1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD4850 Toxic vertical bars problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Dr. Kec, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Dr. Kec New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Firs of all,I would like to apologize if I put this thread in wrong forum or something,I am new here.I am sure that many of you heard about this problem on Sapphire HD4870 card,it's also happening on HD4850,and I think only on Sapphire ones.

    The thing is that when I play a game,most of the time it's race driver grid,after a while(about 3-5 minutes) the game crashes and I get vertical bars all over my screen.Many people suggested to flash the card so I did,with this bios,but it didn't help.

    I am bagging you to help,I am going crazy because I haven't paid little money for this card so I would like it to work normally.I'm also waiting for BIOS from Sapphire but I don't think it will come any time soon.

    My specs:
    DFI LanParty UT x48 T2R/G
    Core 2 Duo E6600@3.4GHz
    1xKingmax 2GB 800MHz
    Codegen 350W+IBM150W
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
  2. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Considering the power supply mixture you are using, I'd say unstable power may be your issue. Get a better power supply. It is very important!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Singapore
    Recommendations

    1. Flash your card back with the old bios.
    2. Upgrade your power supply. At least of a 600W.
    3. Check the coolers. If it's running.
    4. If you tell sapphire that you flashed your card with bios, you won't receive any support from them. Probably a "You've void the blah blah..."
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Dr. Kec New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank for the advice.I will take the card to my friend's and put it in his computer with better power supply and see what will happen.But I still think it's BIOS or PowerPlay related.People on ATI/AMD forum managed to fix this problem on HD4870 just by flashing the card with the official sapphire BIOS.

    Are there any other ideas?
     
  5. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I don't want to give you a hard time, but if you don't get a better PSU, you WILL kill this card and/or other components. A good PSU IS the foundation to any gaming system. Almost as bad as having sex with a stranger without a condom.:laugh:
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Singapore
    +1 :toast:

    Also you might get a power surge, and that is dangerous cause you can destroy your entire hardware, and i mean every parts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Dr. Kec New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Next thing I am buying for my pc is a new PSU for sure.I know the risk of using these old power supplies,but momentarily I don't have the money to buy a new one.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)