• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire rx580 nitro+ 8gb default bios not working

Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
5 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey guys i have a sapphire nitro+ rx580 8gb which have two bios controlled by a switch on the card
The default bios is bricked while on default bios switch I am unable to start the Windows because the screen is totally black with no response from either the keyboard or mouse
the secondary bios works fine but crashes in gpu intensive work such as new games like bf1
Plz help me to fix this issue
Thanks in advance
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,335 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Complete your system specs, that will help.

What is your ambient temperature the pc is in? Be honest

Since the other bios is unstable you could be having a heat problem or power problem, even driver.

Start PC with the bios that allows the display to work.

Get GPU-Z, attempt a bios upload from that program, if it is in the database it should give you a link, copy and paste that link here. You will at some point need to physically take card a part, but not now.

Once you give information requested I will find you the correct bios.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
5 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
#4
Complete your system specs, that will help.

What is your ambient temperature the pc is in? Be honest

Since the other bios is unstable you could be having a heat problem or power problem, even driver.

Start PC with the bios that allows the display to work.

Get GPU-Z, attempt a bios upload from that program, if it is in the database it should give you a link, copy and paste that link here. You will at some point need to physically take card a part, but not now.

Once you give information requested I will find you the correct bios.
The pc temperature is at almost 25°celcius
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,292 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,968
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#5
The way you describe it, and due to the fact that GPU-Z shows 0MHz for Memory Clock, makes me think your card doesn't really have Micron memory. So the memory timings are off, causing it to crash during GPU intensive apps. It shouldn't even be running at all if that's the case. But whatever. Doesn't really prove/disprove anything that it is. So you're going to need to remove the cooler from the card to verify what brand the memory is.

Also of note...that Device ID is supposed to be for a Pulse not a Nitro+.
https://pci-ids.ucw.cz/read/PC/1002/67df/1da2e353
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,335 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
The way you describe it, and due to the fact that GPU-Z shows 0MHz for Memory Clock, makes me think your card doesn't really have Micron memory. So the memory timings are off, causing it to crash during GPU intensive apps. It shouldn't even be running at all if that's the case. But whatever. Doesn't really prove/disprove anything that it is. So you're going to need to remove the cooler from the card to verify what brand the memory is.

Also of note...that Device ID is supposed to be for a Pulse not a Nitro+.
https://pci-ids.ucw.cz/read/PC/1002/67df/1da2e353
Now you see why I ask for these answers

The pc temperature is at almost 25°celcius
You will need to get a picture of the white sticker on the back of the card that has the SKU # on it, upload it here, make sure it is clear and visible.

Make sure you have some decent thermal compound around for your gpu die.

Take card heatsink off, clean gpu die, clean gpu heatsinkget a clear picture of one of the ram chips on the card, visible text. Upload pictures here.

Apply fresh compound to gpu die, remount heatsink.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
5 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
#7
The way you describe it, and due to the fact that GPU-Z shows 0MHz for Memory Clock, makes me think your card doesn't really have Micron memory. So the memory timings are off, causing it to crash during GPU intensive apps. It shouldn't even be running at all if that's the case. But whatever. Doesn't really prove/disprove anything that it is. So you're going to need to remove the cooler from the card to verify what brand the memory is.

Also of note...that Device ID is supposed to be for a Pulse not a Nitro+.
https://pci-ids.ucw.cz/read/PC/1002/67df/1da2e353
Now thats the problem iam unable to understand because in every application it is showing me a rx580 nitro plus but in gpuz it is a complete different story even on the back plate of the card is written sapphire nitro
Plz guy's help me find a solution
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,909 (0.89/day)
Likes
1,027
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1803)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#9
your device ID should end in E366 for a Nitro+

Your also running a very old driver

either way please do as eidairaman1 has asked and put up atleast pics of the white stickers on the back of the card
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
5 (0.12/day)
Likes
0
#10
I think removing heat sink will cause warranty to void, I have 1year warranty for this. Therefore I don't want to go down that route, sorry for that,
I am attaching some pictures of the box, it contains SKU and device I'd.
Maybe the original owner have flashed wrong bios in secondary bios ie E353 instead of E366.

Hey guys i removed my card from the mobo and these are some details about the card
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,335 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,029
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
I think removing heat sink will cause warranty to void, I have 1year warranty for this. Therefore I don't want to go down that route, sorry for that,
I am attaching some pictures of the box, it contains SKU and device I'd.
Maybe the original owner have flashed wrong bios in secondary bios ie E353 instead of E366.

Hey guys i removed my card from the mobo and these are some details about the card
Since you are afraid to take the card apart due to the warranty being voided, you will need to contact sapphire and request the correct bios files, you will need to give them the part number, sku number, serial number, and the reason why you need the files. Sorry I cannot help you any further because you will not take the card apart.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,909 (0.89/day)
Likes
1,027
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1803)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#12
Top