• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire HD4850 artifacts...

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,811
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#26
Once again, you're on the wrong way... :rolleyes:

I thanks eidairama1 who gave me a good idea for a possible electrical issue.

I don't consider my problem fixed yet, because I have to reflash my modded BIOS to be sure, but I think you can't understand that...
The modded bios may introduce the issues. because of not enough vcore or vdimm applied in the video card. first things first id recommend try using afterburner or sapphire trixx to do those adjustments
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,811
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#28
Thank you again eidairaman1 !

TriXX is a very good work-around to my BIOS mod.

Regards, ;)
Well it is alot safer than a bios mod, because a bios mod can fail then you have an unrecoverable card.

other benefit is setting numerous game profiles and being able to reverse those settings to defaults.

Glad you got your issues solved and the card is working fine now
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#31
What are you using to flash your VGA BIOS?

I have flashed my old Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ATiWinFlash to adjust fan settings when I installed a AC Twin Turbo.
Used GPU-Z to extract the original BIOS.

When I edited my fan settings using RBE, all I did was increase the initial fan speed to run at 60% and the max to kick in earlier.
Didn't adjust anything else and it worked like a charm.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,811
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#33
have you tried a different monitor and cable, ive had artifacts from a monitor before and it was actually that and not the video card. Only thing i can recommend is pumping the voltage up for the GPU and Ram using Trixx/Afterburner
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#34
have you tried a different monitor and cable, ive had artifacts from a monitor before and it was actually that and not the video card. Only thing i can recommend is pumping the voltage up for the GPU and Ram using Trixx/Afterburner
In fact, the first time I got the artifacts, I uninstalled the card to put it on an other PC.
As I saw the artifacts remaining (on the boot-up black screen), I thought the problem proper to the card and I reinstalled it on the original PC.

May be I have to dissociate, the artifacts creation and their memorization...
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#35
Hello Guys,

My issue is still there ! :banghead:

My card continues to run fine during several days before I get artifacts.
I use then OCCT and it runs again for the next few days... :roll:

The VRM appears at the opposite of the following info: here... :laugh:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,811
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#36
ok save up some money and buy a newer video card

use a Program to raise the voltage whenever you game and then even when youre not gaming have the voltage up a lil more using those OC programs specified earlier
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#37
I can easily buy an other card but this one is somewhere interesting for my knowledge of GPU's. :cool:

I've started a first OC with the frequencies (700/1000 instead of 625/993) and everything looks good. :)

I can't increase the voltage with MSI Afterburner.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#38
I reinstalled Sapphire Trixx to raise the voltage, but I don't know the best value to use (1.046V seems the default).

May be, it's better to change the BIOS default !?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,811
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#39
I reinstalled Sapphire Trixx to raise the voltage, but I don't know the best value to use (1.046V seems the default).

May be, it's better to change the BIOS default !?
set that voltage to 1.052