• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire RX 580 8GB Pulse - Display goes to black or grey snow

NZRichard

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
Sapphire RX 580 card causing 1900 x 1200 display to go to black/grey snow while browsing. Same problem with this card on a Win 10 and a Mac OS Mojave machine. No such issues using EVGA GTX 1050 (Win 10) or EVGA GTX 670 Kepler (Mac OS).

Contacted Sapphire Customer Service with full details - no response. Lots of Googling found one post on Reddit OSX with same issue but no solution. Nothing found yet on TechPowerUp.

Does anybody have similar experience or suggestions re troubleshooting and possible fixes such as reflashing BIOS?

Attaching CPU-Z screenshot for RX580 card and photo of RX580 white stickers with serial no.

For Win 10 machine - Sapphire RX 580 returns AMD Radeon Settings:
- Graphics Driver: 19.30.31.20-191126@-348909E-RadeonSoftwareAdrenalin2019
- VBIOS: 015.050.002.001

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
41 (0.27/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.1GHz (H2O Cooled)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Cooling CPU = EK Velocity / GPU = EK Vector
Memory 32GB - G-Skill Trident Z RGB @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 5700 XT (H20 Cooled)
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 500GB & 970 EVO 500GB - Toshiba 4TB HDD
Display(s) TCL 4K 49" S405 TV & LG 20" 1600x900
Case Lian Li O11-D
Audio Device(s) Presonus Studio 192 & Digidesign 003 Rack+ audio interfaces
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2S
Keyboard Matias RGB Backlit Keyboard
Software Windows 10 & macOS (Hackintosh)
did the RX 580 ever work? if so, you already answered your questions through troubleshooting. The GPU is failing if you can get good results with a GTX 670 and 1050 but have issues with the RX 580.

If this issue has occurred since day one, then I ask is the card a brand new purchase or from used market? If new then obviously deal with the retailer you bought it from and RMA it. If used then this is the gamble you take buying used. It could be a total dud or just have a particularly finicky output. With that said, try all outputs to make sure the issue occurs on all of them. I don't think it's a BIOS flash resolving type of issue with what you presented so far.

Sounds like you have it in a Mac Pro, and I have used the exact same GPU in my 2009 Mac Pro without issues. You are powering it properly by using BOTH 6 pin boosters to be combined to the single 8 pin input on the GPU? ie. you need to use a dual mini 6 pin to single 8 pin cable for this GPU in a Mac Pro
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,601 (4.49/day)
while broswing... disable hardware acceleration in the browser and see if that helps.

I assume it works outside of browsing the internet? Like games? Have you tried a different (older or newer) driver? What have YOU done so far so we don't waste time repeating things... :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,431 (6.38/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Where did you buy it from? Used or new?
 

kakantot

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
15 (0.20/day)
I used to have one of this. Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ Special Edition, it has snow like artifacts on desktop but when playing games or benchmarking the artifacts went away. It was wierd. Anyway, I busted the card as I thought it can be fixed using the heat gun method, it actually boiled the chip! Alas I will never use this 'fix' anymore. Goodluck, I hope you find a solution.
 

NZRichard

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
did the RX 580 ever work? if so, you already answered your questions through troubleshooting. The GPU is failing if you can get good results with a GTX 670 and 1050 but have issues with the RX 580.

If this issue has occurred since day one, then I ask is the card a brand new purchase or from used market? If new then obviously deal with the retailer you bought it from and RMA it. If used then this is the gamble you take buying used. It could be a total dud or just have a particularly finicky output. With that said, try all outputs to make sure the issue occurs on all of them. I don't think it's a BIOS flash resolving type of issue with what you presented so far.

Sounds like you have it in a Mac Pro, and I have used the exact same GPU in my 2009 Mac Pro without issues. You are powering it properly by using BOTH 6 pin boosters to be combined to the single 8 pin input on the GPU? ie. you need to use a dual mini 6 pin to single 8 pin cable for this GPU in a Mac Pro
Good questions:

Here's the thing - this card was purchased "new" off ebay and caused problems from Day 1; bought a second "used" RX 580 card off ebay and it works fine.

The Mac is a Hackintosh on an ATX mobo and i5 8600 CPU so PCI-E power comes directly from PSU, not mobo.

Will try DP and HDMI outputs - great suggestion.

Thanks

Where did you buy it from? Used or new?
New off ebay. Also, bought a "used" RX 580 off ebay and it works flawlessly. Never can tell!

while broswing... disable hardware acceleration in the browser and see if that helps.

I assume it works outside of browsing the internet? Like games? Have you tried a different (older or newer) driver? What have YOU done so far so we don't waste time repeating things... :)
Good suggestion. thanks
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,431 (6.38/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,118 (6.78/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
never encounter such issue with my rx, i sugest a refund or rma asap
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
41 (0.27/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.1GHz (H2O Cooled)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Cooling CPU = EK Velocity / GPU = EK Vector
Memory 32GB - G-Skill Trident Z RGB @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 5700 XT (H20 Cooled)
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 500GB & 970 EVO 500GB - Toshiba 4TB HDD
Display(s) TCL 4K 49" S405 TV & LG 20" 1600x900
Case Lian Li O11-D
Audio Device(s) Presonus Studio 192 & Digidesign 003 Rack+ audio interfaces
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2S
Keyboard Matias RGB Backlit Keyboard
Software Windows 10 & macOS (Hackintosh)
Good questions:

Here's the thing - this card was purchased "new" off ebay and caused problems from Day 1; bought a second "used" RX 580 card off ebay and it works fine.

The Mac is a Hackintosh on an ATX mobo and i5 8600 CPU so PCI-E power comes directly from PSU, not mobo.

Will try DP and HDMI outputs - great suggestion.

Thanks



New off ebay. Also, bought a "used" RX 580 off ebay and it works flawlessly. Never can tell!



Good suggestion. thanks

OK it's powered properly. Made an assumption based on what was presented it was a Mac Pro and using improper cables is a common issue with many upgrading their old machines. eBay has very good policies on returning defective items. honestly, this topic is moot now. just RMA it with the retailer you purchased it from. the 2nd card that works fine is another clear clue the 1st card is defective. Good luck, hopefully you didn't miss the return window!
 

Tetras

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
By browsing, do you mean it happens randomly while browsing, or only after the PC turns off the monitor? My Sapphire RX did this since new, apparently cos I use an unsupported DVI to HDMI cable. I just switch the outputs on the monitor (it has a button for it) and the RX 'wakes up' (it's still working after doing this for 2.5 years, 24/7).
 

NZRichard

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
By browsing, do you mean it happens randomly while browsing, or only after the PC turns off the monitor? My Sapphire RX did this since new, apparently cos I use an unsupported DVI to HDMI cable. I just switch the outputs on the monitor (it has a button for it) and the RX 'wakes up' (it's still working after doing this for 2.5 years, 24/7).
Yes, very random. Can be browsing for 20 minutes with no problem, then bam it goes to black/grey snow. Easy to correct by toggling the mode button on a PA 248 monitor (DVI -> HDMI ... > DVI).

Could be DVI is not the best output ... will try HDMI or DP. So you stuck with it... good!
 

Tetras

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
I did yeah, but it is only a problem resuming from sleep / low-power mode. That you are able to fix it by toggling the mode button makes me think it's the same problem, but why would your card be going to sleep when you're browsing? I can only assume that you're reading or watching something and not touching the PC until the monitor turns off? If not, then I'd be concerned the card is defective. I guess you could rule it out by having it sleep much sooner, or disabling sleep entirely. Edit: by the way, I think some users changed this behaviour by switching between the manufacturer and AMD drivers.
 

NZRichard

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2019
Messages
5 (0.07/day)
I did yeah, but it is only a problem resuming from sleep / low-power mode. That you are able to fix it by toggling the mode button makes me think it's the same problem, but why would your card be going to sleep when you're browsing? I can only assume that you're reading or watching something and not touching the PC until the monitor turns off? If not, then I'd be concerned the card is defective. I guess you could rule it out by having it sleep much sooner, or disabling sleep entirely. Edit: by the way, I think some users changed this behaviour by switching between the manufacturer and AMD drivers.
Tried different outputs: HDMI almost eliminates the grey snow issue except when waking from sleep, like yours, and then the snow turned to a normal display.

What do you think about replacing thermal paste between the GPU chip and heatsink?
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,975 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Tried different outputs: HDMI almost eliminates the grey snow issue except when waking from sleep, like yours, and then the snow turned to a normal display.

What do you think about replacing thermal paste between the GPU chip and heatsink?
Considering your issues don’t appear to have nothing to with thermal issues, but display issues I don’t think there is any reason to change the thermal paste. Switching to HDMI was a step in the right direction if you can try DP that is the “strongest“ connection available BUT using cheap cables can literally cause the issues you’ve experiencing as well.
 
Top