• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Safe? (6850 BIOS Flashing)

PiERiT

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Flippity Floppity Floop
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard MSI Z68MA-G45
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.SKILL 4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 580
Storage Kingston SSDNow V+100 96GB
Display(s) ASUS VH236H
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#1
The card in my profile has a BIOS switch. Switched to the left, it's borked; the card isn't even recognized and my monitor receives no signal. Switched to the right works fine, and it's what I'm using to type this.

I don't have a backup of the first (left) because I am dumb. I plan to dump the second (right) and use that to restore the first by flipping the switch whilst in Windows and flashing. Is it safe to do this? I know it's what some people did for 6950s, but I don't know if that applies here as well. I don't want to mess up the backup flash on a guess.

Thanks.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
You will want to flip the switch right before you hit enter to flash.
 

PiERiT

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Flippity Floppity Floop
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard MSI Z68MA-G45
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.SKILL 4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 580
Storage Kingston SSDNow V+100 96GB
Display(s) ASUS VH236H
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#3
In DOS you mean, or in Windows with RBE (or ATIWinFlash)?

If the former, I just tried that and it said Old 2440 New 2441 SSID Mismatch Error 0FL01. Is it safe to ignore that with -f?

If the latter, could you say exactly when? I don't want to hit it before pressing Flash, then have there be two or three confirmation boxes before the actual flash occurs.

Thanks!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Use ATiFlash, make a bootable USB drive. Place ATiFlash and the bios file on the flash drive. Then, restart and boot into DOS from the flash drive. Type: C:\atiflash -f -p "nameofbiosfile".rom

Flip the switch

Hit enter.
 

PiERiT

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Flippity Floppity Floop
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard MSI Z68MA-G45
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.SKILL 4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 580
Storage Kingston SSDNow V+100 96GB
Display(s) ASUS VH236H
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#5
Roger, trying that now. Back in a jiffy.

Edit: Worked a treat, thanks. The whole fiasco started when I tried flashing a modified BIOS I made with RBE that had increased 2D clocks. Guess I'll just count my blessings and ditch the idea.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Glad it worked out in the end..
There's a way on the driver level to increase your 2d clocks. Read up here: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=117633

*It needs to be updated since Catalyst has changed since then but it should work. What used to be called "Profiles" is now in "Presets". Good luck and let me know if you have any questions or if something doesn't look right. :toast:
 

PiERiT

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Flippity Floppity Floop
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard MSI Z68MA-G45
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.SKILL 4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 580
Storage Kingston SSDNow V+100 96GB
Display(s) ASUS VH236H
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#7
I was doing that prior to trying this, though I was editing the main Profiles.xml. I imagined it would reset every time I updated my drivers, which is what put flashing a custom BIOS in my head.

I'm sure the Profiles (Presets) would stick around after updating drivers, but it doesn't seem to work with 11.6. After creating a Preset and opening the XML, there are only a couple lines. The clock and voltage settings aren't present.

Edit: It also seems my card has developed a terrible coil whine today. Can't catch a break. :(
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
I'm sure the Profiles (Presets) would stick around after updating drivers, but it doesn't seem to work with 11.6. After creating a Preset and opening the XML, there are only a couple lines. The clock and voltage settings aren't present.
Yeah, I just noticed it doesn't work anymore. I'm trying to figure out a way to get it working again.

*Got it, updating now. :)
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9

PiERiT

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Flippity Floppity Floop
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard MSI Z68MA-G45
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
Memory G.SKILL 4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 580
Storage Kingston SSDNow V+100 96GB
Display(s) ASUS VH236H
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#10
Nice, thanks. I'll get that set up.

Now if you could only fix my coil whine. :(