• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire R9 285 not working for me

Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
57 (1.27/day)
Likes
50
Location
Southeast USA
System Name “Frankenstein” Dell T5500 (installed in T3500 case)
Processor Xeon X5675
Motherboard Dell T5500
Cooling Dell Air cooler 0U016F
Memory 12 GB ECC Registered. DDR3 (4GB x 3)
Video Card(s) Nvidia NVS
Storage SATA SSD and WD HD
Display(s) Dell 24” LCD
Case Dell T3500 (donor)
Audio Device(s) Intel 2.0 HD audio on board
Power Supply Dell T5500 875 watt job. Nice beefy PS, but ugly power harness.
Mouse Um...generic?
Keyboard Hah...definitely generic
Software windows and linux
Benchmark Scores Coming!
#1
I have a "refurbished" Sapphire R9 285, that I bought off eBay.

(OK, if you want to lecture me on being stupid...you can skip this thread. Thanks!)

I installed it in my ASUS Sabertooth 990FX / AMD-FX8300 system last night and....NADA...no BIOS message, no display output on HDMI, DVI OR Displayport (tried all three).

So I don't think this is a Windows Driver thing....we aren't even getting a BIOS screen before it attempts to boot.

Now this system has been working fine with a Sapphire HD7750 card, which I removed before I installed the R9 285.

The R9 285 appears to be powering up...the fans are spinning, the Sapphire LED is lit....but no output.

I am using an Antec 550 watt supply (aka Seasonic G series) with the necessary dual six-pin PCIe cable installed and connected to the card.

Any ideas from the gang on how to proceed?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,687 (0.94/day)
Likes
1,780
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
First thing to try is the other BIOS. Start there.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
57 (1.27/day)
Likes
50
Location
Southeast USA
System Name “Frankenstein” Dell T5500 (installed in T3500 case)
Processor Xeon X5675
Motherboard Dell T5500
Cooling Dell Air cooler 0U016F
Memory 12 GB ECC Registered. DDR3 (4GB x 3)
Video Card(s) Nvidia NVS
Storage SATA SSD and WD HD
Display(s) Dell 24” LCD
Case Dell T3500 (donor)
Audio Device(s) Intel 2.0 HD audio on board
Power Supply Dell T5500 875 watt job. Nice beefy PS, but ugly power harness.
Mouse Um...generic?
Keyboard Hah...definitely generic
Software windows and linux
Benchmark Scores Coming!
#4
First thing to try is the other BIOS. Start there.
Tried the BIOS switch in both positions.

No response either way.

Verify that the card Functions in another PC ( not your dell )
This wasnt in a Dell. Have only tried it in the Asus Sabertooth 990FX MB (which is UEFI) So I need to get a different system to check it out and see what happens
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
57 (1.27/day)
Likes
50
Location
Southeast USA
System Name “Frankenstein” Dell T5500 (installed in T3500 case)
Processor Xeon X5675
Motherboard Dell T5500
Cooling Dell Air cooler 0U016F
Memory 12 GB ECC Registered. DDR3 (4GB x 3)
Video Card(s) Nvidia NVS
Storage SATA SSD and WD HD
Display(s) Dell 24” LCD
Case Dell T3500 (donor)
Audio Device(s) Intel 2.0 HD audio on board
Power Supply Dell T5500 875 watt job. Nice beefy PS, but ugly power harness.
Mouse Um...generic?
Keyboard Hah...definitely generic
Software windows and linux
Benchmark Scores Coming!
#6
Got it! Thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2017
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
Location
iran-tehran
Processor i5 4670 /xeon x3440
Motherboard asus b85 plus / biostar tp55
Cooling intel stock / green notus 400 + deep cool 120 mm second fan
Memory 12 gb ddr 3 1600 2x4gb 2x2gb /2x4gb ddr3 1600
Video Card(s) inno3d gtx 1080 ichill x3 / asus gtx 760 2gb dc2
Storage segate 4tb 2x samsung 1.5 tb-ssd plextor 256 gb m5s / hdd samsung 1 tb
Display(s) lg ultra wide 29 um65/aoc 22 1650x1024
Case green X3_Viper/green magnum 2
Power Supply green1250 paltinium/green 650 hp
Mouse a4tech g7 7400
Software win10/win10
#8
if you have Sapphire HD7750 test with installed both card at same time , connect monitor to Sapphire HD7750
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,124 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,616
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
If it Fails in another System return to Ebay Seller for refund
Sabertooth is a very renouned board, make sure legacy stuff is enabled on it, plus bios update to 2501 or 2901, I never had a problem with a Sapphire r9 290 vapor x or a xfx r7 250X
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
7,216 (1.48/day)
Likes
9,152
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#10
if you have Sapphire HD7750 test with installed both card at same time , connect monitor to Sapphire HD7750
Now this system has been working fine with a Sapphire HD7750 card, which I removed before I installed the R9 285.
System works with HD7750
Testing with both may bring about power supply issues
Antec 550 watt supply (aka Seasonic G series) with the necessary dual six-pin PCIe cable
It comes down to did the card arrive DOA
only testing in another system can clarify that.
 
Top