• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4890 - Red lights and random problems

pris0n

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,

I recently put together a new computer and sometimes it doesn't start. When it doesn't start, the video card has these red lights that will flash. I press the power button and the computer starts for 1/10th of a second, the red lights flash on the video card, and then it shuts down.

Here's the build:

Video: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD4890
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA770-UD3
Memory: CORSAIR 4GB
Hard Drive: WD SATA 250 gig

Is anybody familiar with this problem? Could it be another malfunction part, like the motherboard?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
173 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
System Name First Build :D
Processor Q6600 SLACR @ 3.2 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Cooling Asus Silent Square
Memory 2 x 2GB GSkill @ 962MHz
Video Card(s) VisionTek 4870 512MB @ 825/975
Storage Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Display(s) Samsung 943NWX 19"
Case Gigabyte GZ X1
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1200 (yes, its onboard :) )
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows Vista 64 service pack 1
#2
I had a similar problem. For me it turned out that the motherboard was touching the case( i was stupid with my first build as i didn't use the spacers ! ) I had the same issue as mine would also turn on for a fraction of a second and turn off.

Try assembling the pc on a piece of cardboard outside the case and see what happens
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
What is the brand and specifications of your power supply?
 

pris0n

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
I had a similar problem. For me it turned out that the motherboard was touching the case( i was stupid with my first build as i didn't use the spacers ! ) I had the same issue as mine would also turn on for a fraction of a second and turn off.

Try assembling the pc on a piece of cardboard outside the case and see what happens
I just checked and made sure all the screw pins were lined up correctly. Everything went in smoothly. Though the PC did just start up after I moved it around a bit, so I would suspect that something is being shorted out.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Not enough power for that card. 4890's require more amps on the 12v rail than that PSU offers. :(
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
The CPU also runs off of the 12V line. Strange though, I was just looking at Antec's website and they are saying that there's 22 amps per rail... Is your CPU overclocked? The reason I'm thinking it's the psu is because the led's on the 4890 generally indicate either a temperature or power malfunction.
 

pris0n

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
The CPU also runs off of the 12V line. Strange though, I was just looking at Antec's website and they are saying that there's 22 amps per rail... Is your CPU overclocked? The reason I'm thinking it's the psu is because the led's on the 4890 generally indicate either a temperature or power malfunction.
Everything is stock and brand new.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,051 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,936
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
setup your system outside of the case to eliminate any possible shorts. start with the minimal system mobo, cpu, ram, gfx (it will show the post screen without hdd) then add more stuff

if i remember correctly it is normal for a hd 48xx card to flash the lights on power up
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
173 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
System Name First Build :D
Processor Q6600 SLACR @ 3.2 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Cooling Asus Silent Square
Memory 2 x 2GB GSkill @ 962MHz
Video Card(s) VisionTek 4870 512MB @ 825/975
Storage Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Display(s) Samsung 943NWX 19"
Case Gigabyte GZ X1
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1200 (yes, its onboard :) )
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows Vista 64 service pack 1
#11
yes its normal for them to flash when the pc boots up
 

pris0n

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Well it seems to be booting fine. Now I'm faced with another problem:

Windows Vista does not recognize my SATA hard drive and doesn't give me an option to install Vista anywhere. I have a 250 gig WD that I pulled from my old computer. I'm new with Vista, so this could possibly be a stupid error, but I have yet to discover it.

I have tried installing the drivers from the CD that came bundled with the motherboard, but that did not work. I manually searched each folder and that didn't work either. I went to download the drivers from Gigabyte's website, but they are the exact same from the bundled disc. I tried all every part of the preinstall driver from the website anyway, and I couldn't get it to recognize the drive.

I tried installing XP, and while the drive was recognized in setup, after the initial installation, it won't boot into the second part of the installation. Instead, it just restarts.

I'll try another hard drive tomorrow.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#13
In the BIOS, is it set to SATA-IDE mode or AHCI?
 

pris0n

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
I could only find an old IDE HD (man old hard drives are LOUD), so I can't really test to see if the motherboard's SATA controller is bad or if it was the SATA HD.

So far, the old IDE HD got further than the SATA HD, as it's at the second XP installation screen (the SATA HD would cycle through restarts).

I don't have any other SATA hard drives, so I guess I'm going to order a WD Caviar Black from Amazon and have it Saturday shipped to me (Amazon Prime is the best).
 

pris0n

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
Well, folks, turns out the SATA HD I started with died on me, so I'm RMAing that and I have a brand new 1TB WD Caviar Black installed. Everything runs great and it's lightning fast. It's a major improvement coming from an AMD AthlonXP 1800+ and a Ti 4200. :laugh:

Thanks for all the responses!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#17
Good to hear! Yeah, that is one heck of an upgrade, like night and day. :toast: