• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire RX580 NITRO+ Special Edition Silent BIOS (mfr version doesn't boot)

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Hello -

I'm searching for the correct BIOS file for the "silent" setting on my RX580+ Nitro Special Edition. I purchased the card used, and because the previous owner had flashed a mining BIOS, one of the two switch positions did not boot. There was no backup, and so I wrote Sapphire. They sent two BIOS files (attached as .txt files). The BIOS for the default (boost) setting (1126521) worked, but now the one for the silent bios (1126521S) doesn't boot.

The GPUz link for the default (boost) BIOS, which is working, is:
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/sapphire-nitro-rx-580-special-edition.b4912
The GPUz link for the silent (nonworking) bios is:
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/lookup?gpu=8e3349-1002:67DF-1DA2:E366.E7.8192.1120.

I've flashed the "boost" bios in the switch position closest to the fans, and the "silent" bios in the position closest to the HDMI port / bracket. Does it matter which bios goes where? I'm also attaching the GPUz output for both BIOS files. It looks like the "silent" bios clock setting is only 1120MHz?

Would anyone know where I can find the correct bios file for the "silent" setting? I've written back to Sapphire to let them know, but have not yet heard back. Thanks in advance!

Part Number: PN 299-BE366-201SA
SKU #: 11265-21
Serial Number: A173500008737
(I've also attached images with all of the SN and part numbers on my card)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Your card definitely has minning bios on it, that is why the ram speeds are 0, but also your cards ram speed default is supposed to be 2100.

It doesn't matter what position your bios switch is in but just put it in the left position for the 1430/21000 bios.

Your stock speed is supposed to be 1430/2000.

The quiet bios is not on specified on sapphire's site, i will help you locate a comprable one though.

1120 is odd
 
Last edited:

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Thanks for getting back to me. I appreciate the help - please let me know if there's any other information that would be useful.

I'm new to ATI flashing, and am not a miner so a few points are lost on me. I checked the manufacturer site and it lists the stock speed for the Special Edition as 1430/2100? Also, the GPUz screenshots (showing 0 ram speeds) were after flashing manufacturer BIOS files that Sapphire emailed me. Both the BIOS files they sent me (for boost and for silent) show 0 GPU ram speeds - does this mean the mining BIOS is still on the card even after flashing the files from Sapphire?
Thanks again!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,472 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
shouldn't the only difference between the quiet and perf BIOS's be zero fan speed and stock speeds for quiet atleast that's how my Nitro+ selection seems to work
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
shouldn't the only difference between the quiet and perf BIOS's be zero fan speed and stock speeds for quiet atleast that's how my Nitro+ selection seems to work
Most times i do not find the proverbial quiet bios, i presume its lower clock speeds, but idk.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,355 (3.68/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'm wondering why the top line in the command prompt screenshot shows it as a Polaris 10, when all the BIOS in the database list it as a Polaris 20.
 

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Your card definitely has minning bios on it, that is why the ram speeds are 0, but also your cards ram speed default is supposed to be 2100.

It doesn't matter what position your bios switch is in but just put it in the left position for the 1430/21000 bios.

Your stock speed is supposed to be 1430/2000.

The quiet bios is not on specified on sapphire's site, i will help you locate a comprable one though.

1120 is odd
Thanks - saw on this thread that for Sku 11265-21, Bios position 1 (boost/default) is 1430/2100 bios and position (silent) 2 should be 1411/2100. It looks like the silent BIOS that Sapphire sent me has the wrong clock speed (1120). Wondering if the position-2 default BIOS Sapphire sent me (1430/2100) is correct since the GPU Cock RAM speed is 0. Puzzled about why the clock speeds are still 0 even after a stock BIOS reflash - could this be driver related?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks - saw on this thread that for Sku 11265-21, Bios position 1 (boost/default) is 1430/2100 bios and position (silent) 2 should be 1411/2100. It looks like the silent BIOS that Sapphire sent me has the wrong clock speed (1120). Wondering if the position-2 default BIOS Sapphire sent me (1430/2100) is correct since the GPU Cock RAM speed is 0. Puzzled about why the clock speeds are still 0 even after a stock BIOS reflash - could this be driver related?
Oh ok, I will find you a comprable one then for the quiet bios
 

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Oh ok, I will find you a comprable one then for the quiet bios
Perfect, eidairaman1 - I really appreciate it. In the meantime, please let me know if there's anything I should try to reset the clock speeds to normal (they're still currently 0, even with the stock boost rom - things seem to be working fine, but it doesn't seem normal).
Thanks again!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Great - all three boot!

The quiet BIOS now boots, and posts the correct clock speed. The one from Sapphire did not, so a huge thanks here (they couldn't do anything for me)!

I still see that both BIOS settings show that GPU Memory Speed is 0 (even after flashing the verified BIOS files from the links). Is this normal, and is there anything that can / should be done about it?

I'm attaching the GPUz screenshots - please let me know if it would be helpful to see anything further.

Again, huge thanks!
Venkat
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,472 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
as long as the correct Clock speed for the ram is being applied when under load I wouldn't worry to much about it , it may or may not be a bug in GPUz in order to test the theory can you open GPUz and next to where it says Bus Interface there's a ? If you click that and run the demo it should increase the clocks to spec speeds you can check that by clicking on the Densors tab
 

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
I'm wondering why the top line in the command prompt screenshot shows it as a Polaris 10, when all the BIOS in the database list it as a Polaris 20.
Yes, it was strange - it only happened when flashing the manufacturer's bios. The top line showed normally (as polaris 20) when flashing the firmware for the silent setting suggested by eidairaman1:
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/191262/sapphire-rx580-8192-170320

as long as the correct Clock speed for the ram is being applied when under load I wouldn't worry to much about it , it may or may not be a bug in GPUz in order to test the theory can you open GPUz and next to where it says Bus Interface there's a ? If you click that and run the demo it should increase the clocks to spec speeds you can check that by clicking on the Densors tab
Thanks - the clock numbers increased once I started the test (screenshots attached for both BIOS settings). I don't see a separate reading for the "GPU Clock" which was at 0, but the available numbers appear to increase to spec. Does this mean the 0mhz shown by GPUz is nothing to worry about (I'm just wondering why just my card shows this)?
Again, thanks a million!
 

Attachments

Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Remove gpu z, download latest motherboard chipset driver, download Display Driver Uninstaller.

Download latest GPU driver

Disconnect ethernet/lan cord or turn off wifi.

Remove your gpu driver using Display Driver Uninstaller follow prompts. Restart when told.

Install chipset driver. Restart

Install gpu driver, restart.

Hook back up to internet.

Get older version of gpu-z.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,472 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
why would he need an older version of GPUz
 

vrl2

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2019
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Great, thanks. As a first pass, I used device manager to update the display driver. In Device Manager, I right-clicked the icon for the RX 580, and had windows automatically search for the latest version of the driver. The result (attached) shows that with the Performance BIOS, the "GPU Clock" which was at 0, is now at 2100 Mhz.

I don't have a stock ROM to compare it to, but are there any other tests I should run to see if the newly-flashed BIOS is stock? It appears that thanks to your help, the previous mining BIOS is now completely restored to stock.

I see that Windows Update installs driver version 17.7 ("Crimson") - I have not yet installed AMD's optional "Adrenaline" driver, and will do so if others recommend it.

Thanks again!

Remove gpu z, download latest motherboard chipset driver, download Display Driver Uninstaller.

Download latest GPU driver

Disconnect ethernet/lan cord or turn off wifi.

Remove your gpu driver using Display Driver Uninstaller follow prompts. Restart when told.

Install chipset driver. Restart

Install gpu driver, restart.

Hook back up to internet.

Get older version of gpu-z.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,472 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1909)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Good to see the cards back up and running as it should be for you. I would go ahead and install the latest driver (19.4.2) it works well with that GPU and also if you are want to OC or just adjust the fan curve Sapphire have updated their version of TriXX to 6.80 it looks better and runs better
 

SP1TF1R3

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Location
Banja Luka
Most times i do not find the proverbial quiet bios, i presume its lower clock speeds, but idk.
I confirm that the silent reduces the frequency. I have RX 580 8GB LE with 3 BIOS rom (Modded, Silent and Original). In my card was installed silent with 1410MHz and I install last night the Original rom and he is with 1450MHz. Fans work as well as with silent
 
D

Deleted member 163934

Guest
I don't trust Sapphire (better said I don't trust the quality of the vbios they compile). I bought 3 gpu from them, all of them new, all of them needed vbios modding to work properly:

- hd 4350 - stock vbios came with broken powerplay table, manually fixed based on a proper powerplay table from another vbios
- hd 5670 - uvd clocks bug (to their excuse this bug affects all 5xxx series)
- hd 7750 - stock vbios had weird voltage table, the card felt sluggish from first day (I had to import the voltage table from another vbios to fix it (yes I looked for same vrm, same size voltage table and I read the vrm specifications to be sure I don't blow up things; the vrm is capable to do up to 1,8V), after the mod it started to feel smooth. smoother than my current gt 1030 (I don't joke), probably it needed a bit more juice, cause the voltage changed from 1,125V to 1,2V and from my limited understanding about what's in that voltage table the way it gets to 1,2V is changed (because there are a couple of values there that were changed and I have no clue what they actually do, I don't see those values in gpu-z (vbe just overwrite them with the same value, i speculate that vbe creator had issues to understand how or what those values do, the values there might depend on vrm used also so he/she just decided to play it safe)) (but it's not surprise for me, when I undervolted my athlon ii x4 640 at 1,075V it was passing all tests but it was not feeling smooth it was sluggish, at 1,025V core 4 was failing the tests and at 1,15V it was smooth); if I got it right AMD suggested 1,2V for hd 7750 but from what I saw most manufactures opted for 1,1-1,15V for some reasons)

All 3 still work.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fero777

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I bought new Sapphire RX580 NITRO+ Special Edition from reliable electronics shop and it has the same silent mode settings 1120 MHz...
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I bought new Sapphire RX580 NITRO+ Special Edition from reliable electronics shop and it has the same silent mode settings 1120 MHz...
They are selling it as new

Get a sku sticker shot from the cards heatsink side and a gpu-z screenshot
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,118 (5.13/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
1120mhz is definitly a mod, saphhire never set so low, even entry level like maxsun is 12xx to 13xxmhz, what a shock rly
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Post those pictures and screenshot here

If the sku doesnt claim 1120 as a speed then you should demand a discount on the card for being used.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
1,118 (5.13/day)
System Name just ordinary potato system, but dont understimate potato..
Processor ryzen raven ridge 2200g, ryzen 2600 upgrade:)
Motherboard msi b350 pc mate, biostars a320, asrock ab350m micro
Cooling x2 cheap china handmade, i got plenty aigo/fantech rgb fans now heh
Memory klevv dual channel 8gb 3000mhz, trident 16gb 3600mhz, random ddr2 stick
Video Card(s) back to square, using vega 56 now:D
Storage wd green ssd 240gb, 3tb seagate expnasion, random laptop hdd x4, 1tb 3.5
Display(s) acer vgo 22inch fullhd 75hz
Case cheap segotep/dazumba mid atx, alcatroz mini atx
Audio Device(s) genius retro wood style, harman kardon stick iii
Power Supply be quite system power9, powerlogic standar, voltron 300fx, thermaltake smart 1200w
Mouse rexus, genius ps/2, powerlogic ps/2 ball tracking
Keyboard rexus, random china product x3
Software talking abt best software, autodesk/unity3d/notepad yes notepad!!
Benchmark Scores theres nothing to brag abt potato, but it can run decent 30fps fullhd with good setting:)
I don't trust Sapphire (better said I don't trust the quality of the vbios they compile). I bought 3 gpu from them, all of them new, all of them needed vbios modding to work properly:

- hd 4350 - stock vbios came with broken powerplay table, manually fixed based on a proper powerplay table from another vbios
- hd 5670 - uvd clocks bug (to their excuse this bug affects all 5xxx series)
- hd 7750 - stock vbios had weird voltage table, the card felt sluggish from first day (I had to import the voltage table from another vbios to fix it (yes I looked for same vrm, same size voltage table and I read the vrm specifications to be sure I don't blow up things; the vrm is capable to do up to 1,8V), after the mod it started to feel smooth. smoother than my current gt 1030 (I don't joke), probably it needed a bit more juice, cause the voltage changed from 1,125V to 1,2V and from my limited understanding about what's in that voltage table the way it gets to 1,2V is changed (because there are a couple of values there that were changed and I have no clue what they actually do, I don't see those values in gpu-z (vbe just overwrite them with the same value, i speculate that vbe creator had issues to understand how or what those values do, the values there might depend on vrm used also so he/she just decided to play it safe)) (but it's not surprise for me, when I undervolted my athlon ii x4 640 at 1,075V it was passing all tests but it was not feeling smooth it was sluggish, at 1,025V core 4 was failing the tests and at 1,15V it was smooth); if I got it right AMD suggested 1,2V for hd 7750 but from what I saw most manufactures opted for 1,1-1,15V for some reasons)

All 3 still work.
but not for rx480-590, nitro is on the top i believe:)
 
D

Deleted member 163934

Guest
but not for rx480-590, nitro is on the top i believe:)
I switched to nvidia so I don't really have how to know (I don't really bother to check if something is wrong unless I actually notice issues and for that I need to have in my hands that particular piece of hardware). With me switching to Linux I need proper drivers, sorry to say this but Mesa devs mentality is not the right one and with such mentality you won't see things working properly (their aproach is that the software has to be coded to work with Mesa, but they ignore the fact that some software no longer see real development and that software was coded when Mesa was in a joke situation when nobody took it serious (else you wouldn't see real compatibility bugs closed with "NO OUR BUG")). Anyway it's becoming considerable harder to mod/fix things in the vbios for newer AMD gpus.

They keep adding various things to block users from modding the bios/vbios but I don't really see things done to improve the quality of the bios/vbios.
I don't have an issue with lockdowns to block the user from modding the bios/vbios as long as the manufacturer is comiting to provide bios/vbios updates as long as it will be needed (currently it doesn't happen) and to actualy bother to fix bugs (currently it doesn't happen) and to actually do real quality check on the bios/vbios (currently it doesn't happen).
Atm there is a high disrespect showed by manufacturers regarding the clients. They just rush unpolish products on the market and don't really bother to fix their crap and then they rush the next new unpolished product and so on (it's not only regarding gpu and mb it's about almost every single piece of hardware & software sold).
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top