• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Saphhire hd7850 bottleneck

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#26
Yes but the OP came here for our help not Google's. So I have given my help. What has happened to TPU? I mean this is just getting worse and worse! All we tend to do now is tell people to Google it. If this is the case then TPU should just close!
This place was great once we all help each other we had fun and now it is just getting pathetic. No wonder so many have left and not come back. Before you ban me erocker know this you used to be the one I looked forward to hearing from. I really respected your help and what you had to say. You were very informative and hell I even took every thing you ever told me and put it into use. What has happened to you? GOOGLE? I am going to take your post privileges away? All these threats and all the hate. DUDE I do not see any fun any more. DO you need a break?
Sorry for my rant but I really needed to get that out and not in a PM others needed to hear this! :respect: I want my friend erocker back. :cry:
Ugh... The fact of the matter is, the answer has been given in this thread over and over again already. I posted the google search link to show that it has been answered elsewhere over and over again. Your attitude and drama around here has been nothing but disruptive and irritating. The only reason I came into this thread was because of your poor behavior and having to deal with it. You need a break as you cannot seem to stay on topic, insult others and when someone points this out to you, you try to turn it around onto them. Enough is enough.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,477 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#27
Like others have said your system is all good apart from the lack of Memory. Honestly 4GB would be enough i would think.

Now correct me if im wrong but even if you install more then 4GB of memory on a 32bit system it will still use that memory but it just wont address it?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#28
Wow. I can't really follow this thread at all apparently due to editing...but I would like to try to help.

I would say the "minimum" for an acceptable playing experience would be 4gb on a 64bit system so video memory and ram don't trade-off, with 8gb being the "sweet spot" for a gaming system especially with BF3.

Keep in mind everyone's "acceptable" playable performance varies.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#29
It is best to have more then 4GB of RAM in a gaming system. Games are memory hungry and if you plan on running a game while having anything else open, specially a browser with 20 tabs.

Having a 64 bit OS is very much needed for this. No sense on getting a 32 bit OS in this day and age, specially for a gaming system. That would be holding your system back.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#30
You definitely need more RAM FOR BF3. I think the advice Trickson orginally gave is spot on, with the addition of 64 bit OS.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
246 (0.13/day)
Likes
18
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name Lenovo Z480
Processor Core i7 - 3612QM ~ 2.1GHz
Memory 8GB DDR3/L (mixed) 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GT 640m (2GB GDDR3 ver, stock clocks)
Storage 500Gb
#31
Well it still depends on OP if he wants 8GB or just sit happy with 4GB. If it were me I'd buy a 4GB first then test it out, and if it seems lacking I'll just but another 4GB. Though getting a 64Bit OS now would help
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
50 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Juiz de Fora - MG / Brazil
System Name Mec Machine
Processor Core i5 2500K @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Antec 620 Kuhler
Memory 2x 2GB Adata 1333 @ 1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon HD 7970
Storage Seagate 1TB 7200.12 / OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
Display(s) LG LCD W1942SB 19'' 1680x1050
Case Thermaltake Commander
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 3R System Iceage 450w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#32
I have 4 gigs (2x 2gb) and even with a high end video card, I can't see any bottleneck on my system.

In the past few days i've played Max Payne 3, MOH: Warfighter, F1 2012, Alan Wake, and the old MMORPG Lineage II, and all of them ran smoothly smooth.

The more RAM you have, more the system will cache it, giving you the same sensation: "OMG 85% of my RAM is being used!11!1!! I NEED 64GB STICKS!1!1!!! 4 OF THEM!1!!!!11! "

8GB is nice and give you some flexibility, but 4GB is enough for any kind of workload.
 

Zero wolf

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#33
First i owe you guys an apology for not replaying so long.

Second i'd like to thank you for yor replyes they were very helpful so thanks:toast:

Anyway i got the radeon i was asking about and im very pleased with it. I can max out everything except assassin's creed 3 is sometimes (usualy in cities and dense forest) runing on low fps (lowest 15, highest 30) according to fraps. If i decrease the enviroment quality setting to high i get around 6 fps more so as you guys already discussed it i probably need at least 4gb of ram but i'm aiming at 8 gb (2x4gb) just to be sure. ATM i'm loking at some CPU overclocking guides soo...

Thanks again for the help you guys:rockout:
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,516 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,272
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#34
What are you smoking?:slap:
I think you puff puffed and didnt pass in your time with these comments...

Negative on that too.:slap:
I couldnt run this game well with 4GB/1080p/Ultra either. It paged out a ton and caused some hitching... Went to 8GB and its gone. Now, lower res, and lower settings that could help but full tilt it was a painful experience for me. 32bit OS as Im sure you know can only see 4GB (with less available). So while its not a requirement, you should should have it so you can use 8GB. :toast:


EDIT: What a cluster...perhaps I should read past what I quoted, LOL! But I guess that happens when people post BS. Looks like the OP was taken care of, so that is what matters.
 
Last edited: