• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 6950 2GB stock bios please

Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#1
Hi guys, so after playing around for 2 hours last night in trying to flash my bios to unlock the shaders well, I was never able too. I am now paranoid I screwed something up in my stock 6950 bios and I was wondering if anyone had the stock bios to this card : http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102987. I am asking because when I compare my GPUZ with others, for some reason I am the only one with higher flitrate then others ... Also, is the number 1 switch on the card with the original bios flashable ? If not, then I am guessing my bios are still the ones that originally came with my card ?
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#2
The thing is, I initially flashed my bios with the bios switch on the card set to 1 which is the default bios ... I have read somewhere that there is no possible way of flashing the default bios while being on 1 ... can someone confirme ? If nobody has the stock bios, does anyone have a gpuz screenshot of that same card running the stock bios ? I really hope someone could help me with this !
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#3
is this normal ? I am getting 820 mhz of gpu clock and 1250 mhz of memory... also my texture filtrate is set to 72.2 texels ...
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
973 (0.44/day)
Likes
514
Location
Arcadia
System Name Xeon build /Main Rig
Processor Intel Xeon w3520 @ 4Ghz with HT /i7 4820k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe v2 socket 1366 / Asus P9X79 socket 2011
Cooling Thermalright Archon +Ty 140mm|Fans : 2 front-1top-1rear-1bottom/ Swiftech H140x
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600mhz Kingstone Hyper x Quad Channel / 16gb DDR3 2133MHZ Gskill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd 7950 3gb Boost edition dual fan X / XFX R9 Fury X
Storage Kingstone AV400ssd 120gb + Seagate B 2Tb + WD green 1tb + WD green 3tb + WD red 3tb + Seagate B 4tb
Display(s) Wasabi Mango UHD430 43" 4K @60hz with Freesync
Case Fractal Design Arc midi
Audio Device(s) SoundMaxHD+5.1 BHT1100 BLUESKY,Corsair Vengeance 1500 v2,Fiio E10 Olympus+SuperluxHD668b
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower xt 775watt modular
Mouse Corsair M90
Keyboard Microsoft WK600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4


look my screen xd
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#6
is this normal ? I am getting 820 mhz of gpu clock and 1250 mhz of memory... also my texture filtrate is set to 72.2 texels ...http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/05/14/95.png
Hi

A little odd not to have looked on the Sapphire web site, at the product you own! this - http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1041&pid=1530&psn=&lid=1&leg=0# Edit: This is correct for the OC version

Edit: have you looked here - http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...r=Sapphire&model=HD+6950&interface=&memSize=0

Note: for others that may stumble upon this post - before flashing any bios it is best to make a backup

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#7
that's the odd part, I never OC'd the card ... I dont even know how to OC anything lol ... how can I underclock it back to 800 ???
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#8
that's the odd part, I never OC'd the card ... I dont even know how to OC anything lol ... how can I underclock it back to 800 ???
Hi

You mention this - "so after playing around for 2 hours last night in trying to flash my bios to unlock the shaders well" - depending what you did and how you went about it!, if you chose a [pre modded bios] to flash it may have had a slight OC to ensure it could make use of the extended shader array. To many ifs and buts to give a conclusive answer as only you know what you did.

As for getting HD 6950 vga bios back to it's orriginal state; did you remember that you have to uninstall and re-install the catalyst driver - Try this first

Edit: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159 [this will show you what to do if reinstalling the driver dose not clear the clock]

nb: if you get a chance the next time you log in please fill in your system specs in UserCP

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#9
actually I have the OC edition of the hd 6950 and according to the specs on sapphire.com the clocks should be at 820 from stock !!! yay I guess all is good now ! :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#10
actually I have the OC edition of the hd 6950 and according to the specs on sapphire.com the clocks should be at 820 from stock !!! yay I guess all is good now ! :)
Hi

Thank you for the info; my bad - did not spot that you had the OC version and have edited my previous post to reflect this for others to view

nb: great to see you are back on track; go do some gaming:toast:

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#11
hmm I installed the latest drivers last night and im getting big fps drops in starcraft 2 right now ... I think I will revert back to the drivers I initially installed off the cd that came with the card ! I hope this fixes the issue !
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#12
hmm I installed the latest drivers last night and im getting big fps drops in starcraft 2 right now ... I think I will revert back to the drivers I initially installed off the cd that came with the card ! I hope this fixes the issue !
Hi

Good call with reference to reverting back to the driver CD, hope this works out for you; catalyst 12.4 have some problems that need fixing by AMD, seems to be under utilization of the GPU in some cases for older cards; 12.4's have improved for the HD 7xxx series

nb: what version of catalyst came on the CD?

atb

Law-II