• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen Owners Zen Garden

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.25/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Is it worth going to the previous AGESA?
It can bring the fTPM bug back, but if you disabled the need for that crap when installing 11 you're fine


CM keep changing the 212, every revision has drastic changes to the design - some are alu + copper heatpipes, some are pure heatpipes, some have alu or copper baseplates. The similar names trick people into thinking this $20 USD 212 is the one everyones raving about, when its not.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,290 (3.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140, NF-A14 3K, T30
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, SN770 1TB, SN750 500GB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
My 212 Evo has massive gaps in it, circa 2012.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.25/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
(I left this open in my browser for like 8 hours, lol)

The Hyper 212 from 2007:
A solid slab of copper under the heatpipes.
It all goes downhill from here.
1668316176067.png


212 Evo: Copper slab gone, thinned back to just the heatpipes. That loss of solid copper hurts.
1668315611778.png


212x: This is the globally popular one that stayed with the close heatpipes that were effectively solid copper contact.
1668315672652.png




212 LED(white/turbo etc)
Flat in this image at least, but the spaces begin
1668315847623.png
.
1668315900373.png



Evo V2: This even comes in an LGA1700 version
More spaced out, but a terrible choice for multi chip CPUs
You can see the height difference between alu and copper
1668315581613.png




Black edition: (RGB variants the same) - It may have nickel plating on the bottom vs plain Alu, at least.
Gaps here exist but are very minimal
1668315390759.png
1668316022057.png


212 RGB black: They stop showing actual images and give you renders only
1668315983321.png



They sold a bunch of shitty products with the name of the original, relying on customer confusion to buy the wrong one

I skipped a good 10 variants just because they're all the same
 

Attachments

  • 1668316088154.png
    1668316088154.png
    457.3 KB · Views: 27
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,884 (0.42/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 16 GB A-Data XPG Spectrix D41
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DWF OLED-ASRock PG27Q15R2A (backup)
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2
I have a 6-pipe version expected to come my way. It's not a 212.
 
Last edited:

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,290 (3.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140, NF-A14 3K, T30
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, SN770 1TB, SN750 500GB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I have a 6-pipe version expected to come my way. It's not a 212.
Hopefully it has a real cold plate and not some milled down pipes :cool:
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,884 (0.42/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 16 GB A-Data XPG Spectrix D41
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DWF OLED-ASRock PG27Q15R2A (backup)
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2
Hopefully it has a real cold plate and not some milled down pipes :cool:
They aren't exposed pipes, it has what looks like a nickel plate. Like the copper plate of the beloved early-212s, but what is probably nickel it its place, it doesn't look like the usual aluminum.

35-103-321-03.jpg
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,290 (3.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140, NF-A14 3K, T30
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, SN770 1TB, SN750 500GB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,884 (0.42/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 16 GB A-Data XPG Spectrix D41
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DWF OLED-ASRock PG27Q15R2A (backup)
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
707 (0.23/day)
Location
Earth's Troposphere
System Name 3 "rigs"-gaming/spare pc/cruncher
Processor R7-5800X3D/i7-7700K/R9-7950X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VI Extreme/Asus Ranger Z170/Asus ROG Crosshair X670E-GENE
Cooling Bitspower monoblock ,custom open loop,both passive and active/air tower cooler/air tower cooler
Memory 32GB DDR4/32GB DDR4/64GB DDR5
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX6900XT Alphacooled/AMD RX5700XT 50th Aniv./SOC(onboard)
Storage mix of sata ssds/m.2 ssds/mix of sata ssds+an m.2 ssd
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2410 , HP 24x
Case mb box/Silverstone Raven RV-05/CoolerMaster Q300L
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard/onboard
Power Supply 3 Seasonics, a DeltaElectronics, a FractalDesing
Mouse various/various/various
Keyboard various wired and wireless
VR HMD -
Software W10.someting or another,all 3
@freeagent Will take into consideration if deliding.
Mine runs pretty well, tough a remount cpu cooler I have to chase because the cooler did not come with a screw driver (need long and thin, so it fits trough fin stack to tighten one nut). I used adjustable vice grips.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,884 (0.42/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 16 GB A-Data XPG Spectrix D41
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DWF OLED-ASRock PG27Q15R2A (backup)
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2
Vice grips? I fear that I'm going to be required to use those or similar, just to get the Hyper 212 Evo V2 mount off of my ASRock B550 PG Velocita! If I don't find the proper screwdriver or nut driver!
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
9,454 (5.06/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 4
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 24 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 7800 XT
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 single-core: 1,800, multi-core: 18,000. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 9,900.
I've just noticed something strange with my new system. When I cold start it, the CPU and RAM debug leds stay on, and it won't boot. If I turn it off and on again, everything is OK. What could cause this?
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,332 (2.31/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃B550-I Strix
Cooling FC140┃AXP120x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Display(s) 43" QN90B / M32Q / S2721DGF
Case Caselabs S3┃Lone Industries L5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000┃HDPlex
I've just noticed something strange with my new system. When I cold start it, the CPU and RAM debug leds stay on, and it won't boot. If I turn it off and on again, everything is OK. What could cause this?

Doesn't cold boot RAM training take a LONG time on AM5 right now? Like, minutes long?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
9,454 (5.06/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 4
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 24 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 7800 XT
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 single-core: 1,800, multi-core: 18,000. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 9,900.
Doesn't cold boot RAM training take a LONG time on AM5 right now? Like, minutes long?
The longest I've waited was around 5 minutes. The funny thing is, if I get fed up, and restart the PC, it works fine.

Should this happen at EVERY cold start? :confused:
 

MagnyCours

Gold Supporter
Supporter
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
56 (0.02/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name Raphael // GS65-8SE
Processor Ryzen 7 7800X3D -20 PBO2 // i7 8750h -0.140V UV
Motherboard Aorus X670 Elite AX
Cooling Corsair H100i Pro XT 240mm
Memory 2x16GB Kingston Fury Beast RGB @6000-30-36-36-48-84 // 2x8GB 2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra 10GB @1860MHz 0.862V // RTX 2060 6GB Mobile 90W
Storage WD Blue SN570 500GB + Samsung 960 EVO 1TB // ADATA XPG SX8200 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF 27" 1440P 155Hz VRR
Case Corsair 460X Crystal
Audio Device(s) Apple USB C DAC Dongle
Power Supply Asus ROG Strix 850G (Rebranded Seasonic Prime Gold 850W)
Mouse Razer Orochi V2
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX
Software Win. 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores -
The time it takes for my system to reach the BIOS splash screen off of a cold boot is always 30 seconds. Something might be off with your system.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2022
Messages
869 (1.67/day)
Doesn't cold boot RAM training take a LONG time on AM5 right now? Like, minutes long?
The longest I've waited was around 5 minutes. The funny thing is, if I get fed up, and restart the PC, it works fine.

Should this happen at EVERY cold start? :confused:

Normal cold boots should be about 30 seconds to the post screen. If you mean after a BIOS reset, or possibly removing power from the board/box, then that could be longer.

I had an old GB board on Sandy Bridge that did what's being described. Disconnect power from the box, and the first boot would hang, requiring a forced power-down by holding the button until the board shut off. After that, it was golden until power was removed from the box again.

Guessing, it's probably hanging on the memory init. (training, whatever) due to unstable settings from EXPO. Double-check SoC voltage - mine set 1.3v(!) just choosing EXPO. I manually changed back to 1.08v and it's been good since.

@AusWolf, are you on AGESA 1003 Patch A?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
9,454 (5.06/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 4
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 24 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 7800 XT
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 single-core: 1,800, multi-core: 18,000. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 9,900.
Normal cold boots should be about 30 seconds to the post screen. If you mean after a BIOS reset, or possibly removing power from the board/box, then that could be longer.

I had an old GB board on Sandy Bridge that did what's being described. Disconnect power from the box, and the first boot would hang, requiring a forced power-down by holding the button until the board shut off. After that, it was golden until power was removed from the box again.

Guessing, it's probably hanging on the memory init. (training, whatever) due to unstable settings from EXPO. Double-check SoC voltage - mine set 1.3v(!) just choosing EXPO. I manually changed back to 1.08v and it's been good since.

@AusWolf, are you on AGESA 1003 Patch A?
Yes, that's the first and so far only version that came for my board.

I'll check the SoC voltage as you suggested, but won't be able to report back my findings until tomorrow. I get these hang-ups literally during cold starts only.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,332 (2.31/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃B550-I Strix
Cooling FC140┃AXP120x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Display(s) 43" QN90B / M32Q / S2721DGF
Case Caselabs S3┃Lone Industries L5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000┃HDPlex
The longest I've waited was around 5 minutes. The funny thing is, if I get fed up, and restart the PC, it works fine.

Should this happen at EVERY cold start? :confused:

Sounds like bad RAM settings. I know AM5 is a bit slow but on DDR4 I had that experience once with a mystery meat Corsair LPX kit, took like 10 minutes to POST every time.

ASRock said they later reduced boot times, early AGESA is always a wild ride
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
9,454 (5.06/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 4
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 24 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 7800 XT
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 single-core: 1,800, multi-core: 18,000. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 9,900.
early AGESA is always a wild ride
This is my main guess, to be fair. I think I read somewhere that AMD is planning on reducing memory training times with future AGESA updates.

Guessing, it's probably hanging on the memory init. (training, whatever) due to unstable settings from EXPO. Double-check SoC voltage - mine set 1.3v(!) just choosing EXPO. I manually changed back to 1.08v and it's been good since.
I've checked, EXPO sets it to about 1.3-1.38 V. I changed it to 1.1 V, we'll see if it does anything. Also, I found a setting that lets the motherboard skip memory retraining whenever possible. I've enabled that, too.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,884 (0.42/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 16 GB A-Data XPG Spectrix D41
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Alienware AW3423DWF OLED-ASRock PG27Q15R2A (backup)
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 23H2
Disconnect power from the box, and the first boot would hang, requiring a forced power-down by holding the button until the board shut off. After that, it was golden until power was removed from the box again.
Sounds like CPU core OC'ing while CPU load-line-calibration is disabled. That happened to me on socket 775 on my Asus P5QL Pro with my Core 2 Duo E4500.
It happened one time after I forgot to enable CPU load-line-calibration. Had to retry to cold boot, but then was able to get into the BIOS, Windows and have stress tests pass.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.25/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
Looks like I won't be getting AM5 for a good while!
Me neither, but the silly heatspreader isnt why :p
Yes, that's the first and so far only version that came for my board.

I'll check the SoC voltage as you suggested, but won't be able to report back my findings until tomorrow. I get these hang-ups literally during cold starts only.
cold boot issues sound like the RAM or IMC settings are incorrect, and it then loads the JEDEC defaults and posts

You shut it down, it then tries to boot the bad settings, repeat. BIOS can show you say 3600 on the ram, but windows will show it's at 2133 when this sort of thing happens.

SoC is pretty likely to be all you need to change, but you'd wanna double check you've got XMP and no overclock/PBO settings anywhere (the various menus can conflict, you can do a per-CCX overclock, a curve undervolt and a static voltage and good luck knowing which one is active) - sometimes a clear to defaults is a good idea
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
9,454 (5.06/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 4
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 24 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 7800 XT
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 single-core: 1,800, multi-core: 18,000. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 9,900.
cold boot issues sound like the RAM or IMC settings are incorrect, and it then loads the JEDEC defaults and posts

You shut it down, it then tries to boot the bad settings, repeat. BIOS can show you say 3600 on the ram, but windows will show it's at 2133 when this sort of thing happens.

SoC is pretty likely to be all you need to change, but you'd wanna double check you've got XMP and no overclock/PBO settings anywhere (the various menus can conflict, you can do a per-CCX overclock, a curve undervolt and a static voltage and good luck knowing which one is active) - sometimes a clear to defaults is a good idea
Nope, it's running 6000 MHz EXPO all day and night, confirmed in Windows.

Do you think PBO affects SoC voltage and I'd be good to go by just disabling PBO?

Me neither, but the silly heatspreader isnt why :p
Why would you need AM5 when you're on a 5800X3D? :D
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,290 (3.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140, NF-A14 3K, T30
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, SN770 1TB, SN750 500GB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I don’t know anything about AM5, sounds like it could use some vddg iod voltage?
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,731 (2.63/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
The audio problems still persist. Hell, I'll try going back to Win10 if the problem is just a Win11 thing.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,332 (2.31/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃B550-I Strix
Cooling FC140┃AXP120x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Display(s) 43" QN90B / M32Q / S2721DGF
Case Caselabs S3┃Lone Industries L5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000┃HDPlex
Nope, it's running 6000 MHz EXPO all day and night, confirmed in Windows.

Do you think PBO affects SoC voltage and I'd be good to go by just disabling PBO?

Why would you need AM5 when you're on a 5800X3D? :D

PBO does not affect SOC voltage. If EXPO = XMP in function then setting that would automatically set VSOC as well, which is to be expected. 1.3V default VSOC........damn........reminds me of auto VCCSA going up to like 1.6V. Is it safe? Who knows?

I don’t know anything about AM5, sounds like it could use some vddg iod voltage?

There hasn't been too much OC coverage of AM5 (I guess they took one look at DDR5 OC on Raphael and were like nah :D), but the voltage domains seem to have changed if you are familiar with what AM4 looks like.

I have seen a lot of reference to the new Vmisc rail, but not that much about how it behaves. iirc the VDDGs were previously subsumed under VSOC (except VDDP)? So this should actually be a pretty big change.

Sad to see that VDDCR_GFX hasn't been split off of VSOC (all of the Vdroop woes right now come from that fact)...

...but VDDCR_VDDM is interesting if it is what I think it is. It makes me think that with AM5 AMD is making preparations for a separate volt domain for Vcache (which they don't currently have), even if it still technically comes from VDDCR_CPU.

From the diagram it kinda looks like VSOC is now only responsible strictly for IO die elements, not any of the interconnect.

Slide50-1024x576.png


The audio problems still persist. Hell, I'll try going back to Win10 if the problem is just a Win11 thing.

Not much to lose to try it :toast:

get a nice clean Windows install while you're at it
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,651 (3.19/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
makes me think that with AM5 AMD is making preparations for a separate volt domain for Vcache
One can only hope... Imagine a 7800X3D fully unlocked except cache!
 
Top