• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire HD 6770 BIOS flash fail

cryptoboss

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello everybody,
sins my GC came with an underclocked GPU 775Mhz instead of 850Mhz, I have had the crazy idea of flashing my HD 6770 with this BIOS just to have a 850Mhz natively and avoid oveclocking it with trixx each time.
For the flash I'v used TechPowerUp Radeon Bios Editor + ATI Winflash method, everything ended successfully, But after shutting down the PC , the GC wont boot , just black screen.
I'm plannin tmorrow to restor it to the Original BIOS I'v saved, but my question is why this flash failed, for wich reason ??
many thanx
 

cyberloner

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name CyberMania
Processor AMD FX 8120 Bulldozer
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Scythe Ninja 2
Memory APACER VALUE DDR3 2X 2GB 1333MHZ (OC 1600MHZ)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE AMD HD6770
Storage 2X WD 2TB Black
Display(s) 27" Samsung P2770H
Case CM ELITE 430
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium
Power Supply CM iGreen Power 600W
Software Windows 7 32Bit
#2
use the original bios and change the clock speed and flash... no using others third party bios...
 

cryptoboss

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
ok , I'll give it a try tomorrow with a friend of mine who have a dual pci-e mobo coz mine have only one.
 
Last edited:

cryptoboss

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
So, after trying to reflash it with atiflash in DOS mode, the HD 6770 cannot be dettected by atiflash -i command, I'v tried with another ATI card and it is welll recognized by atiflash -i, so I concluded that my HD 6770 died, "I'm I wrong about that ?"
the good new is that the card still under warranty, but what I'm gonna say to the resseller to accept the card ??
and is there any way the ressellers techniciens can figure out that I flashed it, even if the card cannot be detected??
thx alot friends , I really apreaciate your help.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
c:atiflash -f -p "biosname".rom
 

cryptoboss

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
when I put atiflash -f -p "biosname".rom it gives this error:
ERROR 0FL01 noadapter found

but when I check my PC bios if the bricked card is recognized, Yes it is recignized by the PC bios


Is that mean that I still have a chance to unbrick It ?? and how??
thxx
 
Last edited:

cryptoboss

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Problem solved
Graphic card unbricked.
the issus came from the version of atiflash, when I passed to the latest version 3.95, everything goes successfully.
many thanx