• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Hd 7950 unflashable !!

Spiro67

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi, i would flash my reference sapphire hd 7950, but i have tried all the bios and nothink is working. The stock bios from the sapphire there is uploaded on techpowerup does not work too. Can you please help me ?
Sorry for my bad english...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#2
Why do you want to flash it? There have been so many post on here about people wanting to flash there GPU and they have ended up with a paper weight.

If you want higher clock speeds just use a program like afterburner or sapphire trix.

Is it realy worth bricking your card just to maybe gain a few more FPS?
 

Spiro67

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
If i flash maybe i can overclock more...I just tell why it doesn't work and if some people had the same problem...
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#4
Did you try force flashing it?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#5
Well flashing your card with a diffrent bios does not guarantee faster overclocks and there is always that change the flash could go wrong, Is it realy worth it for maybe 2/3 more fps?

You can't just flash it with any bios as there are so many things that could be diffrent to such as memory timings and voltage.
 

Spiro67

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
It's not for win 2/3 fps, but just to overclock it at his maximum.. Yes i know how to flash a graphic card and force flashing, but after the flash i have a black screen et than i must flash with my original bios.
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#7
It's not for win 2/3 fps, but just to overclock it at his maximum.. Yes i know how to flash a graphic card and force flashing, but after the flash i have a black screen et than i must flash with my original bios.
You're going about this all wrong, most people will find their max stable overclock then flash not the other way around and it seems like you don't have much knowledge or experience in flashing so there's a possibility you could end up killing your card. What is wrong with software OC?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#8
Hi

What is the Sapphire Hd 7950; model number ? [Note: According to [H]OCP ( http://www.hardocp.com/ ) HD7950 review AMD reported that the HD7950 had some key hardware on the PCB lazer cut to make it physically impossible to software flash to HD7970] [Edit: If this is a non reference design it may or maynot unlock, this has not been confirmed]

What are you trying to unlock? Voltage, core or memory clocks [if just core and memory; as others have suggested use a software application to OC these]

Have you used the [-unlockrom 0] command without success?

To other users and TPU Note: Always backup your vga bios before attempting to flash

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Spiro67

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
No i haven't used the [-unlockrom 0] command. i would flash my card to expect that i can overclock my graphic card more. i would not flash with an hd7970 bios. But with my hd6850 that i had before, i win 50 mhz with an asus bios...
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#10
But with my hd6850 that i had before, i win 50 mhz with an asus bios
Hi

This gain of 50Mhz may have been attributed to slightly differing memory timmings and realy was not worth flashing a vga bios to achive; when so many things can go wrong.

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#11
Does your card have the bios switch ?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,713 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,418
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#13
I have no idea of the reasonsing behind this... perhaps I read this excerpt wrong:
i would not flash with an hd7970 bios. But with my hd6850 that i had before, i win 50 mhz with an asus bios...
You cant flash a 7950 with a 6850 bios. They are COMPLETELY different cards.

I wish people that are green under the collar would stop wanting to flash GPU's when you can much easier and with ZERO chance of bricking your card, use software. There is a lot of risk involved when doing so really...
 

Spiro67

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
I have no idea of the reasonsing behind this... perhaps I read this excerpt wrong: You cant flash a 7950 with a 6850 bios. They are COMPLETELY different cards.

I wish people that are green under the collar would stop wanting to flash GPU's when you can much easier and with ZERO chance of bricking your card, use software. There is a lot of risk involved when doing so really...
i don't understand what you say ?? I just say that with my hd6850 when i change bios i can overclock more than i will flash my hd 7950 with an other hd 7950 bios and so i can mybe oveclock more
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#15
I have no idea of the reasonsing behind this... perhaps I read this excerpt wrong: You cant flash a 7950 with a 6850 bios. They are COMPLETELY different cards.

I wish people that are green under the collar would stop wanting to flash GPU's when you can much easier and with ZERO chance of bricking your card, use software. There is a lot of risk involved when doing so really...
I have to agree here, most of the threads you read on people who flashed their cards were "OMG I flashed my GTX 690 with a 8800Ultra to OC it more... IT WONT BOOT!!!! HELP!"
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#16
i don't understand what you say ?? I just say that with my hd6850 when i change bios i can overclock more than i will flash my hd 7950 with an other hd 7950 bios and so i can mybe oveclock more
I don't understand where your limit is on overclocking? Are you saying you can push the card to the max overclock set in CCC (example, i have a HD7970 and max OC in CCC is 1125mhz)

Now if i use a diffrent program such as afterburner i can unlock the cap and go way past 1125mhz but my card is only stable upto 1050mhz and no bios flash is going to make any diffrence to me.

If you don't care for the extra FPS why the hell would you want to overclock anyway, Is it realy going to make things any better? Is it worth risking breaking your card for an extra 50mhz.

It might help more if you can explain in detail why you realy want to do this and also tell us what overclock wall you are hitting.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#17
I don't understand where your limit is on overclocking? Are you saying you can push the card to the max overclock set in CCC (example, i have a HD7970 and max OC in CCC is 1125mhz)

Now if i use a diffrent program such as afterburner i can unlock the cap and go way past 1125mhz but my card is only stable upto 1050mhz and no bios flash is going to make any diffrence to me.

If you don't care for the extra FPS why the hell would you want to overclock anyway, Is it realy going to make things any better? Is it worth risking breaking your card for an extra 50mhz.

It might help more if you can explain in detail why you realy want to do this and also tell us what overclock wall you are hitting.
Doesnt all of the newer reference cards have voltage adjustments?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#18
Doesnt all of the newer reference cards have voltage adjustments?
I'm not 100% sure as the manufacturers always seem to change little things but don't seem to tell anyone.
 

Spiro67

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
I have the voltage control and no clock limit with sapphire trixx. I'm actually at 1150 mhz for the core and 1600 mhz for the memory with 1.25V at trixx and 1.2 V with gpu-z thats my limit. Are you sure tha flashing bios does not help to overclock more ?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,713 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,418
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#20
i don't understand what you say ?? I just say that with my hd6850 when i change bios i can overclock more than i will flash my hd 7950 with an other hd 7950 bios and so i can mybe oveclock more
But you didnt say that... I quoted you.

Again, stop worrying about flashing a bios, just overclock through software and have it load those clocks at startup. Done... and with ZERO chance to brick your card. :toast:


Are you sure tha flashing bios does not help to overclock more ?
Correct.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#21
I have the voltage control and no clock limit with sapphire trixx. I'm actually at 1150 mhz for the core and 1600 mhz for the memory with 1.25V at trixx and 1.2 V with gpu-z thats my limit. Are you sure tha flashing bios does not help to overclock more ?
Seeing as you have unlocked voltage already using trixx i don't see how a bios flash is going to make any diffence inless it does some stuff i can't get my head around.

Most people only seem to want to flash because they want to try and unlock the voltage or just can't be bothered to use software programs for overclocking.

Personly speaking, i would not risk flashing my card because i can't afford to just buy a new one if something went wrong.
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,949
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#22
FYI, guys, HD7950 has 3 version, stock 800 MHz, OC avg 875-900MHz, and the boost BIOS, 925 MHz.

For me, the OC BIOSes clock best. But, GHz BIOSes have highest clock limits.


I do not blame someone for wanting to flash a card that has a BIOS switch just for that purpose, when so many BIOS versions for the exact same physical card exist.

OH, and all three of those BIOSes tend to use different stock voltage, too. :p Why would you flash a BIOS? Are you guys really asking this?:shadedshu
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#23
I have the voltage control and no clock limit with sapphire trixx. I'm actually at 1150 mhz for the core and 1600 mhz for the memory with 1.25V at trixx and 1.2 V with gpu-z thats my limit. Are you sure tha flashing bios does not help to overclock more ?
If you can unlock your voltage with trixx, dont even bother flashing the card, relatively pointless for the cost if you brick it. 3fps isnt exactly worth the loss of $300...
 

Spiro67

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
FYI, guys, HD7950 has 3 version, stock 800 MHz, OC avg 875-900MHz, and the boost BIOS, 925 MHz.

For me, the OC BIOSes clock best. But, GHz BIOSes have highest clock limits.


I do not blame someone for wanting to flash a card that has a BIOS switch just for that purpose, when so many BIOS versions for the exact same physical card exist.

OH, and all three of those BIOSes tend to use different stock voltage, too. :p Why would you flash a BIOS? Are you guys really asking this?:shadedshu
Thanks for your answer ! I have tried sapphire oc bios and boost bios but i have a black screen after flashing and the stock bios there is on techpowerup doesn't work too ! Only the backup of my bios works...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#25
Thanks for your answer ! I have tried sapphire oc bios and boost bios but i have a black screen after flashing and the stock bios there is on techpowerup doesn't work too ! Only the backup of my bios works...
Then i would not risk doing anymore and be happy with the overclock you have.
Nice overclock to :)

@cadaveca

We know why people want to do flash bios but sometimes is it realy worth it?
Maybe i am holding back because of all the post over the last few months talking about how people have bricked there cards and now have a paper weight.