• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire 4890 vapor-x DOA???

W

warlock

Guest
#1
After installing card, my system will not recognize that the card is installed. Removed new 4890 reinstalled 3870 that been in my system for a while everything works normal. Installed new 4890 a 2nd time and used an old pci card so I could see if system was working properly. Checked BIOS PCIx is still set as primary card, skips the new 4890 and loads old pci card. Once Vista starts I go to Device manager, vista only see's standard VGA adapter. The new card is powered and fan is on. Any suggestions or just rma the thing?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#2
I guess you plugged in the power leads ? Wow , bad luck !
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor AMD Phenom X4 945 Revision C3 (3.72 GHZ)
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper N 520 RR-920-N520-GP
Memory Crucial Ballistix Smart Tracer 4x2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD-477A-YDFC Radeon HD 4770
Storage C300 64GB RealSSD, WD2500AAJS-00L740, WD5000AADS-11M2B2
Display(s) Acer X193W+BD Black 19"
Case Modded, Clear Plexiglass side with decals, held in place with velcro
Audio Device(s) 7.1 onboard
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-600MA1S 600W
Software Windows 7 X64
Benchmark Scores 7.3 WEI
#3
if it says that in device manager, have you installed the latest drivers?
 
W

warlock

Guest
#4
Yeah installed drivers and both six pin power, My PSU is an apevia 680w and I tried both plugs by themselves on my 3870 all OK!
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,168 (0.57/day)
Likes
897
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage Intel 600p NVMe 512GB for OS , 1TB WD Black and a 4TB Toshiba
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G403 wired
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
Any lights on the card lighting up?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor AMD Phenom X4 945 Revision C3 (3.72 GHZ)
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper N 520 RR-920-N520-GP
Memory Crucial Ballistix Smart Tracer 4x2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD-477A-YDFC Radeon HD 4770
Storage C300 64GB RealSSD, WD2500AAJS-00L740, WD5000AADS-11M2B2
Display(s) Acer X193W+BD Black 19"
Case Modded, Clear Plexiglass side with decals, held in place with velcro
Audio Device(s) 7.1 onboard
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-600MA1S 600W
Software Windows 7 X64
Benchmark Scores 7.3 WEI
#6
not sounding good as far as the DOA goes then :(, but it does show upside device manager, do you have another computer to test it on?, maybe on different OS as well?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,168 (0.57/day)
Likes
897
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage Intel 600p NVMe 512GB for OS , 1TB WD Black and a 4TB Toshiba
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G403 wired
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
Also did you clean with a driver cleaner before you installed the new card?? Always clean drivers from registry before installing new ones or you will run into trouble everytime guaranteed especially with ati.

EDIT: Dont assume the worst yet.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor AMD Phenom X4 945 Revision C3 (3.72 GHZ)
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling COOLER MASTER Hyper N 520 RR-920-N520-GP
Memory Crucial Ballistix Smart Tracer 4x2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD-477A-YDFC Radeon HD 4770
Storage C300 64GB RealSSD, WD2500AAJS-00L740, WD5000AADS-11M2B2
Display(s) Acer X193W+BD Black 19"
Case Modded, Clear Plexiglass side with decals, held in place with velcro
Audio Device(s) 7.1 onboard
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-600MA1S 600W
Software Windows 7 X64
Benchmark Scores 7.3 WEI
#8
Also did you clean with a driver cleaner before you installed the new card?? Always clean drivers from registry before installing new ones or you will run into trouble everytime guaranteed especially with ati.
amen
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,790 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,190
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
if the card was DOA it wouldn't allow the machine to boot, btw you make sure you have external PCI Express Power Hooked up to the card?
Re-seat the card as well.

Also when it comes down to if the card needs a RMA, Sapphire is pretty quick on doing so when you provide info and the request.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,168 (0.57/day)
Likes
897
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage Intel 600p NVMe 512GB for OS , 1TB WD Black and a 4TB Toshiba
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G403 wired
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
W

warlock

Guest
#11
Just tried driver sweeper and reinstalling drivers , Even catalyst install Can't see the card, say's no devices available on my system!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,790 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,190
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
Since you are running windows Vista, may i suggest you try to do the manual install thru device manager since it seems the driver program is not detecting the board properly, also did you make sure to get the drivers specific to your setup, whether its vista 64 or 32. TBH i think the cat Vista setup is a PITA.
 
W

warlock

Guest
#13
"IT LIVES" thanks everyone for not letting me give up so easy. I do believe it was the drivers, I followed Graigelberry's link on how to reinstall drivers. The one item I hadn't removed was Rivatuner, I suspect this because before when I started up the fan was cranked. Now it's only about 40% that speed! On to testing!!
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
2,168 (0.57/day)
Likes
897
Location
Australia
System Name All Ryze
Processor Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Pro Carbon
Cooling Air
Memory G-skill Flare x 16GB 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1080
Storage Intel 600p NVMe 512GB for OS , 1TB WD Black and a 4TB Toshiba
Display(s) AOC Q3279VWF
Case Phanteks
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Mouse Logitech G403 wired
Keyboard G19
Software Win 10 Pro
#14
I am glad you got it going warlock. I have had them issues before I learnt that I had to remove drivers properly.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,790 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,190
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
Driver Sweeper and Drivercleaner Pro are the best bets for removing a mass load of Driver related code, course when you go to reinstall, make sure your not plugged into the net as MS will try to download drivers for you (XP is known to phone home, im sure it applies to anything later aswell)