1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Saints Row the Third locking up

Discussion in 'Games' started by -KarL-, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. -KarL-

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Iowa
    For the last few days I have been trying to play Saints Row the Third. I launch it though Steam and the window pops up asking for a DirectX version. If I click on either option, I get the busy symbol over the mouse for about a second and then the entire computer locks up. The only things that still work are the power and restart buttons.

    I have tried everything Ford and I can think of, but so far Memtest86 v4.0 is the only test to show any errors (Screen shot), but we haven't been able to find much information on the error. Memtest86 v3.5 went 9 passes with 0 errors and Memtest86+ v4.2 went 4 passes with 0 errors. Intel Burn Test, FurMark, and Scan Disk have not shown any errors either. I have updated both graphics and audio drivers and even tried AMD Beta drivers with no luck. Every time I verify the game cache it comes back with an error and downloads a file; however, Ford's does the same thing and the game still runs on his computer just fine.

    Anyone have any suggestions or ideas of what might be causing this?

    Thanks
    -KarL-
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,072 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,209
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    It might be a unstable cpu and or overheating
     
  3. -KarL-

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Iowa
    The computer runs Boinc all day and the CPU averages 50 degrees at 100% load and it is set to shut down above 65 degrees.

    Intel Burn Test didn't show any sign of instability.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    MANY people are having crashing/lockup issues with this game.
    I have not seen a lock up on launch yet though.

    People are getting crashes after 5 minutes after being able to play the game for around 24 hours or so without issues.
    It IS a game with serious bugs which have not been resolved in any of the patches they have released.
    AMD cards perform badly in this game.
    I need windows media player or firefox running in the background with this game or the vehicle audio will lag.

    Have you tried making a back up and then uninstalling then reinstalling the game?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,072 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,209
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    do you turn off boinc when you try to launch game?
     
  6. -KarL-

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Iowa
    There is nothing to backup since I havent been able to play the game yet. But we have tried to reinstall it with no luck.

    I have tried just suspending it and shutting it down, but same results.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Have you tried looking through the steam forums and saints row PC troubleshooting section?
    The steam saints row sub-forum is mainly loaded with threads on problems with the game so there maybe some solution there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4,072 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,209
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    Saints Row: The Third Fails to Launch / Hangs / Freezes After Intro or Advertisement

    – Set the compatibility mode to the game to “Windows XP”
    – Run the game directly instead of using the generated shortcut
    – Check your game cache / revalidate it to ensure you have okay files
    – Run the game in DirectX 9 mode
    – If you use multiple monitors, then disable one of them
    – Exit any program that could mess with the game
    – Run the game in a different, more common resolution
     
  9. -KarL-

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Iowa
    Thanks for the help so far guys!

    Ford looked through them but didn't see anything about complete computer lockup.

    Tried most of those suggestions and it still locked up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. -KarL-

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Iowa
    Just in case anyone else runs into this same error, it ended up being a windows issue. I found a few other programs that were doing the same thing and Ford narrowed it down to a few dlls that might be corrupted. I put in a spare HDD and installed a fresh copy of windows, steam, and the game, and now every runs perfectly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,253 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,414
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I suspect it was some background service.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)