• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Pulse rx580 power consumption 30w at idle?

deepforest

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Hello!) I am right that is totally normal for Sapphire 30w at idle? I want to know how technically explain this power consumption for Sapphire?
 

Attachments

  • vuSLxSK.png
    vuSLxSK.png
    363.6 KB · Views: 1,927
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,118 (0.90/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
Hello!) I am right that is totally normal for Sapphire 30w at idle? I want to know how technically explain this power consumption for Sapphire?
maybe the temperature abit hot, thats why it need extra power to spin the fans, mostly a normal 580 would run 20-30w in idle, depend whigc model have fan stop/non/a custom setup:)
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
333 (0.20/day)
Yes, it is normal.

Techinacal side in simple: the chip has clock/voltage gating. So wont turn on full power if not necessary. Using that parts only what the actaul load needs, inside the chip.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,779 (6.82/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ask sapphire
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
160 (0.11/day)
System Name My PC
Processor AMD 2700 x @ 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming
Cooling Zalman CNPS20X
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 570 PULSE
Storage Adata Ultimate SU800
Case Phanteks Eclipse P500A
Audio Device(s) Logitech G51
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX, 80+ Gold, 550W
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121
Do u use dual monitor setup?
 

deepforest

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Ask sapphire
sapphire support say that is normal for pulse and nitro, but dont explain why? And i whant to know why? Because on others 580 models power at idle ~10w.

maybe the temperature abit hot, thats why it need extra power to spin the fans, mostly a normal 580 would run 20-30w in idle, depend whigc model have fan stop/non/a custom setup:)
sapphire support say that is normal for pulse and nitro, but dont explain why? And i whant to know why? Because on others 580 models power at idle ~10w.

maybe the temperature abit hot, thats why it need extra power to spin the fans, mostly a normal 580 would run 20-30w in idle, depend whigc model have fan stop/non/a custom setup:)
I have second question. Advise which is better Sapphire rx580 Pulse or Gigabyte rx580 GAMING GV-RX580GAMING-8GD GB have 6 power phase and good cooler system it cover vram and vrm look screenshot. And in my country Sapphire have 2y warranty and Gigabyte have 3y warranty.

Do u use dual monitor setup?
One 60hz DVI monitor

Yes, it is normal.

Techinacal side in simple: the chip has clock/voltage gating. So wont turn on full power if not necessary. Using that parts only what the actaul load needs, inside the chip.
Thanks. But why other models of 580 fron othrer brands have ~10w at idle?
 

Attachments

  • GB rx580.png
    GB rx580.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 2,335
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
379 (0.31/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.1GHz (H2O Cooled)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Cooling CPU = EK Velocity / GPU = EK Vector
Memory 32GB - G-Skill Trident Z RGB @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) AMD RX 6900 XT (H2O Cooled)
Storage Samsung 860 EVO - 970 EVO - 870 QVO
Display(s) Samsung QN90A 50" 4K TV & LG 20" 1600x900
Case Lian Li O11-D
Audio Device(s) Presonus Studio 192
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2S
Keyboard Matias RGB Backlit Keyboard
Software Windows 10 & macOS (Hackintosh)
there is at least one different revision of the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 8GB. Some have a BIOS switch. The first revision didn't, I have that one. Perhaps based on which revision you have, and if applicable, which position the BIOS switch is in, could impact this?

You may be splitting hairs here over a 20W difference
 

deepforest

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
there is at least one different revision of the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 8GB. Some have a BIOS switch. The first revision didn't, I have that one. Perhaps based on which revision you have, and if applicable, which position the BIOS switch is in, could impact this?

You may be splitting hairs here over a 20W difference
Thanks! Yes my model have 2 bios. But default is Gaming. And i dont whant use Compute mode.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,960 (1.03/day)
Location
Long Island
Hello!) I am right that is totally normal for Sapphire 30w at idle? I want to know how technically explain this power consumption for Sapphire?


Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ Limited Edition 8 GB Review




I'd expect the Special Edition to be 1-2C higher
 

deepforest

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
I'd expect the Special Edition to be 1-2C higher
No i mean not temperature but POWER watts. And i have not Nitro but Pulse.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,779 (6.82/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well it's their bios and they engineered the card. You can always switch brands.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,255 (5.03/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2021
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X (65w eco profile)
Motherboard MSI B550 Gaming Plus
Cooling Scythe Mugen (rev 5)
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-3200 32 GiB
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT
Storage Samsung 980 Pro, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
One 60hz DVI monitor
Then, no, not normal. 30-40w is normal for multiple monitors. Should be ~13w with a single monitor and no load:
...and that's total board power, not according to software.


Are you running the latest drivers (20.2.2 WHQL)?

So, 30w is real values or incorrect sensor value?
If anything, that number is low. I think it only takes into consideration the GPU and VRM. Doesn't take into consideration total board power.


Edit: I suppose it is possible that Radeon Software is overestimating power consumption at low load and underestimating at high load.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
6,467 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dark Hero
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (Not sure what to do :/)
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero Bios 4201
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black (Only middle fan)
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 16-17-17-35 T1 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6800 XT Red Devil 2400/2000MHz@1.050V | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage OS/Games:Gigabyte M30 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 1xExos 16TB 1, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) LG UltraGear 27GP850-B 1440p@165Hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum (Backup Seasonic Focus PX 750W Platinum)
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win11 Pro 22H2 UK (Build 22000.832)
Benchmark Scores Not benchmarking anymore only Gaming. GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/3dq6f
Then, no, not normal. 30-40w is normal for multiple monitors. Should be ~13w with a single monitor and no load:
...and that's total board power, not according to software.


Are you running the latest drivers (20.2.2 WHQL)?

I am thinking if there is running anything that needs GPU acceleration in the background some where that might let the card idle at idle speed but still consume power.

A browser, game client (Steam, Ubisoft, Epic Games and so on) or something else.

I normally use GPUShark to see if there is any application that uses GPU acceleration if I see my GPU not idling as it should: https://www.ozone3d.net/gpushark/
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,255 (5.03/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2021
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X (65w eco profile)
Motherboard MSI B550 Gaming Plus
Cooling Scythe Mugen (rev 5)
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-3200 32 GiB
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT
Storage Samsung 980 Pro, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Task Manager in Windows 10 October update and newer shows GPU load under processes and the various GPU queues in the performance tab.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
6,467 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dark Hero
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (Not sure what to do :/)
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero Bios 4201
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black (Only middle fan)
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 16-17-17-35 T1 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6800 XT Red Devil 2400/2000MHz@1.050V | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage OS/Games:Gigabyte M30 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 1xExos 16TB 1, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) LG UltraGear 27GP850-B 1440p@165Hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum (Backup Seasonic Focus PX 750W Platinum)
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win11 Pro 22H2 UK (Build 22000.832)
Benchmark Scores Not benchmarking anymore only Gaming. GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/3dq6f
Task Manager in Windows 10 October update and newer shows GPU load under processes and the various GPU queues in the performance tab.

I am not sure how accurate it is to be honest it shows usage yes, and which applications that use GPU but give it a shot.

I guess I am just getting older o_O:laugh:
 

deepforest

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Are you running the latest drivers (20.2.2 WHQL)?
Edit: I suppose it is possible that Radeon Software is overestimating power consumption at low load and underestimating at high load.
Yes 20.2.2, on Win7 and Win10 i have same values in Afterburner and Radeon driver.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
6,467 (1.02/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Dark Hero
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (Not sure what to do :/)
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero Bios 4201
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black (Only middle fan)
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 16-17-17-35 T1 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6800 XT Red Devil 2400/2000MHz@1.050V | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage OS/Games:Gigabyte M30 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|Data: 850EVO 1TB, 1xExos 16TB 1, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) LG UltraGear 27GP850-B 1440p@165Hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum (Backup Seasonic Focus PX 750W Platinum)
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win11 Pro 22H2 UK (Build 22000.832)
Benchmark Scores Not benchmarking anymore only Gaming. GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/3dq6f
Yes 20.2.2, on Win7 and Win10 i have same values in Afterburner and Radeon driver.

Hmm I am not using a AMD graphics card myself even I own a Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Special Edition, but ain't there a place in the AMD Software you can monitor the GPU power I can be wrong but if there is try to close MSI Afterburner with Rivatuner (OSD overlay) and see if the power drops and if not try vice versa.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,587 (0.69/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 64Gb DDR3 Kingston/Mushkin 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-24-162-1T)
Video Card(s) 1)RX 5700 Sapphire-1910Mhz***2)MATROX M9120LP
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD +SSD Kinston 480Gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR) / Acer 24"(1080P) / Eizo 2336W(1080p) / 2x Eizo 19"(1280x1024)
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift DK2
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3791.Passmark=20689,Geekbench4=32885
Then, no, not normal. 30-40w is normal for multiple monitors. Should be ~13w with a single monitor and no load:
Yep...I concur with you......I am using RX 480 Red Devil and 3 monitors and just checked in idle or while I am watching youtube power usage is 28W-30W......
 
Last edited:
Top