• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Samsung F1 going bad?

Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
877 (0.18/day)
Likes
164
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
My samsung f1 1tb is making a random clicking noise. 99% of the time it doesnt do it. It mainly does it on boot and shut down. Should I be worried? Its still under warrenty.


Ive ran the dos base Hutil from there website it had no errors.

Ive ran hd tune disk checker with no errors

SMART is saying the drive is fine.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Check in Windows Power Management and make sure the drives aren't automatically being turned off. That will usually cause a clicking noise when they are accessed after being shut down.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
877 (0.18/day)
Likes
164
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
its only my primary drive, will that shut down too? its set to shut down after 30min
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
its only my primary drive, will that shut down too? its set to shut down after 30min
I would set it to never turn off. Use it a while and see if the clicking still happens. If it does startup an RMA.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,812
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#5
Install HDDlife Pro program and check it's vital signs through SMART monitoring. If the program is saying that health is critical or is reporting any subsystem as failing, backup the data fast and replace the drive. These programs are quite accurate, though they aren't almighty and they only warn you before the inevitable happens. Once it does, it's too late. But at least knowing that end is near is sometimes more than enough.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
877 (0.18/day)
Likes
164
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
tried out that progy. Im not big on free trial then must buy for full feature type deals when samsung, seagate and western digital have there own more reliable type stuff for free. there is also hdtune which has pretty much the same features. the main problem with that program is for the free version, the drive in question must be hooked up to the #1 slot. my primary drive was in the #3 sata slot so I couldnt even test it with that progy.

on a positive note. I got my 2x 1.5tb seagate barracudas LP's today. Im gonna transfer all my important stuff to one of them and save that drive incase i run out of space again. Now my media rig has 6tb's of space!!

Another thing I forgot to mention, the drive in question is a 1tb but its partitioned to 60gb for the primary and the left over for storage. would that cause any of this?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
378 (0.09/day)
Likes
20
Location
UK
Processor 3570-K @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-DH3
Cooling cosair H100
Memory 8gb samsung green
Video Card(s) Inno3d 580GTX
Storage 240gb Vertex 3 +500gb samsung F1 + 640gb samsung F(something)
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case CoolerMaster CMStacker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
#7
its the power saving option, mine started doing it all the time (clicking) when i installed windows 7 and i tried every test i could to find errors and the drive was fine, turned off power saving and no more clicking :)
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
1,362 (0.46/day)
Likes
633
Location
TX
System Name Beast, little beast
Processor Core i7 2600K 4.5GHZ 24/7, Core i7 Xeon6 core 3.6GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 1155Sckt, EVGA X58 sckt 1366
Cooling H80, H100
Memory 24 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill RipJaws,12 gigs DDR3 1600Mhz Gskill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) 1 Nvidia 670 eVGA FTW, 1 Nvidia 580 eVGA
Storage 1- WD Black 640GB, 1X Samsung 1.5TB, 2 X 160 WD Veloc Raptors Raided
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" 1920X1200, Acer 24" 1920X1200
Case rig#1 Dismatech test bench, rig#2 Made By Bill Tech Bench
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec 1000 Watt, PC power&cooling 850 watt
Software both Rig's, Win7 64Bit
Benchmark Scores rig #1 4.8GHZ @ 1.375 Volts. running 4.5GHZ 1.272 Volts 24/7. Rig #2 4.6GHZ @ 1.3 Volts 24/7.
#8
Nope having the drive partitioned should not cause the problem. I have the same drive actually 2 of them in raid1 and have not had any problems with mine. I would do what eRocker said and set it to never turn off. I've had them for about 8 months now. Fixing to change everything to a SSD drive bought 2 of the Intel X25 60gig brand, going to put them in Raid and put one of the samsung drives for storage and games.....
 

k0rn_h0li0

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#9
i just sold mine and no i never heard the clicking noise. if it goes often its done por's ( haha accent ). usually you hear it on a startup but as other members mentioned is a good idea.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
its quite possible to be the power setting. even the OS drive can power off, since so much is stored in ram in vista and 7.

If it clicks with power saving off, use hard disk sentinel
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
877 (0.18/day)
Likes
164
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#11
yeah never clicks with the power off only on boot up and shutdown. I rarely turn that rig off tho. Im not gonna stress on it too much. I might hear it click 3-4 times on boot and its not in any order. just random here and there clicks. Im backing it up on my seagate right now and ill use that last when the rest of the drives fill up. I have it the power off option set to never now. Ill try a shutdown when its done backing up. its moving 730gb right now and says it should be done in 3 hours. not too bad on transfer speeds. I wish I got the f2's tho. I likethe green drives.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,812
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#12
tried out that progy. Im not big on free trial then must buy for full feature type deals when samsung, seagate and western digital have there own more reliable type stuff for free. there is also hdtune which has pretty much the same features. the main problem with that program is for the free version, the drive in question must be hooked up to the #1 slot. my primary drive was in the #3 sata slot so I couldnt even test it with that progy.

on a positive note. I got my 2x 1.5tb seagate barracudas LP's today. Im gonna transfer all my important stuff to one of them and save that drive incase i run out of space again. Now my media rig has 6tb's of space!!

Another thing I forgot to mention, the drive in question is a 1tb but its partitioned to 60gb for the primary and the left over for storage. would that cause any of this?
The program is freeware after it expires. Some mostly non essential features get disabled, but stuff that you need will remain functional.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#13
i use HD Tune and ActiveSMART ;)
HD Tune Error Scan is exellent to find drives that have crapped out, if you get errors there you must RMA the drive
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
877 (0.18/day)
Likes
164
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#14
well i broke down and bought hd tune pro. I figure with 6tb in one rig it would be a good idea.
the samsung in question is getting a ultra dma crc error warning and said it has to do with the cable. I replace the sata cable and its still there. then the other samsung says im getting spin cycle retry warning. now when I run the older hd tune free, there are no errors for these drives but there are spin cycle retry errors on my seagates but no errors on the seagates in the pro. wow none of these programs and matching. when I run seatools the seagates come back as fine no errors. when I run the samsung estool i get no errors on the samsungs. only good note is my western digitals have no errors in anything. remind me never to by a different brand again. Ive trusted them for years and now know why.

im not sure what to do with the drives. seagates are working great but have no warranty, samsungs are still under warranty but im not really sure there is anything wrong with them. Ive got 2 WD 1tb greens coming, one to replace my wd black 1tb and one to replace the ticking 1tb samsung. I would hate to rma it just to get it back the same drive and waist money on shipping.

Now the only reason im gonna replace the black is because of heat. should I just keep it in there and replace both samsungs?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
378 (0.09/day)
Likes
20
Location
UK
Processor 3570-K @ 4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-DH3
Cooling cosair H100
Memory 8gb samsung green
Video Card(s) Inno3d 580GTX
Storage 240gb Vertex 3 +500gb samsung F1 + 640gb samsung F(something)
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case CoolerMaster CMStacker
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750w
Software Windows 7
#15
i would trust what the manufacturers program tells you and not a 3rd party. thats all they will use and send them back if they pass.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
877 (0.18/day)
Likes
164
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#16
thanks i figured as much, so i can assume the drives are fine. im still tempted to leave the black in there and take the samsungs out.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,259 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#17
I have read through all the post here and I don't think there is anything wrong with your drive. All those warnings are just warnings not actual errors. My SMART shows warnings for all my drives since day 2 of owning them, I tend to ignore it since the same program says it is operating within expected values.

Have you checked the case. The slot the drive is in may simply be a little loose. The click may be the drive simply vibrating and banging the case on occasion.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
the only warnings to really worry about, are bad sector counts. Thems the scary ones.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
877 (0.18/day)
Likes
164
Location
Palm Desert, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD FX 8320
Motherboard Asus 990FX Sabertooth R2.0
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4x4GB Samsung 1600 Low Profile
Video Card(s) MSI GTX660ti PE OC
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG W2361VG 23" 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#19
clicking has stopped since I turned off the power saving option.

thanks guys. Im pretty sure there is nothing wrong with my drives.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#20
theres nothing wrong with the drives i have samsung F1 and F3s and they click do to power saving i had the sam issue tested all kinds of apps even did reformat before but they still clicked till i turned power saving off that and turning off auto defrag worked wonders in terms of the annoying clicking. ive had no issues after turning that crap off.:toast: those drives are fine its windows making you fret :roll: in this case just like mine Microsoft needs a :nutkick: for there OS making us pull are hair out when its just a false alarm