• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung Announces New 27-inch 3D LED Monitor for Gaming

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,434 (3.45/day)
Likes
4,289
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 | Samsung nVME 512
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Code V2B
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#26
I don't think there are any 3d monitors in that size for cheaper, regardless of quality.
which is why haters gonna hate. if they can't afford it they get mad.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.82/day)
Likes
1,678
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
#27
Price seems high and the resolution is low IMO.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,434 (3.45/day)
Likes
4,289
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 | Samsung nVME 512
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Code V2B
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#28
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,161 (0.33/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#29
They are not 2 different tech's, ie: you have 120hz, and bam you have 3d also

Still for a 27" monitor at 1080p it is horribly overpriced and under spec'd, in all honesty I could care less about 3d ffs, give me some more real estate especially on a 27" monitor, 1900x1200(+upwards) would be nice and not any more expensive to produce, 3d or not for $600 there are much better 27" monitors out there for that kind of money, I mean who do they think they are? Apple??
You obviously havent tried a 120Hz monitor for gaming. Talking about 120Hz not 3D. If you're a gamer and you dont have a 120Hz monitor you're missing out.

Anyway as i said, we have the SA750 and SA950 series for sale in Australia, although stock hasnt been regular you can buy the 27" for around $500 AUD/US.

BTW, Just to be clear, apart from 120Hz, this isnt your average TN screen. It does more than 100% of sRGB colour. The colours are better than 6 bit IPS panels like the U2311.


This review is for the 950 but the panel is the same...

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/monitors/display/samsung-sa950_6.html#sect0

The image quality is very good, surprisingly good for a TN, these monitors are selling like hotcakes and people are very happy with it. Most stores sell out of stock as soon as it arrives, thats why some stores are quoting a high price, they are selling at any price.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#30
It's taken a long time for this version to hit the market. The 950D has been around for a while now. If I was searching for a 27" 120 Hz panel I'd probably pick that one over this. But I'm actually more interested in the 23" 750D if it can be found at a decent price. This monitor looks to have fairly small bezels so it would fit nicely as the center monitor in my Eyefinity config. At the moment I have the LG 23" 120 Hz monitor but it's just butt ugly and has a fairly large bezel. Also the Samsung monitor should have a bit higher quality panel too.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.31/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#31
2 highly anticipated shooters coming up if there was a moment for large/HD/3D screens to bloom now its the time.
This would be nice for Battlefield 3 yumm yumm 27 inches and 3D.
 

dsdsdk

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#32
Why glossy Samsung?! Why?
Why no DVI for 750 model?
Why not support 3D vision?
Why having to change manually to 3D mode?

Isnt 1920x1080 @ 120hz the max resolution for DVI bandwidth?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,275 (1.61/day)
Likes
1,455
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#33
Why glossy Samsung?! Why?
Why no DVI for 750 model?
Why not support 3D vision?
Why having to change manually to 3D mode?

Isnt 1920x1080 @ 120hz the max resolution for DVI bandwidth?
1. It is not glossy, that is a studio light. I don't think 3D monitors or TVs can use a matte finish because it affects the light from the display to much. The Ultra clear screen this monitor is using does a good job of defusing reflective light, but its not perfect.

2. I no idea honestly. I guess they wanted to keep things small and a DVI plug is rather large and would eat up a lot of room in the small stand.

3. 3D Vision is just a name used by Nvidia for their 3D Tech. Monitors do not "support it" they are simply either 3D capable or not. This one is 3D so you can use whatever technology you want to generate a 3D picture.

4. How would you do that automatically? I am sure when you turn on 3D on your computer it will send a signal to the monitor to switch to 3D mode, this is still technically a manual switch as the monitor did not detect this and set itself. It was told by your computer to change. This is just semantics.

5. No. Maximum resolution for Dual link DVI-D is 1920 x 1200 @ 120 Hz. But that is just the different between 16:9 and 16:10. This monitor is 16:9 so 1920 x 1080. I am sure they will released a 760 or something that is 16:10.

Oh and newegg.com has it listed now at $600: SAMSUNG S27A750D Black 27" 2ms Full HD 3D LED Back...

Which begs the question considering Easy's link from earlier. Did the Euro get weaker or the dollar stronger?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,561 (0.85/day)
Likes
821
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#34
I noticed no ones said whether or not it runs 120Hz in normal 2d mode and asfar as I'm aware 120HZ for 3D is just 2 x 60Hz signals
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,275 (1.61/day)
Likes
1,455
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#35
Well I can't say for sure, but it does list 120 Hz as a input it will accept. And it has a 2D to 3D upconverter. Those features usually mean the monitor is true 120 Hz and switches to 2 x 60 Hz for 3D. Also Samsung is one of 2 companies that refuse to use gimmicks or tricks to get 120 Hz. There should be no reason you can't run this at 120 Hz in 2D mode.
 

Black Haru

Staff member
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
1,342 (0.45/day)
Likes
405
Location
Indiana
#36
I noticed no ones said whether or not it runs 120Hz in normal 2d mode and asfar as I'm aware 120HZ for 3D is just 2 x 60Hz signals
a review of the 950d I read on another forum had a section on 2d 120hz. iirc it did very well.

edit* anyone know if DP or HDMI can actually run 120hz at decent quality? (cause the 750d has no DVI)
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,275 (1.61/day)
Likes
1,455
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#37
a review of the 950d I read on another forum had a section on 2d 120hz. iirc it did very well.

edit* anyone know if DP or HDMI can actually run 120hz at decent quality? (cause the 750d has no DVI)
It would be the same or better. Remember HDMI = DVI-D + 8 channel HD audio. And DisplayPort = Dual Link DVI-D + 8 channel HD audio + new features
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
753 (0.30/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4 Ghz | FX-8570 @ 4.0 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory 24gb DDR3-1866 |8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Turbo x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 670 (PhysX) | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage 2x240gb SSD + 4tb SSHD + HDDs | 240gb SSD + HDDs | 120gb SSD + WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) ASUS VG248 144hz + Samsung S23A700D 120hz + 3D Vision | 40" Sony 1080p TV | 23" 1080p
Case Cooler Master HAF-X | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Senn. PC360 G4ME | Sound Blaster Zx | Generic
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Mouse Steelseries Sensei | Logitech G402 W/L | Generic
Keyboard Filco Majetouch Ninja Tenkeyless MX Black | Logitech wireless |SteelSeries 6Gv2 MX Red
Software About 800 top-rated games. | 200 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#38
That is most definitely my next monitor. I wonder if my 3D Vision will work on it or not. In theory it should but...
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#39
That is most definitely my next monitor. I wonder if my 3D Vision will work on it or not. In theory it should but...
It won't work, or at least the normal 3D Vision won't, the HDMI 1.4a Blu-Ray 3D support might. 3D Vision only works on Nvidia certified monitors, and this is not one, and doesn't even have the dual link DVI-D it requires. AMD on the other hand supports this monitor, and it and its sibling models are the first to support AMD HD3D through DisplayPort, hence they're the only monitors available that can do 1080p/60Hz with HD3D (since HDMI 1.4a limit is 720p/60Hz or 1080p/24Hz)
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,275 (1.61/day)
Likes
1,455
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#40
It won't work, or at least the normal 3D Vision won't, the HDMI 1.4a Blu-Ray 3D support might. 3D Vision only works on Nvidia certified monitors, and this is not one, and doesn't even have the dual link DVI-D it requires. AMD on the other hand supports this monitor, and it and its sibling models are the first to support AMD HD3D through DisplayPort, hence they're the only monitors available that can do 1080p/60Hz with HD3D (since HDMI 1.4a limit is 720p/60Hz or 1080p/24Hz)
Well there you go. Sorry it doesn't work with Nvidia 3D Vision.

Although you are completely wrong about HDMI 1.4a since it supports 4k video and will do 1920 x 1200 @60Hz. If that frame rate is a limitation is only for 3D movies and caused by the 3D tech, not the HDMI specs.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
753 (0.30/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4 Ghz | FX-8570 @ 4.0 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory 24gb DDR3-1866 |8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Turbo x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 670 (PhysX) | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage 2x240gb SSD + 4tb SSHD + HDDs | 240gb SSD + HDDs | 120gb SSD + WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) ASUS VG248 144hz + Samsung S23A700D 120hz + 3D Vision | 40" Sony 1080p TV | 23" 1080p
Case Cooler Master HAF-X | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Senn. PC360 G4ME | Sound Blaster Zx | Generic
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Mouse Steelseries Sensei | Logitech G402 W/L | Generic
Keyboard Filco Majetouch Ninja Tenkeyless MX Black | Logitech wireless |SteelSeries 6Gv2 MX Red
Software About 800 top-rated games. | 200 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#41
It won't work, or at least the normal 3D Vision won't, the HDMI 1.4a Blu-Ray 3D support might. 3D Vision only works on Nvidia certified monitors, and this is not one, and doesn't even have the dual link DVI-D it requires. AMD on the other hand supports this monitor, and it and its sibling models are the first to support AMD HD3D through DisplayPort, hence they're the only monitors available that can do 1080p/60Hz with HD3D (since HDMI 1.4a limit is 720p/60Hz or 1080p/24Hz)
Oh, right you are and damn me for looking at the wrong model. They introduced a slew of similar models, the S and T, the 27 and 23, the 750 and the 950...

My next purchase isn't the model mentioned in the opening post but the S27A950D

Which is similar but has a double-link DVI and comes with its own included 3D glasses (for AMD HD3D)... Still, my current (nVidia-certified) Samsung 2233rz does seem to be nothing else than a 120hz monitor with a double-link DVI, so at first glance, it looks like it might work...
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
6
#42
Technically yes, but I still don't think it'll work just because it's not certified by Nvidia. They might restrict 3D Vision for only those monitors in the drivers.

These monitors do have vendor independent 2D-3D conversion though, but I'm not sure how well that works in gaming since it might introduce too much input lag.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
753 (0.30/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4 Ghz | FX-8570 @ 4.0 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory 24gb DDR3-1866 |8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Turbo x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 670 (PhysX) | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage 2x240gb SSD + 4tb SSHD + HDDs | 240gb SSD + HDDs | 120gb SSD + WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) ASUS VG248 144hz + Samsung S23A700D 120hz + 3D Vision | 40" Sony 1080p TV | 23" 1080p
Case Cooler Master HAF-X | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Senn. PC360 G4ME | Sound Blaster Zx | Generic
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Mouse Steelseries Sensei | Logitech G402 W/L | Generic
Keyboard Filco Majetouch Ninja Tenkeyless MX Black | Logitech wireless |SteelSeries 6Gv2 MX Red
Software About 800 top-rated games. | 200 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
#43
Technically yes, but I still don't think it'll work just because it's not certified by Nvidia. They might restrict 3D Vision for only those monitors in the drivers.

These monitors do have vendor independent 2D-3D conversion though, but I'm not sure how well that works in gaming since it might introduce too much input lag.
Hm, maybe someone will hack the 3D drivers just like SLI was hacked by changing the mobo's model string...