• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire 7950 vapor x dedicated memory showing zero

Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,396 (0.77/day)
Likes
942
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#1
Hello everyone. I ve searching net but I couldnt see any solution or reason as to why my dedicated memory is always zero.... see screen shot...

whenever I play.. or put some load on the GPU always dedicated memory always stay zero... only the dynamic memory



I already disable the onboard graphic..... uninstall Lucid Virtu... still stay at zero

my specs:

Asrock z77 Professional
Vapor x 7950 boost edition
Windows 8 64
i7 3770k
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#2
This is normal behavior in windows 8:)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,396 (0.77/day)
Likes
942
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#3
Thanks Math but could you please explain more? I dont exactly get what you mean "normal" behavior in windows 8
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#4
I noticed the same thing as you with windows 8 but its not a problem at all so i woulden't worry about it to much.

One thing i can sugest if you want to see GPU memory usage is to download the catzilla beta 12 benchmark as it shows how much GPU memory its using. At one point it was using 1643Mb's in my tests :)

The reason i say to use the beta 12 version is because the beta 15 dosen't show the same info as its no longer in dev mode if that makes sense.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#5
Well, I havent got a detailed explaination yet myself, the difference might aswell be completely artificial because of some semi-incompatibility between win8 and GPU-Z compared to win7 and GPU-Z.

What appears to be the case now, is that GPU-Z shows the dedicated memory useage of the GPU as dynamic(maybe because of some updated memory hierarchy where windows8 can more actively manage the dedicated mem of the graphics card, just throwing some random ideas around)

It would be awesome if someone with more knowledge about the subject could offer a more detailed insight into this discrepancy at some point, but for now, I wouldnt worry:)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,396 (0.77/day)
Likes
942
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#6
I noticed the same thing as you with windows 8 but its not a problem at all so i woulden't worry about it to much.

One thing i can sugest if you want to see GPU memory usage is to download the catzilla beta 12 benchmark as it shows how much GPU memory its using. At one point it was using 1643Mb's in my tests :)

The reason i say to use the beta 12 version is because the beta 15 dosen't show the same info as its no longer in dev mode if that makes sense.

Oh well I was relieved now... well thats ok.. maybe i will try that catzilla maybe not.. I just worried about I had a faulty GPU but it is running well with Max payne and Hitman Absolution..

Well, I havent got a detailed explaination yet myself, the difference might aswell be completely artificial because of some semi-incompatibility between win8 and GPU-Z compared to win7 and GPU-Z.

What appears to be the case now, is that GPU-Z shows the dedicated memory useage of the GPU as dynamic(maybe because of some updated memory hierarchy where windows8 can more actively manage the dedicated mem of the graphics card, just throwing some random ideas around)

It would be awesome if someone with more knowledge about the subject could offer a more detailed insight into this discrepancy at some point, but for now, I wouldnt worry:)
Thanks mate.. thanks you guys youre both awesome.. :pimp:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#7
You defo don't have anything to worry about its just a windows 8 thing when it comes to GPU-z :D
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#8
I have the same issue over here and just like others have stated it is nothing to worry about, at all. :)