• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire HD4850 artifacts...

Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#1
Hello,

I have a Sapphire HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 creating artifacts ($$$$$$$ into the bootup black screen, etc.) and not working properly in 3D.

With difficulties, I succeeded twice to fix that, with an OCCT GPU test. :confused:

I don't know if it's a known issue (BIOS bug or hardware malfunction), or it's coming from what I tried to do for the cooling fan : here.

I use the last Catalyst 12.6 for my XP Pro SP3 but that's surely not the problem here.

If someone can help?

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.25/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#2
If you flashed a modded BIOS onto the card, try rolling it back to the original. Also, if you have changed your drivers recently, try going back to ones you knew worked. By the sound of it, the card might be on its way out or is getting too hot (maybe try cleaning the cooler).
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#3
If you flashed a modded BIOS onto the card, try rolling it back to the original. Also, if you have changed your drivers recently, try going back to ones you knew worked. By the sound of it, the card might be on its way out or is getting too hot (maybe try cleaning the cooler).
Thanks for your answer.

I've been obliged to roll back before to run OCCT because it was not capable to start without error.
Please note that after rolling back, I powered off and on the PC without success, only OCCT fixed this issue.

My modded BIOS has been working without trouble for several days.
This old card is new for me, so I installed it with the last driver after a clean-up (cooling paste change, dust, etc.).

For now, the card works fine with the original BIOS...
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
Artifacts can occur from not having enough voltage applied for the Gpu and memory
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#7
Yes, but I got this issue with 2 PSU (Antec 450W and Enermax 350W), so I think the BIOS responsible...
He means vcore on the card this has nothing to do with the output of your PSU, the card didn't like the modded bios but works well with the original, just take it as a lesson learned and move on.
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#9
Easy to say, but where to move?
In other words, how to modify the thermal parameters with RBE (if I suppose this tool good)? :D
Why not just use software to OC it?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
Why not just use software to OC it?
what I was saying is the voltage applied for VCore and Vdimm werent high enough to support the clocks being used for the card, where as restoring the original bios put the card back in normal operating parameters.

Honestly THough You should be able to use MSI After Burner for Voltage adjustments to that card. if Youre having artifacts after increasing clock speed increase your voltage slightly. But Keep your temperatures in check.
http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/overview.htm

Reference temperatures for the 4850 by SKU

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/355208-33-maximum-safe-temp

I also have to ask what is the rest of the system specs for the machine because overclocking a GPU puts a heavier than normal load on the PSU too and if the PSU cant keep up youll never reach the speeds you want
 
Last edited:

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#11
what I was saying is the voltage applied for VCore and Vdimm werent high enough to support the clocks being used for the card, where as restoring the original bios put the card back in normal operating parameters
I understood that, the OP didn't as he replied that he had tried 2 different PSU's. I still think he would be better off sticking to software OC.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
I understood that, the OP didn't as he replied that he had tried 2 different PSU's. I still think he would be better off sticking to software OC.
Yes I agree, it is alot safer than bios modding, plus easier to stop compared to a bios flash that has clocks and voltage set too high
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#13
Please, keep in mind that my need was not to OC anything, but only to change the fan curve !

Note also that during my OCCT GPU tests, I checked the voltages with AIDA64 for the 2 PSU's, and nothing was wrong...

That looks like a corrupted BIOS, but I don't understand why when reinstalling the original, the corruption remains until I use OCCT...
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
Please, keep in mind that my need was not to OC anything, but only to change the fan curve !

Note also that during my OCCT GPU tests, I checked the voltages with AIDA64 for the 2 PSU's, and nothing was wrong...

That looks like a corrupted BIOS, but I don't understand why when reinstalling the original, the corruption remains until I use OCCT...
Now I'm confused. you first said that after bios modding you had artifacting. but after you put the original back in you don't have it. now you're saying you have artifacting but after running occt it doesn't artifact. SO which is it do you or don't you have artifacting!?

Also sometimes monitors or cables do cause issues over time centain percentage out of proper working units
 
Last edited:

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#15
Please, keep in mind that my need was not to OC anything, but only to change the fan curve !

Note also that during my OCCT GPU tests, I checked the voltages with AIDA64 for the 2 PSU's, and nothing was wrong...

That looks like a corrupted BIOS, but I don't understand why when reinstalling the original, the corruption remains until I use OCCT...
Why are you monitoring the PSU voltages? software monitoring of PSU rails is crap at best and that's not what was implied earlier regarding voltages, he was referring to the internal voltages of the cards core clock and memory clock, not your PSU voltages.

Any named brand 300w+ PSU will be able to handle a 4850, the issue seems to be your card didn't like the bios you flashed it with. Use software to create fan profiles, it's better than risking bricking the card altogether.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#16
I suspect the card might be ramping voltage and clock speed up during games/ stress testing. but honestly the best stress tests are a slew of games where data is extremely dynamic
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#17
As there is some confusing, I explain again.

Twice I modded my BIOS only to change the fan curve.
Twice I got artifacts (after a long while) but it was impossible to suppress them, even with an original BIOS restoration, or changing the PSU.
The only solution I found, has been to run an OCCT GPU test with the original BIOS.

I tested voltages with AIDA64 because I suspected my first Antec 450W PSU.
At this level, I still have a doupt with so it's the reason why I use now the Enermax 350W.

For now, games, FurMark, OCCT run without any error.

Thanks again for your help, sorry if I was unclear.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#19
Also artifacts can occasionally be caused by weak connections in the solder if the card has been running at high temps. The solution i used for a 7900 geforce was to stick it in the oven for 12 minutes at 375 degrees farenheit after removing all plastic and the cooler. Worked a charm for me.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#20
Also artifacts can occasionally be caused by weak connections in the solder if the card has been running at high temps. The solution i used for a 7900 geforce was to stick it in the oven for 12 minutes at 375 degrees farenheit after removing all plastic and the cooler. Worked a charm for me.
Yes I know, but that's not my case, further more my wife refuses to loan me her oven... :D
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#21
Hello guys,

I think I've found the culprit...

When opening my Antec PSU box, I've discovered a very brown zone around a diode.

When touching the diode with a pencil, it was moving.
On the other side, I saw its 2 pins not correctly soldered on the printed circuit board.

What's your feeling now?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,782
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#22

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#24
No, because I've re-soldered the diode... :D

Next time, think twice before to answer... :laugh:
Next time let people know that you have fixed an issue you posted about as we're not mind readers, and try not to be sarcastic about it :slap:
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#25
Next time let people know that you have fixed an issue you posted about as we're not mind readers, and try not to be sarcastic about it :slap:
Once again, you're on the wrong way... :rolleyes:

I thanks eidairama1 who gave me a good idea for a possible electrical issue.

I don't consider my problem fixed yet, because I have to reflash my modded BIOS to be sure, but I think you can't understand that...