• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4890 - 3D problem

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi alll,

Today i received my new Sapphire HD4890 card. I build it in immediately and wanted to play a game. I started with Sacred 2, put all video settings to the max and prepared myself to be blown away by stunning graphics! But all i got were some strange 3d geometry figures flashing through the screen...





I thought, well maybe it's the game, so i installed dead space (A 3d shooter). But this time i didn't even get past the intro screen :S



The installation guide for the card was very short so maybe i should switch some 3D support setting or something? Any help would be gladly appreciated! :)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Did you completely uninstall previous video drivers?
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#4
Yes, The 4800 series Catalyst won't work with a 4890. I experienced that myself. Completely remove any drivers, and donwload the 4890s Catalyst.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#5

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Thnx for the fast reply guys!

I uninstalled my Nvidia drivers before installing the drivers for the 4890. Although i just used the control panel in vista for that and i didn't cleaned my registry.

Yes, The 4800 series Catalyst won't work with a 4890. I experienced that myself. Completely remove any drivers, and donwload the 4890s Catalyst.
The only drivers i have are those supplied with the card. I tried to find new drivers, but both the AMD / ATI as the sapphire site do not list any drivers for the 4890 :confused:

http://support.amd.com/us/Pages/drivers.aspx

http://www1.sapphiretech.com/us/support/drivers.php
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#7

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
Those really look like hardware artifacting to me guys.

Is the fan spinning on the card? what powersupply do you have?
 

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Click your way thru here: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

Select your OS, then the Radeon series and then on top are the 4890 drivers.
Did it, but no improvement :(

I now have Driver version: 8.60
Catalyst version: 9.4

Those really look like hardware artifacting to me guys.

Is the fan spinning on the card? what powersupply do you have?
The fan is spinning and power supply shouldn't be a problem. I bought a new Coolermaster 620 just for this card.

But if it are hardware problems, perhaps i should contact the vendor? I checked on internet, and it looks like this is not a common problem. Is there someway to determine if it is a hardware of a driver problem?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#10
Does it artifact right after you enter an intro screen or menu? Or does it take a few seconds or a minute or two before it starts artifacting?
 

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Does it artifact right after you enter an intro screen or menu? Or does it take a few seconds or a minute or two before it starts artifacting?
No it is immediately. It is also pretty steady, i only get the flickering when something moves. In the intro screen of sacred 2, i always get the same image (see above). In the intro screen of dead space there is a 3D scene playing in the background that causes continuous strange colors and geomerty flickering in the screen.

Hope this helpes a bit?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#12
No it is immediately. It is also pretty steady, i only get the flickering when something moves. In the intro screen of sacred 2, i always get the same image (see above). In the intro screen of dead space there is a 3D scene playing in the background that causes continuous strange colors and geomerty flickering in the screen.

Hope this helpes a bit?
Yes, well I can only point fingers at the moment.. so

it could be your driver and configurations..
if its a hardware related problem and you've done everything you can do to troubleshoot your settings, configs, drivers via OS and BIOS then i suggest you don't look any further and get warranty straight away.

Just get a quick product swap from where you bought it imo, I'm guessing its less than a week old for sure so you should do it while you have the chance and refrain from flashing the bios or reseating the heatsink in anyway, think about it this way, you didn't buy it for artifacts ;/, I'd complain and make them pay for shipping!! :mad:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
Did it, but no improvement :(

I now have Driver version: 8.60
Catalyst version: 9.4



The fan is spinning and power supply shouldn't be a problem. I bought a new Coolermaster 620 just for this card.

But if it are hardware problems, perhaps i should contact the vendor? I checked on internet, and it looks like this is not a common problem. Is there someway to determine if it is a hardware of a driver problem?
I dont know anything about that powersupply, and since you havent deigned to tell us your system specs, i have no idea if its sufficient. At this point i'm thinking PSU problem, overheating card, or faulty card.
 

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
I'm sorry, these are my specs:

E8500 Dual core, 3.17Ghz processor
4,00GB DDR2 memory
Windows Vista 64bit
MSI P45 Neo3 Motherboard
620Watt Coolermaster PCU
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4890

I just tried some other 3D things:
Futuremark - 3D mark vantage (came with my card), had an incredible low score (only 6058), but no weird things in the renderings.
Quake 4 - played over 30 minutes with highest settings, works perfect!

....

Now i absolutely have no clue what the problem could be :s If it was a hardware problem I should have those problems also with quake and the benchmark right?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
yes, if it was hardware nothing should work.

The low score makes me wonder if the cards dropping into 2D mode due to overheating.. Try running furmark, and seeing what temperatures show up.
 

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
Stability test, Xtreme burning mode off

72degrees after 90seconds.


Stability test, Xtreme burning mode on

Around 77degrees after 90minutes

At least the fan works, it started to produce noticeable sound when temperature got above 70degrees.


Benchmark results:



Will do the stability test for some time longer, see how it goes.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
i assume you meant 90 seconds.

Run it for 5 minutes or so - just make sure theres no graphical anomalies in the furry doughnut.

if your card can handle furmark, the card is definately note faulty.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#18
Didn't ATI's drivers "detect" when Furmark was being run and performed below specs or something?

Try changing the name of the prog from "Furmark.exe" to ... "Fur.exe" and run it again: does it now show any artifacts?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#19
Didn't ATI's drivers "detect" when Furmark was being run and performed below specs or something?

Try changing the name of the prog from "Furmark.exe" to ... "Fur.exe" and run it again: does it now show any artifacts?
the latest furmark has the name of the exe changed already.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#20
the latest furmark has the name of the exe changed already.
Really? Was un-aware of this: nevermind, then.

Still, wasn't that Furmark score supposed to be much higher?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
Really? Was un-aware of this: nevermind, then.

Still, wasn't that Furmark score supposed to be much higher?
thats why i want longer, to see temps. Its possible his video card is overheating, and dropping to 2D clocks (and its stable in 2D, but not 3D)
 

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
I ran it for 750secs (no Xtreme burning mode) this time the temperature didn't got above 72degrees. So no overheating i think. Also there we're no artifacts during rendering.

Should i try it again with xtreme burning on?
 

PrayeR

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
Tried it again and changed the name furMark.exe to fur.exe.

This time test duration was 5minutes, max temperature was 87degrees (pretty steady the last 2 minutes). But also the starting temperature was already 70degrees this time against 60 in previous test.

Btw, I am using two monitors on my computer, i don't know it that has any impact?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#24
Tried it again and changed the name furMark.exe to fur.exe.

This time test duration was 5minutes, max temperature was 87degrees (pretty steady the last 2 minutes). But also the starting temperature was already 70degrees this time against 60 in previous test.

Btw, I am using two monitors on my computer, i don't know it that has any impact?
Well have you tried using 1 monitor? If your card works with furmark and quake 4 100% normal then I can't see it as being a hardware problem just like Mussels stated.

I bet it has something to do with drivers and dual screening.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,116 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#25
yeah, try disabling the second screen.

What service pack are you running, and when was the last time you updated directX?