• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ryzen Owners Zen Garden

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,091 (1.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig C7
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 2.2TB of SSDs & 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 w/ Arctic Z2 gen3 + Oculus Rift
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Correct me if I'm wrong, but IIRC it's pretty safe to go up from 1.2V? Not comparable but I run my 2600 @ 1.325V 4025MHz with a crappier board (Asus TUF B450-Plus Gaming).
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,701 (2.05/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Hey guys i have a Ryzen 3600 rig with Some Micron RAM rated at 3200MHz CL16 but it will not boot. If i set ram to 3133MHz it boots just fine and pasts some test. But I've tried loosening timings and raising volts but still will not boot at 3200MHz

Any advice
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
586 (0.29/day)
Processor ryzen 5 1600x
Motherboard b450m pro4
Cooling custom loop
Memory teem group xtreem
Video Card(s) xfx rx580 8gb
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
Hey guys i have a Ryzen 3600 rig with Some Micron RAM rated at 3200MHz CL16 but it will not boot. If i set ram to 3133MHz it boots just fine and pasts some test. But I've tried loosening timings and raising volts but still will not boot at 3200MHz

Any advice
try the ram at 3333. sounds weird but i had the exact board with micron ram and it would not do 3200. i cant remember the revison of the ram but it was a set of corsair modules that thaipoon reported as micron. would only boot 3333 at xmp timmings.

good luck.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,701 (2.05/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
try the ram at 3333. sounds weird but i had the exact board with micron ram and it would not do 3200. i cant remember the revison of the ram but it was a set of corsair modules that thaipoon reported as micron. would only boot 3333 at xmp timmings.

good luck.
So after playing around with it and someone pointing out my slot configuration, ASRock states for 3200MHz you have to use slots A2 and B2. I was using slots A1 and B1.

I have now gotten 3600MHz on the RAM and its running memtest with no issues

20191229_174150.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
675 (0.16/day)
Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
System Name Ryzen/Laptop/htpc
Processor R9 3900X/i7 6700HQ/i7 2600
Motherboard AsRock X470 Taichi/Acer/ Gigabyte H77M
Cooling Corsair H115i pro with 2 Noctua NF-A14 chromax/OEM/Noctua NH-L9i
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB @3200/16GB DDR4 2666 HyperX impact/16GB
Video Card(s) TUL Red Dragon Vega 56/Intel HD 530 - GTX 950m/ 970 GTX
Storage 970pro NVMe 512GB,Samsung 860evo 1TB, 3x4TB WD gold/Transcend 830s, 1TB Toshiba/Adata 256GB + 1TB WD
Display(s) Philips FTV 32 inch + Dell 2407WFP-HC/OEM/Samsung tv
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe/Acer Barebone/Enermax
Audio Device(s) SoundBlasterX AE-5 (Dell A525)(HyperX Cloud Alpha)/mojo/soundblaster xfi gamer
Power Supply Seasonic focus+ 850 platinum (SSR-850PX)/165 Watt power brick/Enermax
Mouse G502 Hero/M705 Marathon/G305 Hero Lightspeed
Keyboard G19/oem/Steelseries Apex 300
Software Win10 pro 64bit
hey guys. I wanted to note a problem I had recently with my main ryzen setup (3900x, x470 taichi latest bios, Seasonic focus 850 platinum, 32GB gskill tridentz RGB 16 cas), after putting my setup in my phanteks enthoo luxe I noticed that my system was rebooting randomly, after days of research i discovered that the problem was created by connecting one of my Noctua industrial PPC fan to the "cha fan3/wp" header. I don't know if anyone of you had this problem, so I just wanted to let you know.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,552 (1.24/day)
In case people haven't noticed

AMD Chipset Drivers - 2.01.15.2138 - 1/16/2020


Driver Details
Supports:
Windows® 7/10 for
2nd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor
7th-Gen AMD A-Series Processors
AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor
AMD X470 Chipset
AMD X370 Chipset
AMD B450 Chipset
AMD B350 Chipset
AMD A320 Chipset
Windows® 10 only for
3rd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ Processors
3rd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor
2nd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ Processor
AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ Processor
AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor with Radeon™ Vega Graphics
AMD Ryzen™ Mobile Processor with Radeon™ Vega Graphics
AMD X399 Chipset
AMD X570 Chipset
AMD TRX40 Chipset
Package Includes:
AMD Chipset Drivers
AMD Ryzen™ Power Plans (required for UEFI CPPC2 in Windows® 10 May 2019 Update)
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,889 (1.86/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asrock X570m PRO4
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with push pull fans
Memory Corsair 4x8gb 3533mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Fractal Design Something
Power Supply XFX 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
My ryzen build stopped booting about a week ago. I am just now getting around to troubleshooting.

My motherboard doesn't have proper boot codes which isn't helpful. It has the cpu and dram codes on meaning that the the cpu and or dram isn't working properly.

I tried clearing cmos. I tried going down to one of my four ram sticks. I tried different ram sticks being the only ram stick. I tried taking the cpu out and re-seating it. I am still having the same problem.

The fans spin up when power first comes on but they do not stay on.

I think my next step is going to be trying a friends ram stick. If that fails I am going to buy the cheapest supported cpu to troubleshoot with.

This motherboard has been nothing but trouble since I bought it. It should have listened to @EarthDog and got the nicer mitx board instead of this crappy matx board.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,447 (2.40/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
My ryzen build stopped booting about a week ago. I am just now getting around to troubleshooting.

My motherboard doesn't have proper boot codes which isn't helpful. It has the cpu and dram codes on meaning that the the cpu and or dram isn't working properly.

I tried clearing cmos. I tried going down to one of my four ram sticks. I tried different ram sticks being the only ram stick. I tried taking the cpu out and re-seating it. I am still having the same problem.

The fans spin up when power first comes on but they do not stay on.

I think my next step is going to be trying a friends ram stick. If that fails I am going to buy the cheapest supported cpu to troubleshoot with.

This motherboard has been nothing but trouble since I bought it. It should have listened to @EarthDog and got the nicer mitx board instead of this crappy matx board.
It's sounds as though the board died from the troubleshooting you've done so far.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
84 (0.32/day)
System Name Times Killer
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard MSI B450-A Pro rev. 2.0
Cooling arctic freezer 33 TR4
Memory 2x 8gb Corsair 3200 mhz LPX for Ryzen @ 3733mhz 16-16-16-38
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070Ti ACX 3.0 +223/455 / Asus Strix Vega 56 Gaming OC 1630/900 1120 mw
Storage 2 X 1TB WD's 1X 4gb WB red 1x LG GH22NS70 DVD-RAM Drive
Display(s) HP Omen X 27
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D W/ airflow kit
Audio Device(s) SoundblasterX AE-5 / Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Carsair 850-M
Mouse Logitech Proteus spectrum G502
Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
Software Windows 10 home
My ryzen build stopped booting about a week ago. I am just now getting around to troubleshooting.

My motherboard doesn't have proper boot codes which isn't helpful. It has the cpu and dram codes on meaning that the the cpu and or dram isn't working properly.

I tried clearing cmos. I tried going down to one of my four ram sticks. I tried different ram sticks being the only ram stick. I tried taking the cpu out and re-seating it. I am still having the same problem.

The fans spin up when power first comes on but they do not stay on.

I think my next step is going to be trying a friends ram stick. If that fails I am going to buy the cheapest supported cpu to troubleshoot with.

This motherboard has been nothing but trouble since I bought it. It should have listened to @EarthDog and got the nicer mitx board instead of this crappy matx board.
try unpluggin the hdd/ssd's, a drive or sata port might have failed and is shorting it.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,889 (1.86/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asrock X570m PRO4
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with push pull fans
Memory Corsair 4x8gb 3533mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Fractal Design Something
Power Supply XFX 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
try unpluggin the hdd/ssd's, a drive or sata port might have failed and is shorting it.
I will try this.

It's sounds as though the board died from the troubleshooting you've done so far.
That would be surprising. I had been running it at stock for weeks or months because I was tired of fighting the motherboard to work normally.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,466 (1.53/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3400G @ 3750MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Spire / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Vega 11 / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75Hz/ Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 x64 + Arch Linux
Did a small upgrade from a 1200 to a 3400G. Only problem I'm facing is that if I change anything PBO related, I have to do a clearCMOS to get my RAM clocks back, else they get stuck at 2133MHz.
Can't blame the mobo, it's a B350, it should not even have PBO nor autoOC.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,447 (2.40/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Can't blame the mobo, it's a B350, it should not even have PBO nor autoOC.
The secondary chipset has no bearing on whether PBO works or not. PBO falls under overclocking above the manufacturer's specifications.

It worked fine on the MSI B350 Gaming Pro with the 2600X. There wasn't much headroom for single core boost above what AMD guarantees so I left it off.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,466 (1.53/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3400G @ 3750MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Spire / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Vega 11 / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75Hz/ Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 x64 + Arch Linux
Found it, it's when you try to set the CAD_BUS block.
 
Top