1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 4730 512 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,556 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,694
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
    boomstik360 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Good review.

    Good price, but it sucks power a little bit more than alot of cards. I guess it would be ok for people who want cheap upgrades, but have a decent PSU?
     
  3. krusha03

    krusha03

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,088 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Nice review, it's good to know it wont work with one 6-pin molex. I just found one minor mistake on page 3:
    I guess you meant the HD 4730.

    Unfortunately the card uses too much power for the performance it delivers. I have to agree the 4770/4830/9600GT/9800GT would prolly be a better choice
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Interesting. Looks like a disable 4830. Does have GDDR5 though. I think ill stick with my 4830s though.
     
  5. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    That's... horrible.

    Well, I guess because the HD 4770 was so damn nice -- efficient, cooler running, 40nm technology -- this card has to suck ass to make up for it.

    Kinda like a Zen thing, you know.
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Any chance of getting a AGP 4670 Wiz?

    :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,556 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,694
    yup thanks fixed

    that's a definite no. test system is pcie only, i don't have any agp motherboard and i don't want one
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Spoken like a true enthusiast.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Hey w1zzard, what do you think about AA in clear sky? I notice you usually leave it out of your tests. It does take up quite a bit of performance, but would be interesting to know which brand handles it better.

    Then again I shouldnt even complain, the amount of cards and games you test in these reviews is mind boggling.
     
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,033 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,318
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    This card is a fail in my book. In the long run, it will cost more due to the unusually high power draw for such a metaphorically little card. Spend a little extra and get the 4830, or get a 9600 GT.

    Honestly, they need to work out the 4770 issue and get those back on the market.

    P.S. What was that statement in the review about the 4830 stock being cleared? Are they going to be discontinued soon?
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,556 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,694
    does the engine support aa on all cards? now is the time to speak up. i'm preparing a new vga test rig and will rebench all the cards so i am free to make changes now
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Yes it does, but on Direct3d 10 only. It has 2x and 4xAA for both 10.0 and (dont know how) "better" AA for 2x/4x 10.1 .

    Its in the drop down box in the advanced options.

    EDIT: Thats my point of interest btw, performance of 10.0 AA vs 10.1 AA.
     
  13. krusha03

    krusha03

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,088 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Another idea would be to change FEAR with FEAR 2 since it is more demanding. Also what would be really nice, if it's not too much work, is to have something like interactive VGA chart where you could compare 2 or more cards at a given benchmark showing min/max/avg or just avg for each card and % difference with card 1 used as base.

    What you have now is really nice with such a wide range of cards compared to the one reviewed, but making this I think would make stuff even better.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,556 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,694
    cant automated fear 2 benchmarking. dont have min/max data. i'll look into what can be done with interactive charts, if it can be done it would be a new site feature, dont think it will be integrated into reviews
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    great review W1zzard

    I think the mid-level market has been thoroughly saturated for this generation of cards. The 4730, while a decent performer, does not offer anything special. It will however, allow ATI to sell off current gen stock to make room for DX11 GPUs

    When you think about it; it is hard to justify spending 80-100 on a mid range GPU when a 4870 can be had for ~$130. Its just not that much of a price difference.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    True, but thats kind of how things go when the current series starts to reach the end of its life cycle and the new series of cards is right around the corner.
     
  17. Neo4

    Neo4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    152 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Good article but the given specs on the 4870 are wrong. 750 core and 3600 memory are the correct numbers. Thanks!
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,556 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,694
    fixed thanks. copy and paste error
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,208
    Can this be crossfired with an HD4770?

    This card just doesn't appeal to me...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,092 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Thanks for an informative article, though i paid more attention to the 4770 and 4830 #'s(thanks for that info as well).Without any volt mods (to the video card) my 4830 OC'ed runs as well as the 4850 on Crysis. far better on Prey,Cod4,Call of Juarez,and World at War, Thank you again I really liked the article
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No, this is RV770 and the 4770 is RV740.
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    More like 3, with only two slots the fan would get no air.
    Edit: as you saw, when you did crossfire testing.


    Heatsink looks like a stock intel cooler :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Ship it to me :D i got AGP NForce 3 AM2 :D with my 4ghz PHII ROFL :D

    isnt my main systems which runs dfi 790fx/gx etc.

    I found it pretty funny to run a Riva TNT2 with a 4ghz quadcore :)

    I can tell you guys, just buy a damn PCI-E system, you can pick up high end systems at 350 euro easy.
     
  24. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    724 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Great review, good price, but still a bad card. :p
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,253 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,208
    Yes I know they use different cores, but it doesn't seem like it can be crossfired with RV770 cards either. They are both the HD4700 series, so they should be able to be crossfired together. ATi would be stupid if they couldn't, as it would be very confusing for the consumer. Up until now, everyone has been told that cards from the same model series work together in crossfire...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)