having issues with f5 et al.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
8,171 (2.13/day)
Likes
7,181
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 1800X @ 4.1Ghz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE X370 Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD (128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FS/TS Extreme FS 14011:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14938447 TS 4769:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3315715
Damn it.. *Shakes fist!*

Well further update regarding the newer bios, everything is in order.

I just hate that they didn't even made it as a beta bios and put it up on the site as a stable release and they didn't event say a word about it. Just put up hey new bios for those having issues with f5 et al.
They don't even have a beta thread anymore. They "accidentally" deleted their old one and "can't restore it."

Sometimes I wonder WTF GIGABYTE is thinking...
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,030 (0.52/day)
Likes
290
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
537 (0.21/day)
Likes
257
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9ghz 1.418v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | 120 GTS | P/P Cougar Vortex - Noiseblockers
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3400mhz 14-14-14-30-52 1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 Mini 8GB GDDR5X @ stock
Storage Galax Gamer L 240GB SSD | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Blue 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
pass.png


3400mhz cl 14 @ 1.4v using a 102 bclk. Haven't updated to the latest bios yet.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,030 (0.52/day)
Likes
290
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,725 (0.79/day)
Likes
606
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
Asus Prime B350M-A motherboard (w/latest 1.0.0.6b) + 1500X. Can only seem to choose 3500-3800. If I select 3900+ MHz, then it seems to run at minimum MHz despite showing 3900+. Is this because it isn't X370 platform?

When set to 3900, then I see the clock toggling between 1550 and 3900 in my OS. But I assure you, the performance is ABYSMAL like almost 3x slower than 3800.

Edit: Found similar cases on Reddit. Seems like cpu voltage slams some B350 motherboards to min clocks. Ah well, case solved, even if it's limited. 1.24v booted 3.9 but it's probably not stable, will just have to upgrade the board later if I want to play with it further.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,702 (2.24/day)
Likes
5,953
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Asus Prime B350M-A motherboard (w/latest 1.0.0.6b) + 1500X. Can only seem to choose 3500-3800. If I select 3900+ MHz, then it seems to run at minimum MHz despite showing 3900+. Is this because it isn't X370 platform?

Edit: When set to 3900, then I see the clock toggling between 1550 and 3900 in my OS. But I assure you, the performance is ABYSMAL like almost 3x slower than 3800.
The power draw of the CPU or the VRM not supplying enough current? If the board isn't designed for OC, it may be the PCB hardware isn't up to scratch. Could that possibly affect the frequency by throttling it when pushed?

Also - 3.9Ghx of Ryzen is a pretty decent standard. I cannot hold stable at 3.9Ghz on a 1700x with a X370 board (well, not if I want my memory at 3200Mhz).
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,725 (0.79/day)
Likes
606
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
It actually seems analog-ish. +0.06875 (1.30625) may or may not be stuck at 1550 for that boot, but +0.0625 (1.3v) seems to not stick at 1550. It's not throttling, it's plain stuck at min clock forever when it kicks in. Just [B350] product segmentation, but the implementation is a bit misleading, you don't notice immediately unless benchmarking or observant ...

Using 1.3v, I've got 4Ghz + 3200 CL14 testing now, finally! Seems to work. 4050 starts throwing ecc corrections in dmesg. Settled for plain 3900, seems like a safer choice. My emacs is now optimized for best performance ...
:toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,725 (0.79/day)
Likes
606
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
At 4Ghz, 1.262v throws a black screen eventually, and 1.268v worked for 12 hours, so I opted for 1.293v which is a notch under my board's 1.3v limit, that's as good as this cpu+board combo is gonna do.

Any advice on SOC voltage? It defaults to 1.1v at DDR4-3200 speeds, but it seems to work fine when soc manually set back to 0.831v?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
177 (0.19/day)
Likes
351
System Name The Banshee
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.37V
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling CPU + 1st GPU Custom loop
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB B-Die @ 3466 CL14 1.4V
Video Card(s) Zotac & Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti's in SLI @ 1100/1250 1.063V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
Just got my new parts for my main rig upgrade a couple days ago.

This is what I've got stable so far.

R7 1700 @ 3.9GHz 1.35V
X370 Taichi
2x8GB G.skill Trident Z B-die @ 3466 14-14-14-34 1.35V

The cpu doesn't seem to want to do 4GHz though, tried up to 1.45V and it still crashes.

Still need to do some tweaking for 3600 14-14-14 on the memory.

Screenshot (3).png
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,725 (0.79/day)
Likes
606
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
Prime95 knocked out my 4GHz. Wound up with 3.9 in the end.