1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

samsung f3 windows does not detect.

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Reefer86, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    hi guys, i have just had a samsung f3 500gb delivered this morning but i cant get windows to pick it up at all, my bios picks it up but thats it.

    I was going to format it but i cant get windows to pick it up. I have also tried running the windows installation disc (as im going to use this as my main drive) and that picks up the drive but says its only a 100mb drive.
     
  2. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    The disk is not showing on:
    Control Panel -> Admin Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management ?
    (this is also where you will be able to format it)
     
  3. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Or

    Right Cligck my computer>> Manage>> disk management (under storage on the left hand side)
     
  4. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    the disc does not show up in there either.

    The disc is powered etc and ive tried diffrent sata cables and sata port on motherboard. shows up on bios, but still not in windows
     
  5. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Well, if you have other SATA drives (also check if all are SATA I or II) that work flawlessly, one has to say that the drive needs an RMA.
     
  6. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,002 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    Is it connected externally or internally? I ask because with my ext drive being ESATA and my bios sets that port to IDE mode, I have to go into device manager each time, right click, and tell it to search for new hardware; before I can even use the ext drive.

    If I set the ESATA port to RAID then the above step does not have to be done but then my ROM drive freaks out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    ive just completely de-powered the system and now the drive is not being read and also reset the bios to see if theat helped and still not there.

    Strange really as i booted into windows and windows installed the drive and came up with the drive then asked me to restart...now nothing.

    Yeah i might rma, just wish it worked as rma takes time.

    No no i have it internally kenkicker

    I have 3 other drives that are all working flawlessly in windows but the others are not picked up.

    Its also very strange how when i go into windows install via DVD it reads the disc as a 100mb drive.


    EDIT: Ok so once again i have restarted windows and it reads the drive and says samsung HD502HJ installed and ready for use, then please restart. so i have and i still dont have my drive
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  8. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    ok its come up now in computer management, when i opened it up and went to disc managment, it asked me to install the master table index!?

    anyways ive done that, so now do i need to format this or can i just install on it now? if i need to format it how do i do it from disc management


    OK maybe im a little slow.... but i have it sorted now formatting now :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  9. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    The 100MB drive is a partition Windows 8 makes on install.
     
  10. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    ok i have just tryed again to install windows via booting with CD and once again the install only reads the disc as a 100mb disc drive. even formatting or creating partition in install still only reads it as a 100mb drive.

    Its fine in windows now and working fine, im not sure what to do?

    re format?
     
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Are you sure it reads the new disk as a 100MB partition? Because as I said above, Win 7 makes a 100MB partition with some install files when it's installed. It remains on your disk as a hidden part.
     
  12. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    yeah im very sure mate, anything i can do in windows ?
     
  13. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    So the only thing that detects it as 100MB is Win 7 setup?

    Post a screenie of your Disk Management please?
     
  14. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    [​IMG]

    OK so that might be a partition then according to this, the new drive is the G drive, i assume windows install via boot, is not picking up the drive then. and just picking up the H drive the partition of another drive.

    I go this by attempting to install via windows using the windows disc


    ah, i know why that partition is there, its because when i was trying to install i created a partition on the drive, but it would only let me use 100mb as that all its showed on the drive. so thats why that has been created.


    disc management

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    That's definitely the install partition. Hmm looks like you had some partition space left or summit...
    What I see here:

    1 disc ~250 GB with Windows (C:)
    1 disc ~500 GB with the install partition (H:) and Games/Programs
    1 disc ~500 GB with Downloads (E:)
    1 disc ~500 GB (New Volume G:)
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  16. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,511 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    i will try again now thracken to see if windows picks up the drive via booting from disc.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)