• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire RX580 NITRO+ Special Edition Silent BIOS (mfr version doesn't boot)

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello -

I'm searching for the correct BIOS file for the "silent" setting on my RX580+ Nitro Special Edition. I purchased the card used, and because the previous owner had flashed a mining BIOS, one of the two switch positions did not boot. There was no backup, and so I wrote Sapphire. They sent two BIOS files (attached as .txt files). The BIOS for the default (boost) setting (1126521) worked, but now the one for the silent bios (1126521S) doesn't boot.

The GPUz link for the default (boost) BIOS, which is working, is:
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/sapphire-nitro-rx-580-special-edition.b4912
The GPUz link for the silent (nonworking) bios is:
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/lookup?gpu=8e3349-1002:67DF-1DA2:E366.E7.8192.1120.

I've flashed the "boost" bios in the switch position closest to the fans, and the "silent" bios in the position closest to the HDMI port / bracket. Does it matter which bios goes where? I'm also attaching the GPUz output for both BIOS files. It looks like the "silent" bios clock setting is only 1120MHz?

Would anyone know where I can find the correct bios file for the "silent" setting? I've written back to Sapphire to let them know, but have not yet heard back. Thanks in advance!

Part Number: PN 299-BE366-201SA
SKU #: 11265-21
Serial Number: A173500008737
(I've also attached images with all of the SN and part numbers on my card)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,858 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Your card definitely has minning bios on it, that is why the ram speeds are 0, but also your cards ram speed default is supposed to be 2100.

It doesn't matter what position your bios switch is in but just put it in the left position for the 1430/21000 bios.

Your stock speed is supposed to be 1430/2000.

The quiet bios is not on specified on sapphire's site, i will help you locate a comprable one though.

1120 is odd
 
Last edited:

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
#3
Thanks for getting back to me. I appreciate the help - please let me know if there's any other information that would be useful.

I'm new to ATI flashing, and am not a miner so a few points are lost on me. I checked the manufacturer site and it lists the stock speed for the Special Edition as 1430/2100? Also, the GPUz screenshots (showing 0 ram speeds) were after flashing manufacturer BIOS files that Sapphire emailed me. Both the BIOS files they sent me (for boost and for silent) show 0 GPU ram speeds - does this mean the mining BIOS is still on the card even after flashing the files from Sapphire?
Thanks again!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,033 (0.90/day)
Likes
1,135
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1375/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W 80+ Silver
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1809)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#4
shouldn't the only difference between the quiet and perf BIOS's be zero fan speed and stock speeds for quiet atleast that's how my Nitro+ selection seems to work
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,858 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
shouldn't the only difference between the quiet and perf BIOS's be zero fan speed and stock speeds for quiet atleast that's how my Nitro+ selection seems to work
Most times i do not find the proverbial quiet bios, i presume its lower clock speeds, but idk.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,958 (4.23/day)
Likes
4,134
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#6
I'm wondering why the top line in the command prompt screenshot shows it as a Polaris 10, when all the BIOS in the database list it as a Polaris 20.
 

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
#7
Your card definitely has minning bios on it, that is why the ram speeds are 0, but also your cards ram speed default is supposed to be 2100.

It doesn't matter what position your bios switch is in but just put it in the left position for the 1430/21000 bios.

Your stock speed is supposed to be 1430/2000.

The quiet bios is not on specified on sapphire's site, i will help you locate a comprable one though.

1120 is odd
Thanks - saw on this thread that for Sku 11265-21, Bios position 1 (boost/default) is 1430/2100 bios and position (silent) 2 should be 1411/2100. It looks like the silent BIOS that Sapphire sent me has the wrong clock speed (1120). Wondering if the position-2 default BIOS Sapphire sent me (1430/2100) is correct since the GPU Cock RAM speed is 0. Puzzled about why the clock speeds are still 0 even after a stock BIOS reflash - could this be driver related?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,858 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Thanks - saw on this thread that for Sku 11265-21, Bios position 1 (boost/default) is 1430/2100 bios and position (silent) 2 should be 1411/2100. It looks like the silent BIOS that Sapphire sent me has the wrong clock speed (1120). Wondering if the position-2 default BIOS Sapphire sent me (1430/2100) is correct since the GPU Cock RAM speed is 0. Puzzled about why the clock speeds are still 0 even after a stock BIOS reflash - could this be driver related?
Oh ok, I will find you a comprable one then for the quiet bios
 

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
#9
Oh ok, I will find you a comprable one then for the quiet bios
Perfect, eidairaman1 - I really appreciate it. In the meantime, please let me know if there's anything I should try to reset the clock speeds to normal (they're still currently 0, even with the stock boost rom - things seem to be working fine, but it doesn't seem normal).
Thanks again!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,858 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
#11
Great - all three boot!

The quiet BIOS now boots, and posts the correct clock speed. The one from Sapphire did not, so a huge thanks here (they couldn't do anything for me)!

I still see that both BIOS settings show that GPU Memory Speed is 0 (even after flashing the verified BIOS files from the links). Is this normal, and is there anything that can / should be done about it?

I'm attaching the GPUz screenshots - please let me know if it would be helpful to see anything further.

Again, huge thanks!
Venkat
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,033 (0.90/day)
Likes
1,135
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1375/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W 80+ Silver
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1809)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#12
as long as the correct Clock speed for the ram is being applied when under load I wouldn't worry to much about it , it may or may not be a bug in GPUz in order to test the theory can you open GPUz and next to where it says Bus Interface there's a ? If you click that and run the demo it should increase the clocks to spec speeds you can check that by clicking on the Densors tab
 

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
#13
I'm wondering why the top line in the command prompt screenshot shows it as a Polaris 10, when all the BIOS in the database list it as a Polaris 20.
Yes, it was strange - it only happened when flashing the manufacturer's bios. The top line showed normally (as polaris 20) when flashing the firmware for the silent setting suggested by eidairaman1:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/191262/sapphire-rx580-8192-170320

as long as the correct Clock speed for the ram is being applied when under load I wouldn't worry to much about it , it may or may not be a bug in GPUz in order to test the theory can you open GPUz and next to where it says Bus Interface there's a ? If you click that and run the demo it should increase the clocks to spec speeds you can check that by clicking on the Densors tab
Thanks - the clock numbers increased once I started the test (screenshots attached for both BIOS settings). I don't see a separate reading for the "GPU Clock" which was at 0, but the available numbers appear to increase to spec. Does this mean the 0mhz shown by GPUz is nothing to worry about (I'm just wondering why just my card shows this)?
Again, thanks a million!
 

Attachments

Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,858 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
Remove gpu z, download latest motherboard chipset driver, download Display Driver Uninstaller.

Download latest GPU driver

Disconnect ethernet/lan cord or turn off wifi.

Remove your gpu driver using Display Driver Uninstaller follow prompts. Restart when told.

Install chipset driver. Restart

Install gpu driver, restart.

Hook back up to internet.

Get older version of gpu-z.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,033 (0.90/day)
Likes
1,135
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1375/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W 80+ Silver
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1809)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#15
why would he need an older version of GPUz
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.33/day)
Likes
0
#16
Great, thanks. As a first pass, I used device manager to update the display driver. In Device Manager, I right-clicked the icon for the RX 580, and had windows automatically search for the latest version of the driver. The result (attached) shows that with the Performance BIOS, the "GPU Clock" which was at 0, is now at 2100 Mhz.

I don't have a stock ROM to compare it to, but are there any other tests I should run to see if the newly-flashed BIOS is stock? It appears that thanks to your help, the previous mining BIOS is now completely restored to stock.

I see that Windows Update installs driver version 17.7 ("Crimson") - I have not yet installed AMD's optional "Adrenaline" driver, and will do so if others recommend it.

Thanks again!

Remove gpu z, download latest motherboard chipset driver, download Display Driver Uninstaller.

Download latest GPU driver

Disconnect ethernet/lan cord or turn off wifi.

Remove your gpu driver using Display Driver Uninstaller follow prompts. Restart when told.

Install chipset driver. Restart

Install gpu driver, restart.

Hook back up to internet.

Get older version of gpu-z.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,033 (0.90/day)
Likes
1,135
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1375/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W 80+ Silver
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1809)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#17
Good to see the cards back up and running as it should be for you. I would go ahead and install the latest driver (19.4.2) it works well with that GPU and also if you are want to OC or just adjust the fan curve Sapphire have updated their version of TriXX to 6.80 it looks better and runs better
 
Top