1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire hd4870 vapor x freezing/overheating

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by technicks, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Hi guys.

    Having a problem with the pc from a friend.
    When installing Windows 7 the system freezes when setup changes the screen resolution.
    When i boot up the system it takes about 10 sec before the card gets very hot.
    I have read some articles about this card. Many people have problems with the system freezing due to overheating. I took the cooler of and re-aplied the thermal paste. But the temps still skyrocket.

    Last week i checked out his system because it would not even start. So i figured out his psu was bad so he replaced it with an Adata HM 650 recommended on TPU he read.
    So now his system starts but he can't install Windows. When his old Windows was on he got to the point he could set the fanspeed to 100% seing the temps drop to 45*C but then after a few seconds it crashed again.

    He can't RMA the card so he can't return it. Any ideas on what to try?
    If it's a lost case he will buy a new card but he would give it one more chance to get it working properly.

    Thanks for the help,

    :toast::rockout:
     
    Descraop says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Descraop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Enschede, Twente, The Netherlands
    Solved

    Fixed!!

    After trying 2 other videocards I still got the random freezes, so I thought it can't be that..
    I checked everything again and again and i finally discovered that the mobo auto setting for the dram voltage was actually wrong, it was on auto giving 1.46 v and it needed between 1.65/1.85..
    I Put it on 1.81 and for the first time in two and a half years a stable computer !!!:rockout:

    A lot of thanx to Technicks for the help!!:respect:

    [​IMG]

    Jah bless:pimp:
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  3. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,457 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,688
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Hence my "huh?" feeling (even though it took a minute or two until it came). Because if setting the GPU fan to 100% helped dropping the temps, the automagical fan speed adjustments of the cooler would keep temps under control from the start. I am glad for you that you fixed the issue.
     
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Haha. Told you to manualy set ram voltage. :p. Glad it works. How are temps on the videocard? @cheva. He used Trixx so that won't work.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Descraop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Enschede, Twente, The Netherlands
    Under load (Adobe Premiere CS5 HD render) it was 53 degrees.

    thats ok isn't it, since I adjusted the voltage i haven't got a single freeze anaymore!!:nutkick:

    http://vimeo.com/35354533
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,234 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,836
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    :roll: you know, sometimes we find the answer accidentally
    nice to have it stable again :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)