• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

sapphire 7870 XT with boost voltage locked.

Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Processor 2500K @ 4.4
Motherboard asrock extrteame 3 gen 3
Cooling moded AC Freezer Xtreme.
Memory g.akill ripjaw X 1866 8gb
Video Card(s) 280X
Case CM HAF 922
#1
hello, I've being trying to overclock the card, and i stopped at 1140 to the core, then i've downloaded the newest trixx that says its support voltage tweaking for the 7870 xt (tahiti le core), but when i change the voltage nothing happened. the voltage stays the same and i still cant get over 1140 to the core without artifacts. the asic of the core is 66.7%, witch isn't great. but the temps are good, 65-68 gaming. and i am sure that with more voltage i could of got at least 50 MHz more out of the core.
the voltage is 1.25 idle and 1.87 (gpu-z) while gaming.
the card have dual bios and I've tried them both. same thing happens.
i was thinking to flash to another bios, maybe 7950 or 7970, but didnt know witch bios to choose, and asking for advise. and maybe an software solution.

tnaks for the help :)
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,565 (0.49/day)
Likes
542
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#2
Do not flash your card with 7950 or 7970 bios or you will end up with a brick.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Processor 2500K @ 4.4
Motherboard asrock extrteame 3 gen 3
Cooling moded AC Freezer Xtreme.
Memory g.akill ripjaw X 1866 8gb
Video Card(s) 280X
Case CM HAF 922
#3
are you sure about this?
i have read about people flashing theirs 7950 with 7970 bios, and it went fine.
its the same concept. the 7870xt is basically a stripped down 7950. and anyway i have dual bios on the card, so it wont brick completely. just waste one bios.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#4
If you do not have the voltage adjustment option in Trixx that would suggest to me that you have a non reference card without a programmable voltage controller, if that is the case then it is unlikely that you will be able to flash the card to 7950/7970.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,565 (0.49/day)
Likes
542
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#5
Well as far as i know almost all 7950/7970 have 3gig of ram on them where as the 7870xt has 2gig
Ram volts and timings could be totaly diffrent so its upto you but its something i would not risk just because i wanted an extra 50mhz that will relate into maybe 2/3fps in 99% of games.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Processor 2500K @ 4.4
Motherboard asrock extrteame 3 gen 3
Cooling moded AC Freezer Xtreme.
Memory g.akill ripjaw X 1866 8gb
Video Card(s) 280X
Case CM HAF 922
#6
it has voltage control that goes up to 1.3.
I've tried again now. and when the voltage set on 1.3. its 1.28 in idle. and 1.23 while gaming (tried force voltage control, but does nothing), and still cant go farther then 1140 in heaven without artifecting.

well i guess i just got a below average card, but still, the temps are great. would love to try giving it 1.35.

but then again, don't really wanna to be the Guinea pig for 7950/70 flashing on this card :p

thanks again. almost flashed it, could of voided the warranty. ;-)
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#7
It would be interesting to see how your XT @ 1140 performs in relation to my standard 7870 @ 1300mhz. So basically no matter what voltage you give it you cannot get past 1140..... does that apply to games as well?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Processor 2500K @ 4.4
Motherboard asrock extrteame 3 gen 3
Cooling moded AC Freezer Xtreme.
Memory g.akill ripjaw X 1866 8gb
Video Card(s) 280X
Case CM HAF 922
#8
OK. some new development.
I've noticed that while the core was sitting in a comfortable 65 degrees. the vrams were at 88.
so I've pushed the fan to 100% (vrams got to 55 degrees) and got to 1170 without artifacts in heaven.
here is my 3dmark in 1140 mhz.
and still artifacting in heaven at 1180 MHz (no artifacts in tomb rider at 1180).

would love giving it more then real (gpu-z) 1.23 vcore.

edit: i was premature, artifacting at 1170 MHz in heaven even when fan on 100%, just needed to give it a little time. gonna stay on 1140. the diffrence dosnt worth it. (got 9149 3dmark 11 on 1170).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#9
did you by any chance enable AMD overdrive as that caused this same issue with my sapphire 7970 vapor-x set voltage to 1.256v was running at 1.1v. This is because AMD Overdrive has voltage control priority. If that doesn't help try different overclocking software like AB.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Processor 2500K @ 4.4
Motherboard asrock extrteame 3 gen 3
Cooling moded AC Freezer Xtreme.
Memory g.akill ripjaw X 1866 8gb
Video Card(s) 280X
Case CM HAF 922
#10
the only software that can change voltages on the 7870XT is trixx, I've tried MSI AB, but it don't support the card yet. and didn't touche the AMD Overdrive at all. even the power limit was done by trixx.
tried 1.256 just for sport and gpu-z shows 1.201 in msi kombastor and 1.197 in heaven. 1.24 idle.

thanks for trying ;-)
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#11
try using an actual game. Though it looks like you might need to bios flash try get the powercolor/vtx3d/club3d 7870XT bios. You should also think about the fact that AMD GPUs have a really hard time holding voltage so try 1.3v settings it might just get you to a load voltage of 1.256v