• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SAPPHIRE 7950 need bios asap

Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ireland
#1
My BIOS was 810mhz core all the faster bios's from sapphire on the collection here seemed to brick it including the 810.

Can someone gpu-z the bios for me and put it up here or email it to me for backup.

PN: 299-1E207-100SA

http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1157&pid=1442&psn=&lid=1&leg=0

can someone give me a link to an upload for this particular model or its rma time as the 925 bios has been blanking the screen on me so just want original, a guy was supposed to send me one before but never did.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#2
I've got the Flex Dual X bios but that's clocked at 860mhz core, 1250mhz memory. Let me know if you'd like to try that.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ireland
#3
I've got the Flex Dual X bios but that's clocked at 860mhz core, 1250mhz memory. Let me know if you'd like to try that.
hi yea i wouldn't mind i see an 850 on collection, the 925 was working ok for a long while has started randomly going blank dunno is card wrecked from higher clocks, all other bios except the 925 dont work from collection.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
A link to your exact card would help.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#5
Here's a picky of GPU-Z


Bios attached.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ireland
#7
@Techtu
Cheers mate the 860 worked just hope it stops it crashing, i think the 860 might have the same pcb, this should be upped to the collection. temps have dropped also.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#8
Cheers mate the 860 worked just hope it stops it crashing, i think the 860 might have the same pcb, this should be upped to the collection.
I did try uploading it to the TPU collection but it's already there it say's, so wouldn't let me finish uploading.


Glad to help.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#10
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ireland
#11
i can understand the ones that have the 8+6 not working, it should go up as an option, temps have gone from 40's to low 30's, hopefully it dont crash again lol.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#13
I'd also like to add that hdmi output is working as it was not before and it is still working...Big UP to Techtu once again.
Was all this on the official bios or after you started flashing your card?
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ireland
#14
I was trying the other sapphire bios's with no luck then resorted to the amd 925 I had accidentally flashed both bios's(noob move).
The 925 did work for a good while I only noticed hdmi was not working last week and the capacitors got noisy under load.

I have an earlier post where I had it working.

The 860 is stable as can be and has given no trouble since I put it on thank you
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#15
neoguyver1

What do you use to flash your bios? I started a thread about wanting to flash my card and someone mentioned it couldn't be done with my specific card?

I'm asking you as you have a Sapphire card too so maybe you can enlighten me a little. :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#16
neoguyver1

What do you use to flash your bios? I started a thread about wanting to flash my card and someone mentioned it couldn't be done with my specific card?

I'm asking you as you have a Sapphire card too so maybe you can enlighten me a little. :)
Hi

I did not say it cannot be flashed, I said that you cannot use RBE to edit/modify the vga bios on the HD 7xxxx Series, please try not to miss quote in future.

Source: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=176128

Looking at your GPU-Z screen the vga card has already got high core and mem - not sure you will find a bios with those spec's & as mentioned editing is out of the picture.
5tu.png



alway make a backup of the vga bios before flashing

Example [Save to file]

Extract vga bios.jpg

Edit: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles//overclocking/vidcard/34/8
..............................................................................................................
Note: things to research before flashing [bricking a vga bios; blind flashing]

Tools you require to flash a vga card

Note: AMD recommended putting the bios switch at #1 for the recent bios update [CHECK with sapphiretech first]

EDIT: How to make a bootable flash drive

go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21

grab- HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Memory stick is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process

grab the latest version of atiflash here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2166/ATIFlash_3.99.html

next

Bios's in the database http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...ufacturer=&model=HD+7950&interface=&memSize=0

next

Put atiflash.exe and the bios on a USB key.

Set bios to boot from USB key.

At command prompt type in:

type c:\atiflash -i [this will show you the vga adapter information]

c:\atiflash -f -p 0 "biosname.rom" and hit enter.

Note: bios flashing should only be done as a last resort; when all other avenues have been exhausted

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#17
Hi

I did not say it cannot be flashed, I said that you cannot use RBE to edit/modify the vga bios on the HD 7xxxx Series, please try not to miss quote in future.

Source: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=176128

alway make a backup of the vga bios before flashing

Example [Save to file]

View attachment 49200

..............................................................................................................
Note: things to research before flashing [bricking a vga bios; blind flashing]

Tools you require to flash a vga card

Note: AMD recommended putting the bios switch at #1 for the recent bios update [CHECK with sapphiretech first]

EDIT: How to make a bootable flash drive

go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21

grab- HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Memory stick is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process

grab the latest version of atiflash here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2166/ATIFlash_3.99.html

next

Bios's in the database http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...ufacturer=&model=HD+7950&interface=&memSize=0

next

Put atiflash.exe and the bios on a USB key.

Set bios to boot from USB key.

At command prompt type in:

type c:\atiflash -i [this will show you the vga adapter information]

c:\atiflash -f -p 0 "biosname.rom" and hit enter.

Note: bios flashing should only be done as a last resort; when all other avenues have been exhausted

atb (all the best)

Law-II
Hey man, I'm sorry I misread you. You shouldn't bash me for being a total noob about it though, I feel tiny right now :ohwell:


I have no real clue on any how to about flashing VGA's, I know the pro's and con's to it and it is a matter of personal preference really but I want to go ahead and give it a try.

Thank you for your advice I do appreciate it.

:toast:
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#18
Hey man, I'm sorry I misread you. You shouldn't bash me for being a total noob about it though, I feel tiny right now :ohwell:


I have no real clue on any how to about flashing VGA's, I know the pro's and con's to it and it is a matter of personal preference really but I want to go ahead and give it a try.

Thank you for your advice I do appreciate it.

:toast:
Hi

Sorry; I did not mean to make you feel "tiny right now" Edit: this was not my intention; Just wanted you to have the right tools and knowledge

Edit: just a suggestion, maybe pickup an HD 5850 or HD 5870 second hand to practice on

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#19
Thanks again.

The main reason I want to flash my bios is because I struggle to get anything higher than 940mhz on the core and 1350mhz on the memory. I know these cards can do more - so ofcourse I want more :p