• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sabertooth 990fx won't boot to windows logo, it shuts down

Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#1
I need help guys, I got a new asus sabertooth990fx and a new amd 8120 8 core. I've plugged everything in my pc correctly and turned it on. Some lights came on the dram okay turned on for 3 seconds then turned off, same with the VGA and boot device. Then it would flash to the CPU light really fast, I'll hear a buzz then it cuts off. Everytimr I restart I get this same seaquence of flashes. I've gotten it to the windows repair screen once. I clicked repair. It seemed to be working then it shut off. I didn't get the windows error or repair option. But once it started to load up it froze and shut off.

I'm really upset with this and I need help, why would asus make a board for a CPU that doesn't work? I've flashed my bios to the newest update and it helped out a bit. But same results. I cannot get into bios or it will shut off. I've heard that the mobo is going through post test but mine always failed. Any help will be appreciated. Yes I've tried the jumper and CMOS reset but it doesn't help. I have skype if someone could assit me using that once I get out of school. This is my 3rd build.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#2
press the "Mem OK" button located to the top right of the mobo, this saved me loads of times whenever i did something stupid in the bios :D. It should boot up the mobo, even if all kinds of settings are wrong by default, and you should be able to get into the bios with it(provided all other things work correctly of course).

Good luck!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#3
I've tried that to, it just shuts off. Well it turns on, it will last for 5/25 seconds then turns off. I'll turn it back on and nothing happen. :/
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#4
Then you seem to have a problem with your hardware, and you need to start eliminating parts that can potentially be faulty. I recommend you start testing your RAM sticks individually, even though the Ram OK light turns on.

EDIT: are you using the same windows installation that you used on your former PC(and what PC was that in that case?)?

Also, it might be a good idea to fill in your system specs:)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#5
Antec 900 case
H50 corsair CPU cooler
Amd 8120 8 core
I think 500 watt psu
Asus sabertooth 990fx 2.0
500gb hard drive
X2 radeon hd 6770 that's about it I think and yes Im using the same windows. Sorry for my spelling I'm on my phone right now.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#6
Antec 900 case
H50 corsair CPU cooler
Amd 8120 8 core
I think 500 watt psu
Asus sabertooth 990fx 2.0
500gb hard drive
X2 radeon hd 6770 that's about it I think and yes Im using the same windows. Sorry for my spelling I'm on my phone right now.
There is a button in the top of the forum screen called: "User CP", there you can fill in your system specs for us to view under your name:)

There is a big chance the problems you are having are the results of an incompitability of your previous windows installation with your current hardware. This means that you will have to reïnstall windows on your harddrive in order to boot to windows. A good way to check if this is really the case is installing windows on a separate harddrive.

I'm not totally certain that this is the matter, but it wouldn't be the first time. With every major hardware change its always best to reinstall windows(although there are probably some people going to disagree with me on this).
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#7
There is a button in the top of the forum screen called: "User CP", there you can fill in your system specs for us to view under your name:)

There is a big chance the problems you are having are the results of an incompitability of your previous windows installation with your current hardware. This means that you will have to reïnstall windows on your harddrive in order to boot to windows. A good way to check if this is really the case is installing windows on a separate harddrive.

I'm not totally certain that this is the matter, but it wouldn't be the first time. With every major hardware change its always best to reinstall windows(although there are probably some people going to disagree with me on this).

I took out the hard drive last night, same issues. I have no idea what's going on. I heard Ty rumors about changing it to raid or whatever but I can't do it because I can't get Into bios.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#8
If you're not getting in the bios(I appear to have conveniently forgotten that point in my previous post about windows), you're back to square one, and need to start eliminating different parts.

I'm curious as to how you managed to update your bios when you said you cannot get in the bios? Also, in what way did flashing the bios help a bit?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#9
There is a button in the top of the forum screen called: "User CP", there you can fill in your system specs for us to view under your name:)

There is a big chance the problems you are having are the results of an incompitability of your previous windows installation with your current hardware. This means that you will have to reïnstall windows on your harddrive in order to boot to windows. A good way to check if this is really the case is installing windows on a separate harddrive.

I'm not totally certain that this is the matter, but it wouldn't be the first time. With every major hardware change its always best to reinstall windows(although there are probably some people going to disagree with me on this).
I used my old CPU, my x6. I downloaded the bios 1306 I think that's the one. Then I put it on a USB drive and it stopped my mouse from freezing in the bios when I was using the x6. Whenever I get up to the booting screen of windows 7 it would freeze up and shut down. I tried using the system reapair which failed too. Now once I use the x8 it shuts down the moment I press f1. When I get home I can make s YouTube video showing the problem of that helps.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#10
well that bios should be correct(not the newest, but should support the 8120 atleast), and if you're upgrading from an X6, there shouldnt be any major incompatibilities. You might still want to check wether you didnt accidentally bump your RAM in a wrong way. Otherwise, I wish i wasnt the only one responding to this thread, as I'm usually not the best in troubleshooting stuff remotely :p
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#11
Well it's better to have some help than no help. I just don't know what to do, I was up for 9 hours looking up ways I can fix it but I can't. The only thig I haven't done was take out all the sata cords from the mobo. But the odd part is, whenever I take out the ram it's still the same thing, nothing changes.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#12
Throw the PSU away!!!!


(At least test with another one!!! ;)
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#13
Can't say this with 100%, but your motherboard is dead. I would file an RMA.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
Throw the PSU away!!!!


(At least test with another one!!! ;)
+1: Test with something that has more than 500-watts. I suspect that you're drawing a lot of power for your PSU. Who makes it?
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#16
500w is enough. Won't hurt to try though.

Again, it's the motherboard. Not 100%, but close enough.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#17
I can't remember who made the psu, I'm hoping it's not dead because I got it from new egg. I'm not sure how much power my friends psu has.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#18
I can't remember who made the psu, I'm hoping it's not dead because I got it from new egg. I'm not sure how much power my friends psu has.
If you bought the motherboard recently from newegg, newegg or the manufacturer will RMA this product. Trust me. It's a headache but sometimes you just have to roll with the punches.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#19
I can't remember who made the psu, I'm hoping it's not dead because I got it from new egg.
You can always look at the label on the PSU or check your order history on NewEgg so we have a better idea for what you're working with. 500-watts doesn't tell us too much about the PSU other than its total output, not its 12v output.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,693 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,311
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#21
Does that PSU have a full 8 pin CPU power plug or just a 4 pin? The 8 pin may be listed as EPS 12v and be split so that it can be used in a 4 pin or an 8 pin cpu socket (sometimes called a 4+4 connector).

AFAIK you can get away with a 4 pin plug in most cases but it's not recommended. Also, make sure it is inserted properly and seated solidly- that connector feeds the cpu so it is essential that it is plugged in correctly.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#22
to boot and enter bios and load windows, any todays PSU (with the correct plugs) will work, AFAIK

to enter BIOS only low wattage is used.
Then, during boot, the HDD and a bit later the videocard card start to demand juice, then the other devices and periphericals... so the total demand during boot up is incrementing step by step, that's why a failure halfway could indicate a PSU problem....
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#23
I looked at the drive on the website again. I think I downloaded the wrong one. There's a 1604 I have the 1304 and before I flashed it I had 219
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
I looked at the drive on the website again. I think I downloaded the wrong one. There's a 1604 I have the 1304 and before I flashed it I had 219
1604 or newer for Piledriver. Pop in your X6, and flash it. Even the X6 is not supported correctly until 0406, and if it came with 0219, that explains ALOT. ;)


If you cannot get it going, if you bought local, take it back, and ask them to flash to the latest. My local store offers CPU mount and booting service for free when you buy a board, I think all stores should offer similar, but they might not.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#25
I got it from new egg and it's 4+4 pins not the full 8. But would flashing it to 2604 help? Do you guys know anything about the lights? All the lights flash once going through a cycle then once it hits the CPU it shuts down.