• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 4870 X2

Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Blegh -- some people. So your GTX 280 is better because it still plays at "playable levels" even though the 4870 X2 is faster? Funny how that didn't apply to ATI cards when Nvidia was in the lead. :p
Im saying it is a better card for me because it run any game i have on high setting and im thinking of buying a 2nd one there is know why this card can come close to 2x280 look at the scores off the ati card its lacking some good drivers atm.
 

Ourasi

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
I was just wondering how you could mess up the COD4 benchmark so horrible, and not even comment on it.

You are actually not using 2 cores at all, the difference between HD4870 and HD4870x2 is under 6fps, and thats just downright silly. Anyone with any experience at all on these HD4xxx card would know you completely made a mess of this gamebench, since COD4 have scary good scaling in Crossfire. You should have seen about 130-140fps+ in 1920x1200, not 76fps. When every reviewsite on mother earth get double the FPS compared to GTX280/HD4870, and any owner of 2xHD4870 get Crossfire to work and scale at about 2x, some alarmbells should start ringing, mate. I must say the work you did on COD4 with this HD4870x2 was really sloppy..

If you tested the HD4870x2 in single mode first, then turned on CFX, and ran the bench again, no wonder you got results like these... Do COD4 again please, and do it right this time, and that means Crossfire "ON", do the mandatory reboot after you enable Crossfire... Getting Crossfire to work in this game is easy as a walk in the park. I think you can do it, like everybody else did....
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I was just wondering how you could mess up the COD4 benchmark so horrible, and not even comment on it.

You are actually not using 2 cores at all, the difference between HD4870 and HD4870x2 is under 6fps, and thats just downright silly. Anyone with any experience at all on these HD4xxx card would know you completely made a mess of this gamebench, since COD4 have scary good scaling in Crossfire. You should have seen about 130-140fps+ in 1920x1200, not 76fps. When every reviewsite on mother earth get double the FPS compared to GTX280/HD4870, and any owner of 2xHD4870 get Crossfire to work and scale at about 2x, some alarmbells should start ringing, mate. I must say the work you did on COD4 with this HD4870x2 was really sloppy..

If you tested the HD4870x2 in single mode first, then turned on CFX, and ran the bench again, no wonder you got results like these... Do COD4 again please, and do it right this time, and that means Crossfire "ON", do the mandatory reboot after you enable Crossfire... Getting Crossfire to work in this game is easy as a walk in the park. I think you can do it, like everybody else did....
let me look into this

edit: seems the multi-gpu configuration setting in cod 4 was not set to enabled. if i didnt notice it, take a guess at how many end-users will forget about and see their card not performing at its best

thanks for bringing this up, i will have revised cod 4 scores later today
 
Last edited:

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.50/day)
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
HIS 4870 X2 arrives today.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.82/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
let me look into this

edit: seems the multi-gpu configuration setting in cod 4 was not set to enabled. if i didnt notice it, take a guess at how many end-users will forget about and see their card not performing at its best

thanks for bringing this up, i will have revised cod 4 scores later today
The other thing I have thought of W1zz, did you enable crossfire mode for Crysis. It has to be don in an autoexec. by default it will only run Sli automatically.

Not saying you havent, it might just be really bad scaling in Crysis, I know it favours nvidia over Ati in terms of performance anyway.

;)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
re. crysis, yep thats possible. let me look into that as well
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.82/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Taken from tweak guides:

r_MultiGPU [0,1,2] - This option controls whether Crysis enables additional overhead for rendering on multi-GPU systems (i.e. SLI and CrossFire setups). If set to 0 - which is the optimal setting for single-GPU systems - it disables multi-GPU support; if set to 1 it enables multi-GPU support for both SLI and Crossfire; if set to 2 it attempts to auto-detect if a multi-GPU setup is present (system).
From experience it defaults to 2

You have to put the command:

r_MultiGPU=1

into an autoexec.cfg file (make one) in the Main crysis directory. to enable crossfire.


So stupid, anyone would think that they didnt want multi Ati GPU's to benefit in crysis, having to mess around with CLV's when Sli is done automatically. :rolleyes: Not that the nvidia logo at startup has anything to do with it...
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.82/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
For anyone that wants it. I have made a autoexec file to enable crossfire in Crysis. (it does nothing else)

Simply extract the cfg file and put it in the main Crysis directory. I.e For me it goes in:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis

:toast:

NB

Do not use this if you do not have crossfire or SLi, as it adds unrequired overhead and will reduce performance.
 

Attachments

Ourasi

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
let me look into this

edit: seems the multi-gpu configuration setting in cod 4 was not set to enabled. if i didnt notice it, take a guess at how many end-users will forget about and see their card not performing at its best

thanks for bringing this up, i will have revised cod 4 scores later today
No problem, mate!

For some (alot actually), performance in this game will break, or seal the deal on a new purchase. So getting this one right, with twice the performance of Nvidias best, will sertainly give a huge boost for the HD4870x2, since this game is so popular and good FPS and visuals is very important for them..

This will complete an otherwise very good review, and will sertainly boost the average performance lead of the HD4870x2 by quite alot actually..
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,233 (8.59/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
If it's not enabled by default (Crysis Crossfire), why use it? The 100s of people who buy R700 might not be verged with "changing a resource file to make it work like it should". Besides, it has to be mentioned in the test setup part of the review.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,565 (4.35/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
If it's not enabled by default (Crysis Crossfire), why use it? The 100s of people who buy R700 might not be verged with "changing a resource file to make it work like it should". Besides, it has to be mentioned in the test setup part of the review.
Yes, that was my first thought, 90% of gamers/PC users are not going to change or know how to change or even understand the need to change the config file but then I thought, well, if only around 4% of consumers use XFire/SLi, they are likely to be enthusiasts anyways and doing this will give a better reflection on what the x2 can acheive in the game, certainly for TPU members in any case.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
So getting this one right, with twice the performance of Nvidias best
i'm definitely not seeing that. maybe its the timedemo i am using .. some people will now say nvidia paid me to record an nvidia biased timedemo.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.82/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
If it's not enabled by default (Crysis Crossfire), why use it? The 100s of people who buy R700 might not be verged with "changing a resource file to make it work like it should". Besides, it has to be mentioned in the test setup part of the review.
I know its bad, games like GRAW, have an option to turn it on as part of the game settings. Crysis should be the same. mind you they added a Vsync button in one of the patches. To remain unbiased and fair, they need to do the same for a Crossfire button.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,565 (4.35/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
i'm definitely not seeing that. maybe its the timedemo i am using .. some people will now say nvidia paid me to record an nvidia biased timedemo.
:D
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
nvidia is not even sending samples to us by the way, so stop with those accusations.

looks like the x2 reviewer driver gives some gains in cod 4 for all rv770 cards .. the new graphs include 4870 non-x2 with this driver
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
new cod4 graphs are up .. will be a few mins for them to go through the cache
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.82/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
new cod4 graphs are up .. will be a few mins for them to go through the cache
Will you be doing more crysis ones too? Or are you sticking to the,

"I shouldnt have to change CLV's in a game"

kinda bad on crysis' point, I might write to them, see if they can include it in the next patch.

A crossfire button on an Nvidia sponsored game! :p
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
i'm looking into crysis right now, now that i'm done with cod 4.

edit: if crysis says "MGPU" in the screen overlay does that mean multigpu is enabled?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,854 (0.87/day)
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
nice review and and a long one. looks to be a killer card but i won't be getting one i don't have a use for that much power

You and 95% of the rest of consumers.


That's the situational crux of cards like the 280 and the X2. They're just not needed.

However, if the 280 isn't needed, than the X2 is double-not needed.

At an extra hundred dollars, twice the heat and on hundred more watts.. the X2 and the phrase 'price/performance' should never EVER be in the same sentence.


It's a revolving door, we're going round and round. Cards like the 280, X2, even 4870/260 in some situations, are far more than we need, except for one game - Crysis. We can't keep chasing this elusive goal forever. And not everyone even likes Crysis so...

What we're left with, is overkill horsepower cards, that don't live up to their expectations, who's prices are 'questionable' and etc.

The X2 doesn't 'dominate' anything, it doesn't even win 100%.


So, despite all the conflicting reviews, let's say the X2 obliterated Crysis.

2560 res, 16af, 16aa, transparency aa, Very High, etc. 60+ fps solid!

WHO THE FUKK CARES anymore?

Are we seriously going to wage the price, technical, architectural and efficiency - value of a card on it's performance in one 3d application? An application that many have stated is 'coded poorly,' and etc.?



All I know is, cards are getting huge, they're not changing their architecture and they're forcing us into one of two product choices.

A) A large plethora of products ranging nearly the full performance spectrum; with enough choices to make you confused. Yet at the end of the day, 80+% of them will run your 3d applications without a problem.

or

B) Self-proclaimed 'high end' products that do take you to the next level so to speak, but are still tied down by the basic limitations of architecture within both the GPUs and other PC components. Ultimatley it's like running out once a year and buying a bigger motor for your car, and only making slight adjustments here and there. The main thing is, you have a bulk increase in power. Yet the silly thing is, that your only purpose in doing so, is in attempts to break some old 1/4 mile track record at your local dragstrip; even though, you know, it will be years before you do so, and by that time, you won't care anymore.


That's what GPUs in the high end feel like. They serve very little purpose for real world applications, except one.



I just can't wait until physics on GPUs becomes a full fledged industry standard, and they can start shrinking GPUs to the point of 100% integration coughlarabcough :)



Much praise to ATi, for the accomplishment of the X2, but unfortunatley like the 3870x2, it's far from impressive.


EDIT: Ignore me. I'm a silly heart..a dreamer..and I've been watching too much "Uncle Buck!"
 
Last edited:

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.82/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
if crysis says "MGPU" in the screen overlay does that mean multigpu is enabled?
Yes, look forward to seeing the new benches.

:toast:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Yes, look forward to seeing the new benches.

:toast:
then that's how the current numbers were obtained. i will rerun to be sure, but i dont expect any changes
 

Ourasi

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
new cod4 graphs are up .. will be a few mins for them to go through the cache
Your timedemo is actually faster then guru3d's, by 10 fps on HD4870, and the difference between GTX280 and HD4870 is also about the same. What you are not getting, is Crossfire scaling on the same level as the other review sites, they are at ca. 1.8x, while you have 1.4x.

This might be down to your motherboard, and it's most likely just a driverflaw as it seems like Crossfire need to be written to support it, or that it just not scale as good on it.

I'm a GTX280 owner myself, and as a reviewer to, I have no thoughts at all about you being biased towards Nvidia, or any other for that matter. I'm just pointing out that you are not getting the average scaling, the reasons for that, as stated above, is most likely the combination of P35/CFX/Drivers. I've tested 2xHD4870 myself, and had a scaling of above 1.8x on a X38 motherboard, so somthing is not right with P35 and this HD4870x2. I've also tested HD3870x2 on a P35, and it also lacked scaling compared to x38, but not all games scaled bad, just some like COD4.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,012 (1.82/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
then that's how the current numbers were obtained. i will rerun to be sure, but i dont expect any changes
Really? Wierd, unless ATi have worked that out and their is a fix in their drivers for it...?

In which case, if they are the same, Crysis has appauling scaling for crysis, even though it is a "Works best on Nvidia" game, you would expect a bigger improvement than that, when running both GPU's
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
i forced mgpu to off now, lets see if there is any difference

edit: no major difference between mgpu forced on and off
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,433 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
This might be down to your motherboard, and it's most likely just a driverflaw as it seems like Crossfire need to be written to support it, or that it just not scale as good on it.
then ati fails even more. they say the x2 cards are supposed to work best on any chipset. ati themselves had not any complaints about the p35 chipset i'm using. also i dont see any relation between chipset and rendering performance unless we are talking hypermemory or other things that actually use the pcie bus

tech-report doesnt see 1.8x scaling either in 1920x1200
 
Top