• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung SSD Is More Reliable & Won't Degrade Overtime

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Hi guys,
So I am debating on getting the Samsung 830 256GB or the Crucial M4 256GB. I have read many reviews on both of the drives, but it just seems neck and neck. From what I've read, Samsung is using Toggle NAND which is the fastest and reliable. However, I have also read that as time past (maybe a year) the drive seems to degrade, meaning its read and write lowers. I have read rave reviews about the Crucial M4, but maybe it's because it is lower priced than the 830. The real question is will the 830 really degrade overtime? I have not read any reviews saying the M4 degrades in performance. Which one should I get? I just need some opinions.

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,572 (2.59/day)
Likes
5,976
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#2
The degradation with both is VERY low if you are using TRIM supported OS and TRIM is properly enabled.

Basically if you use either of these two SSD's, you have Windows 7, you have your SATA ports set to AHCI and you have all the chipset (and SATA) drivers properly installed you should be fine.
You can't go wrong with either of 'em. They are both very reliable, Samsung is slightly thinner and has a higher sequential write. But also costs slightly more (usually). So it's up to you really.
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.36/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#3
Pretty much what he said^^^
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
275 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor i5 4670K @4.4GHz 1.239V
Motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS
Cooling High Pressure Fan System
Memory 24GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 4GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 500gb WD Blue 7200rpm
Display(s) 23inch Dell LCD
Case Silverstone Sugo SG10B
Power Supply Antec TP-750
Software Windows 10
#4
I had the same debate and went for the 830256gb. Very nice drive.
I originally bought an intel 520 240gb but had serious issues with it right from installation.

My question is, because the m4 prices are crashing (£175 for 256gb on amazon), is it possible to raid the samsung and crucial together in raid 0?

I already run my setup in raid due to no AHCI option on motherboad
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,589
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
I had the same debate and went for the 830256gb. Very nice drive.
I originally bought an intel 520 240gb but had serious issues with it right from installation.

My question is, because the m4 prices are crashing (£175 for 256gb on amazon), is it possible to raid the samsung and crucial together in raid 0?

I already run my setup in raid due to no AHCI option on motherboad
That is because RAID != AHCI, they're not the same thing. You can either use AHCI or use RAID. I have two Force GTs in RAID-0 and it works great so far. Granted I haven't had it long enough to be able to tell if how the life of the SSD is impacted. Lack of TRIM doesn't appear to be an issue though.

Also it is mostly bragging rights considering two Force GTs just hit 1gb/s at larger block sizes. It really isn't necessary and Windows won't boot much faster in RAID-0, other things will bottleneck the boot process.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
275 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor i5 4670K @4.4GHz 1.239V
Motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS
Cooling High Pressure Fan System
Memory 24GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 4GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 500gb WD Blue 7200rpm
Display(s) 23inch Dell LCD
Case Silverstone Sugo SG10B
Power Supply Antec TP-750
Software Windows 10
#6
That is because RAID != AHCI, they're not the same thing. You can either use AHCI or use RAID. I have two Force GTs in RAID-0 and it works great so far. Granted I haven't had it long enough to be able to tell if how the life of the SSD is impacted. Lack of TRIM doesn't appear to be an issue though.

Also it is mostly bragging rights considering two Force GTs just hit 1gb/s at larger block sizes. It really isn't necessary and Windows won't boot much faster in RAID-0, other things will bottleneck the boot process.
What I meant was my motherboard is set to use RAID but I don't have my drives set up in an array, which is the same as AHCI
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,728 (4.18/day)
Likes
26,195
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#7
I own the 830 256gb and think its great. In my research prior to buying, I read many great reviews about the Samsung and did not hear about performance degradation, quite the contrary. But I have read and heard about SF based drives suffering performance degradation, multiple times. If you have the money for it, swing for Samsung
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,589
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
What I meant was my motherboard is set to use RAID but I don't have my drives set up in an array, which is the same as AHCI
Not all RAID controllers in RAID mode will pass AHCI commands like TRIM, even if the disk is not in RAID. That is what I was trying to get at because my motherboards will actually change to an AHCI driver if I choose AHCI, or a RAID driver if I choose RAID. So just because you can use 1 disk in RAID mode doesn't mean it's running AHCI.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
352 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#10
Hi guys,
So I am debating on getting the Samsung 830 256GB or the Crucial M4 256GB. I have read many reviews on both of the drives, but it just seems neck and neck. From what I've read, Samsung is using Toggle NAND which is the fastest and reliable. However, I have also read that as time past (maybe a year) the drive seems to degrade, meaning its read and write lowers. I have read rave reviews about the Crucial M4, but maybe it's because it is lower priced than the 830. The real question is will the 830 really degrade overtime? I have not read any reviews saying the M4 degrades in performance. Which one should I get? I just need some opinions.

Thanks
Performance degradation, specifically write, comes from the drive becoming full, the drive has to re-arrange blocks of data more frequently before it can write, which is why the TRIM command is needed to help keep an SSD running efficiently by telling the drive which blocks are no longer needed so they can be erased, it's also why manufacturers recommend performing a Secure Erase on SSD's to return the drives performance back to specification, though that just tells the drive that it is empty and doesn't actually overwrite any data, usually.

Thanks for the input guys. But now the problem I am facing is whether to get the 830 or m4 because I found both at almost the same price. Based on the review here --> http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/storage/samsung_830_sata3_ssd_256gb_review/4 the m4 seems to outbeat the 830 in about every benchmark. Opinions are greatfully appreciated.


M4: $218
830: $220

Thanks
Personally I would go with the 830, the performance difference between the two probably wouldn't be noticeable and Samsung has its own software suite to help manage and update the SSD. Also a couple more reviews LegitReviews.com and StorageReview.com which show the drives going back and forth.

Not all RAID controllers in RAID mode will pass AHCI commands like TRIM, even if the disk is not in RAID. That is what I was trying to get at because my motherboards will actually change to an AHCI driver if I choose AHCI, or a RAID driver if I choose RAID. So just because you can use 1 disk in RAID mode doesn't mean it's running AHCI.
It should be noted that AHCI is generally enabled with RAID and that Intel recommends enabling RAID on their motherboards, specifically, for the best "flexibility and upgradeability". Also IRST drivers include AHCI and RAID support, so as long as your drivers are up to date and you're in RAID mode you should still have AHCI.