• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Samsung Introduces New High Performance LCD Monitors

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1


Samsung Electronics America, Inc., yesterday introduced three new high-performance LCD monitors to the company's renowned SyncMaster line, the 17-inch SyncMaster 731BF, the 19-inch SyncMaster 931BF and the 19-inch SyncMaster 971P. Both 731BF and 931BF feature an impressive 2000:1 dynamic contrast ratio, a fast 2ms (GTG) response time, 1280x1024 resolution, 300 cd/m2 brightness, as well as Samsung's proprietary Magic Technologies: MagicBrightII, MagicColor and MagicTune. The 971P features up to a 1500:1 contrast ratio, 6ms (GTG) response time, 178/178 degree viewing angle, and 1280x1024 resolution. Competitively priced at $249.99 MSRP for the 731BF, $299.99 MSRP for the 931BF and $379.99 MSRP for the 971P, these monitors feature a sleek, minimalist design, and are targeted for retail and commercial applications. Additionally the 971P features a blue LED power button at the end of the stand, and a unique triple-hinge stand that enables users to fold the monitor flat or into a variety of positions. Both 731BF and 931BF monitors are Mac and PC compatible, and come with an attractive shiny black bezel. The 731BF, the 931BF and the 971P are currently available in select retail locations, as well as through Samsung resellers and distribution channels. All Samsung displays are backed by a three-year parts and labor warranty, including the backlight, as well as toll-free technical support for the life of the display.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#2
apart from horizontal space saving issues is there any reason not to makes these in widescreen?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#3
apart from horizontal space saving issues is there any reason not to makes these in widescreen?
Preference.

Plus 1280x1024 looks crappy widescreen ;)

Just got the 20" 204B for $350.. 20" @ 1600x1200 8ms response.. and its rather nice..

I dislike widescreen due to the lack of vertical viewing space..which is much needed when im coding imo :p

$300 for this is just a but nuts imo @ 1280x1024...

way too low for that kinda $$... but hey.. if you think that 2ms will make you leeter, go right ahead :p
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Also have a 204B and wouldnt trade it for widescreen I will stick to nice standard 4:3 ratios as widescreen can be a hassle in certain things with oddball Res's. Its supposed to actually have a 5ms response time(typical) and I have seen no ghosting at all on this LCD comparing to my previous 19" LG 12 ms.
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,083 (0.49/day)
Likes
267
System Name Not named
Processor Q6600 @ 3.65ghz 1.4375v w/Ultra 120 Extreme
Motherboard Asus P5K-E/WIFI-AP P35 (Pencil Mod)
Cooling 4x 120mm 1x 200mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR2 G.Skill @511mhz (5-5-5-15)
Video Card(s) Asus 7870
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 7K500 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 22Inch Samsung 2220WM
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech HDA X-PLOSION 7.1 DTS / Z-5500 logitech
Power Supply Corsair Tx750 watt
#5
On my 8ms i've never had a ghosting problem either which makes me wonder about these 2ms response times.... possibly just a ploy to get more money?? i'ld much rather have a 17inch lcd that has 1600x1200 res instead!
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938 (0.22/day)
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#6
On my 8ms i've never had a ghosting problem either which makes me wonder about these 2ms response times.... possibly just a ploy to get more money?? i'ld much rather have a 17inch lcd that has 1600x1200 res instead!
my 2 cents: I have no interest in a 1600x1200 LCD, because unless I have a 24in monitor, I'd never use that res for my desktop. Not to mention my graphics card won't play games at that res either. Considering that I'd need a $400 graphics card to run games at that res, I might as well wait till I can afford one of those and just buy at new monitor at the same time, which will cost less than the card.

:laugh: And I love my 2ms l33tness :roll:
<---------- 2ms fanboy
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#7
my 2 cents: I have no interest in a 1600x1200 LCD, because unless I have a 24in monitor, I'd never use that res for my desktop. Not to mention my graphics card won't play games at that res either. Considering that I'd need a $400 graphics card to run games at that res, I might as well wait till I can afford one of those and just buy at new monitor at the same time, which will cost less than the card.

:laugh: And I love my 2ms l33tness :roll:
<---------- 2ms fanboy
I play all my games at 1600x1200 full detail fine on my $45 x850xt. what the hell are you talking about? :confused:

and yes, that 2ms is calculated a different way than normal response times, iirc ;)
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
938 (0.22/day)
Likes
12
Location
Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Core i7-930 (D0) @ 4.0GHz (1.28v)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling CoolIT ECO-R120 Advanced Liquid Cooling w/ x2 Scythe ULTRA-KAZE 3000rpm | Scythe Master controller
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Redline - 6GB DDR3 @ 1910MHz 8-10-8-29
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 768MB 192-bit GDDR5
Storage RAID-0 w/ 2x OCZ Agility 2 SSD 90GB SATA II 3.5" (r4.6Gb/s w4.2Gb/s)
Display(s) ASUS VW266H - 26" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout | x2 120mm Scythe ULTRA-KAZE | 140mm Scythe Slipstream KAZE Maru2
Power Supply Thermaltake Black Widow TR2 RX - 850w
#8
I play all my games at 1600x1200 full detail fine on my $45 x850xt. what the hell are you talking about? :confused:
For F.E.A.R., Oblivion, Quake4, what's your average FPS at 1600x1200 maxed settings (ok, no v-sync) with that x850? Also, how much is it OC'd?

Perhaps we have different standards of minimum quality for gameplay. Personally, unless I can max or near max the settings, I prefer a lower resolution that will support more AA and AF. Also, I can't stand playing with anything under 60-70 fps min.


and yes, that 2ms is calculated a different way than normal response times, iirc ;)
yeah, it's only a true 5ms, but it's overdriven to 2ms...
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#9
Man my 15" crt is starting to fail on my now. I think i can see ghosting in it sometimes.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#10
For F.E.A.R., Oblivion, Quake4, what's your average FPS at 1600x1200 maxed settings (ok, no v-sync) with that x850? Also, how much is it OC'd?

Perhaps we have different standards of minimum quality for gameplay. Personally, unless I can max or near max the settings, I prefer a lower resolution that will support more AA and AF. Also, I can't stand playing with anything under 60-70 fps min.



yeah, it's only a true 5ms, but it's overdriven to 2ms...
60fps minimum for playability... quake 4 plays fine (almost beat it) I dont have FEAR, or oblivion, nor do I even plan on getting them. Same with CSS, HL2, or farcry. just a bit too overrated.. :wtf: I prefer games with content... of which oblivion is the only one that fits the bill :banghead:

I play WoW, Doom 3, Quake 4, Wolfenstein, CoD2, CoD, MOHAA, and UT at the moment though :p
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Curious bout vx922_x850xt_AMDathlonFX-51 Combo

60fps minimum for playability... quake 4 plays fine (almost beat it) I dont have FEAR, or oblivion, nor do I even plan on getting them. Same with CSS, HL2, or farcry. just a bit too overrated.. :wtf: I prefer games with content... of which oblivion is the only one that fits the bill :banghead:

I play WoW, Doom 3, Quake 4, Wolfenstein, CoD2, CoD, MOHAA, and UT at the moment though :p
heya dipp.. just like the title says.. im curious bout playing wow with that combo. i know athlon FX-51 sucks due to its 940 pins just in case you wanna say OMG!

the question is.. i set my wow, well of course, to vx922 native res 1280X1024 with 60Hz refresh rate. but how come i notice that the game doesnt run as smooth as my ex crt monitor?
its philips brilliance 107P 17"

this is especially noticeable during full av (40ally-40 hordes). when there are 50 toons on the screen my fps lag badly whereas with my prev crt tube its smooth as butter. so im wondering could my graphic card or cpu be the bottleneck?

what i mean by bottleneck is since the viewable area of 17" crt technically only 15.7" while vx922 truely 19". so i guess either the cpu or gpu is choked..

thanks for any tips you might share in advance! :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#12
heya dipp.. just like the title says.. im curious bout playing wow with that combo. i know athlon FX-51 sucks due to its 940 pins just in case you wanna say OMG!

the question is.. i set my wow, well of course, to vx922 native res 1280X1024 with 60Hz refresh rate. but how come i notice that the game doesnt run as smooth as my ex crt monitor?
its philips brilliance 107P 17"

this is especially noticeable during full av (40ally-40 hordes). when there are 50 toons on the screen my fps lag badly whereas with my prev crt tube its smooth as butter. so im wondering could my graphic card or cpu be the bottleneck?

what i mean by bottleneck is since the viewable area of 17" crt technically only 15.7" while vx922 truely 19". so i guess either the cpu or gpu is choked..

thanks for any tips you might share in advance! :toast:

I play regularly with the game topped out @ 1600x1200, and full detail with LOD off.. and I occasionally have a loading stutter, etc but thats just engine faults..

Framerates are fine for me, and I'm using a sempron 2800+.. overclocked it will be runnign 2400mhz, but I've even been running it stock for a while @ 1600mhz.. and it plays fine still.

However, I have NOT experienced any more of a unit load, higher than Zul Jin's usual stormwind crowds in town, as I have only done the deadmines for instances, not any large raids.


I also have a gig of ram.. which may be your bottleneck- I am usually around 78-80% ram usage when playing so if you have less than a GB of ram, it will be using a lot of page file.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
thx dipp.. i have 1 GB of ram too.. i tried tabbing out to windows while my toon standing still at IF auction ( possibly the most crowded spot lol) and i noticed wow app uses bout 600Meg. but i noticed my cpu usage history, under task manager, was running at 100% while in wow, tabbed out of it, and it droppped to roughly 10%.. i guess my cpu is the bottleneck lol :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#14
thx dipp.. i have 1 GB of ram too.. i tried tabbing out to windows while my toon standing still at IF auction ( possibly the most crowded spot lol) and i noticed wow app uses bout 600Meg. but i noticed my cpu usage history, under task manager, was running at 100% while in wow, tabbed out of it, and it droppped to roughly 10%.. i guess my cpu is the bottleneck lol :eek:
it should be at 100% ;) on my 1600mhz sempron it plays fine however.

hdd swapping a lot?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
it should be at 100% ;) on my 1600mhz sempron it plays fine however.

hdd swapping a lot?
nope no hdd swapping

here's another thing i noticed. when watching extreme high quality highly compressed anime like the world at http://www.za-warudo.com/ (xvid torrent for low quality, h264 for xtreme quality which require powerful rig)

with xvid, it plays fine on both my crt and lcd. with cpu usage 20-30% in crt, 40-60% lcd
with h264, plays fine on crt with cpu 60-90%, still fine no lag or frame skip. but with lcd cpu usage hits 95-100% frequently. when it hits 100% , the next 2 or 3 secs i'll experience frame skip though audio plays fine. so i get the feeling at least for this anime case. the cpu is badly choked
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#16
nope no hdd swapping

here's another thing i noticed. when watching extreme high quality highly compressed anime like the world at http://www.za-warudo.com/ (xvid torrent for low quality, h264 for xtreme quality which require powerful rig)

with xvid, it plays fine on both my crt and lcd. with cpu usage 20-30% in crt, 40-60% lcd
with h264, plays fine on crt with cpu 60-90%, still fine no lag or frame skip. but with lcd cpu usage hits 95-100% frequently. when it hits 100% , the next 2 or 3 secs i'll experience frame skip though audio plays fine. so i get the feeling at least for this anime case. the cpu is badly choked
Dunno.. if the crt plays fine and the LCD does not.. well... something's up with the LCD driver then lol :laugh: Shouldn't do that though..