• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire HD 6950 2GB stock bios please

Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#1
Hi guys, so after playing around for 2 hours last night in trying to flash my bios to unlock the shaders well, I was never able too. I am now paranoid I screwed something up in my stock 6950 bios and I was wondering if anyone had the stock bios to this card : http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102987. I am asking because when I compare my GPUZ with others, for some reason I am the only one with higher flitrate then others ... Also, is the number 1 switch on the card with the original bios flashable ? If not, then I am guessing my bios are still the ones that originally came with my card ?
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#2
The thing is, I initially flashed my bios with the bios switch on the card set to 1 which is the default bios ... I have read somewhere that there is no possible way of flashing the default bios while being on 1 ... can someone confirme ? If nobody has the stock bios, does anyone have a gpuz screenshot of that same card running the stock bios ? I really hope someone could help me with this !
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#3
is this normal ? I am getting 820 mhz of gpu clock and 1250 mhz of memory... also my texture filtrate is set to 72.2 texels ...
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
953 (0.44/day)
Likes
496
Location
Arcadia
System Name Xeon build /Main Rig
Processor Intel Xeon w3520 @ 4Ghz with HT /i7 4820k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe v2 socket 1366 / Asus P9X79 socket 2011
Cooling Thermalright Archon +Ty 140mm|Fans : 2 front-1top-1rear-1bottom/ Swiftech H140x
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600mhz Kingstone Hyper x Quad Channel / 16gb DDR3 2133MHZ Gskill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd 7950 3gb Boost edition dual fan X / XFX R9 Fury X
Storage Kingstone AV400ssd 120gb + Seagate B 2Tb + WD green 1tb + WD green 3tb + WD red 3tb + Seagate B 4tb
Display(s) Wasabi Mango UHD430 43" 4K @60hz with Freesync
Case Fractal Design Arc midi
Audio Device(s) SoundMaxHD+5.1 BHT1100 BLUESKY,Corsair Vengeance 1500 v2,Fiio E10 Olympus+SuperluxHD668b
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower xt 775watt modular
Mouse Corsair M90
Keyboard Microsoft WK600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4


look my screen xd
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#6
is this normal ? I am getting 820 mhz of gpu clock and 1250 mhz of memory... also my texture filtrate is set to 72.2 texels ...http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/05/14/95.png
Hi

A little odd not to have looked on the Sapphire web site, at the product you own! this - http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1041&pid=1530&psn=&lid=1&leg=0# Edit: This is correct for the OC version

Edit: have you looked here - http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...r=Sapphire&model=HD+6950&interface=&memSize=0

Note: for others that may stumble upon this post - before flashing any bios it is best to make a backup

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#7
that's the odd part, I never OC'd the card ... I dont even know how to OC anything lol ... how can I underclock it back to 800 ???
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#8
that's the odd part, I never OC'd the card ... I dont even know how to OC anything lol ... how can I underclock it back to 800 ???
Hi

You mention this - "so after playing around for 2 hours last night in trying to flash my bios to unlock the shaders well" - depending what you did and how you went about it!, if you chose a [pre modded bios] to flash it may have had a slight OC to ensure it could make use of the extended shader array. To many ifs and buts to give a conclusive answer as only you know what you did.

As for getting HD 6950 vga bios back to it's orriginal state; did you remember that you have to uninstall and re-install the catalyst driver - Try this first

Edit: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159 [this will show you what to do if reinstalling the driver dose not clear the clock]

nb: if you get a chance the next time you log in please fill in your system specs in UserCP

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#9
actually I have the OC edition of the hd 6950 and according to the specs on sapphire.com the clocks should be at 820 from stock !!! yay I guess all is good now ! :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#10
actually I have the OC edition of the hd 6950 and according to the specs on sapphire.com the clocks should be at 820 from stock !!! yay I guess all is good now ! :)
Hi

Thank you for the info; my bad - did not spot that you had the OC version and have edited my previous post to reflect this for others to view

nb: great to see you are back on track; go do some gaming:toast:

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
69 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
#11
hmm I installed the latest drivers last night and im getting big fps drops in starcraft 2 right now ... I think I will revert back to the drivers I initially installed off the cd that came with the card ! I hope this fixes the issue !
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#12
hmm I installed the latest drivers last night and im getting big fps drops in starcraft 2 right now ... I think I will revert back to the drivers I initially installed off the cd that came with the card ! I hope this fixes the issue !
Hi

Good call with reference to reverting back to the driver CD, hope this works out for you; catalyst 12.4 have some problems that need fixing by AMD, seems to be under utilization of the GPU in some cases for older cards; 12.4's have improved for the HD 7xxx series

nb: what version of catalyst came on the CD?

atb

Law-II