1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Atomic 3870 or Phenom 9600BE/MSI K9A2 Plat combo

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kenkickr, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,016 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    For the work I did on my girlfriends car today in the frigid temp she said she would buy me either or. So what would you guys pick?
     
  2. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,238 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Your specs say that you already have an HD 3870. I think that you'd get better performance with one HD 3870 and AM2+ system than an HD 3870 Crossfire with a K8 (Crossfire on an ECS board = teh ewww).

    Also, the 9600BE is about the price of the Atomic HD 3870 alone...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Go HD 3870 Crossfire the Phenoms arent worth it atm
     
  4. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Location:
    City 17, California, U.S.A.
    I say neither. Tell her to spend that money at the lingerie store instead. You still come out a winner. ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,947 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,676
    +1, I wouldn't bother upgrading your system. If you are going to upgrade do it all!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,947 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,676
    How about a nice Q6600 and a P35 chipset mobo?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    +1 to that. You'll get more performance out of a C2D than a phenom at the moment.

    Although passing up on lingerie....well...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,016 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    About the lingerie, I get that on Valentines day. If I went with a P35 board I can't have good crossfire due to the electrical limitation of the 2nd slot because I do want to update to crossfire.
     
  9. nanohead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    I would get another 3870 AND the K9A2. I have that board with 2 3870s with a cheapo BE5000 and it smokes. Terrific combo.
     
  10. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    p35 + q6600 ...
     
  11. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,016 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Either or cost 300-350 and so if I went with the Q6600 and a P35 board it goes over that amount easily, I'm not getting a shat board ever again, and I'll get some crappy crossfire due to the limited crossfire on P35 chipset. I would like to get an X38 chipset board if I go intel but the Q6600 for now is out of the question.
     
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,498
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Phenom 9600BE/MSI K9A2 Plat combo

    It would run like it would with a 2ed card in your system. More or less the system improvement would be about the same.

    I do kinda like the new 790 boards:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. PhenomFX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well i am running a Phenom 9500 @ 2510 with 2 X HD3870's- All watercooled and i am very happy. If you can get a 9600BE go for that rather.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)