1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Pure CrossFireX 790GX AM3 Motherboard Spotted

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,528
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Apart from being a major add-in board (AIB) partner for AMD's ATI Radeon and FirePro lines of graphics products, Sapphire is also a notable motherboard manufacturer that has been using chipsets by ATI for several generations of platforms now. Its latest offering is the DDR3-supportive Pure CrossFireX 790GX AM3 motherboard. It has been spotted at a Japanese store, where it was priced at 18,980 JPY (around 192.5 USD).

    Based on the AMD 790GX + SB750 chipset, the motherboard features an AM3 CPU socket. Four DDR3 DIMMs provide support for up to 16 GB of DDR3 memory. A 5+1 phase CPU power circuit is present. Heatpipe based cooling spreads heat between the northbridge and VRM heatsinks. The southbridge gets its own small heatsink. Two PCI-Express x16 slots are provided, which arrange as electrically x8, x8 when both are populated. The motherboard lacks onboard lane switching logic, and relies on a switch card that has to be installed on the second PCI-E x16, for the first one to provide all its 16 lanes to the installed graphics card. The motherboard features a Radeon HD 3300 class IGP with dedicated 128 MB of DDR3 sideport memory. Audio-routed HDMI, DVI and D-Sub connectors are provided onboard.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Akiba PC Hotline
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i just dont get why they'd put a sideport onboard video, on a full ATX board, especially a crossfire one?

    If it was mATX, sure... but not ATX.

    editt: it feels like a timwarp back to the DFI nforce 4 days - using a video card in either slot blocks smaller ones (why isnt the PCI-E 1x above the top PCI-E slot?) and extra molex power needed to the board (see above top video slot)


    This board just seems weird, its like the latest tech with an outdated board design.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,851 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,504
    I would like to know what "pure" crossfire-x is? Anyway it looks a lot like my board so I don't know how "outdated" it is.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    bloody hell, they really HAVE reused the design.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,851 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,504
    It seems to be a pretty standard layout. Even the Asus do it. Honestly I thought it was a stupid design but it seems to be the industry standard for this chipset.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Looks exactly like the black version

    [​IMG]

    Such a beautiful name for a mobo yet so basic :(.

    I don't get why they put the PCI Express right under each other? They never consider that people have dual slot cards? It would definitely block up a new wireless pcie card or soundcard.
     
  7. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    well i orderd it on the am2+ version so i will see if its any good

    it was either that or pay £40 extra for a decent dfi mobo

    EDIT: what is the point in sideport memory?
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    dedicated ram for the onboard video. its literally the same as an entire video card being on the motherboard.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Marineborn

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    its kinda nice and sad at the same time, wheres the 6 pic-e ports! WHERE!!!!...and yes i require them all
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,791 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,528
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    6 pic-e ports? You mean six PCI-E slots?
     
  11. Marineborn

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    *clears throat* YEZ!! of course that is what i meant! that was a test and luckily you passed
     
  12. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I like the cooler on it, good color and the heatpipe showing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,874 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    DFI makes these boards For Sapphire.
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,851 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,504
    I like this feature to be honest. What if you only have one video card and you happen to OC to where it goes to GPU heaven. This board allows a nice backup until your new victim arrives from the egg.

    Sure in more cases its not necessary but I like safety nets. Plus Iv been really happy with my board. I don't know why its not more popular. :confused:
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    When that onboard takes up what could have been a PCI-E 1x or 4x slot
    and probably adds $50 to the boards cost... i hardly see it as a great move.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,851 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,504
    I never use more than two PCI-E slots and one PCI slot anyway. Pretty much only gaming is what my PC is used for. However there has been a few times Iv needed the onboard after a bios flash and such.
     
  17. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    if it cant aid me at all when i have a dedicated card whats the point in it?

    id prefere another slot to that, especialy when most motherboards with the 790gx chipset all have sideport memory and all those features
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,851 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,504
    I just stated why. ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    another example would be if they used a 4x slot for the IGP, they could reuse that bandwidth to make the two main slots 10x/10x instead of 8x/8x, for example. Future proofing!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,851 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,504
    Remember the sideport memory can be used in junction with a dedicated video card. Granted its a low tier card but still. Not everyone can afford a $400 GPU.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    Yay. i just crossfired my $40 radeon 3450 512MB with my onboard radeon 3200 with 128MB of sideport.

    I now have radeon 3200 crossfire with 128MB of ram!

    I've tried crossfire on my 780G with a supported card, it actually got slower.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    yeah for a back up but most people like us have a cheap or real old backup card and anyway you can use the onboard graphics chip as a backup perfectly fine without sideport memory it just uses system memory instead

    needless to say without a dedicated graphics card the sideport memory is usefull and probly goot on matx or pico but not full sized atx wich has crossfire as a feature meaning the intend you to have 2 dedicated cards

    i thought the gpu could use the memory in game or i could see it being usefull if you only wanted the onboard to run and the graphics card could shut down to save power and noise/heat
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It's actually a rebadged Jetway board like the other sapphire 790gx
     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  24. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    so it is you explained that already to me in a thread
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,851 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,504
    Ill take your word for it. I honestly never heard of a crossfire step-up running slower than a standard one. Every review Iv seen has stated otherwise.

    Edit: I'm not doubting you. I just find it odd.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)