• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sandy Bridge Build - won't boot and help needed

hun77777

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
97 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
#1
ok i don't know if this is right section. mod feel free to move around if it's not.

i got a upgrade itch for this spring so i decided to try a SB setup. i bought following used parts on onilne forum all of which had decent heatware etc.

2600k
8gb corsair xms cl9 2000mhz
asus MIVE board

i had previously x58 setup (i7-950, evga board and 12gb hyperx ram) running with ocz ssd and seagate hdd.


ok when i fired up the SB setup, it says, "no hard disk". i do nothing, and it trys to go to windows but as soon as windows logo on black back ground screen goes away, couputer goes BSOD. it does boot to bios just fine and i can do all the UFI settings there but it just won't boot.

on bios, it does list all the hard drive. i even tried to connect one SATA cable to my main ssd on SATA III and SATA II each but still no luck and shuts off with BSOD.

i tried loading default, still doesn't work. and after few hours of run around, i gave up for now and switch back to my good old x58 setup. everything works just the way it was.

now i don't know if it's the board that's faulty or the cpu or both. can somebody shed some lights on this?

i didn't even try to overclock or anything. it just doesn't boot period... this is very frustrating especially lack of computer skills...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,468 (10.09/day)
Likes
18,146
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
If you're using your Windows install from your previous setup that is your problem.
 

hun77777

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
97 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
#3
i'm not trying to install windows. when i connect my harddrive to my new SB mobo/cpu/ram setup, it just doesn't go into windows. trys on my old x58 setup, it boots right up so i don't know what i'm missing here...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,468 (10.09/day)
Likes
18,146
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
i'm not trying to install windows. when i connect my harddrive to my new SB mobo/cpu/ram setup, it just doesn't go into windows. trys on my old x58 setup, it boots right up so i don't know what i'm missing here...
Yes, that is your problem. With your new hardware you will need to install Windows again. It's trying to load the drivers for your other hardware from your X58 setup and giving you BSOD's from driver/registry/etc. conflicts.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#5
When you switch platforms, x58 to p67 or the like, you pretty much need to reinstall windows.

The uefi sees the disk just fine right?
You have your boot order setup right, so that its booting off the disk and not trying to do some network boot thing only? (its happened to me before!)

Sometimes you get lucky if you don't, but thats the exception rather than the rule.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#6
Typically when switching platforms all you need to do is go into msconfig and remove everything from start up. That frees up all the driver issues and lets the OS reconfigure itself. If the old install was in ide mode though that may complicate it.
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#7
poor bastard is going to lose all his stuff :p
 
Last edited:

hun77777

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
Messages
97 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
#8
i feel dumbfounded. after all these years, i never actually had to re-install windows due to hardware conflict like this. oh well, i guess gotta try that tomorrow...
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#9
Let us know how it goes!