• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire Toxic HD4850 Crash

defach

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a Sapphire Toxic HD 4850 512mb from Newegg. I replaced an Nvidia 7800GT with it. I experience random crashes in a wide variety of games; the screen blanks out, monitor goes to no signal mode, computer freezes and the last half second of audio loops. Only way out of this is a hard reboot. I will detail all of the things I have tried and give my system specs below. I am looking for someone else with a similar problem or any suggestions anyone can make to fix this. I am aware that a new BIOS has been released for the sapphire 4870 cards, but it will not be compatible with my card.

I NEVER had any crashes with my Nvidia card. I am not bashing here, just providing a compare to rule out other parts.

Troubleshooting:
600 watt PSU, tested rails, they push fine.
Multiple memtests, no errors
Scandisk/defragmentation of all hard drives
Disabled antivirus / other scanning programs
Safe mode cleaning of drivers, tried 8.7, 8.8, 8.9 beta and now using 8.9
Profile (the XML file) editing to force clocks to not swap between 2d/3d
GPU/Memory is NOT overheating -- entire system is within temperature ranges
RBE to set all cores at a constant clock speed with the highest voltage
Changed all 3d settings in CCC to every possible combination. I seem to have the best luck with AAA off, VPU recover on (even though it doesn't work) force off vsync, allowing applications to control AA and sampling
Loading GPU with Folding@home to keep it busy (seems to help)
Different resolutions, windowed/fullscreen settings

Games affected:
Bioshock - Unplayable. 2-15 minutes into the game, randomly on any level, black screen freeze
Civilization 4 Colonization - at any point, even sometimes on the menus
World of Warcraft - This game runs the best, no crashes in windowed mode, maximized, can run two instances (of the game, multiboxing) just fine
Call of Duty 4 - First game I played with card, played the whole game without a single crash, still does not crash.

Inconsistancies:
I was once able to play Bioshock for 8 hours with only one crash about halfway through. I have tried to reproduce the settings and can not get a similar experience.
I was also once able to play Civ 4 Colonization for six hours without a single crash. The next day when I resumed playing, I crashed within minutes.
WoW would occasionally crash when using the test realm client in windowed mode without maximizing it (removing the title bar, edges)
Sometimes after changing some 3d settings, I will get a crash when just using applications (not gaming or video intensive). This crash is different -- it will VPU recover itself, and then tell me I need to restart because the display driver stopped responding
I have thrice gotten a BSOD while not gaming that gave a Thread stuck in device driver error. I have attempted all of the troubleshooting related to that (namely, new drivers) and have been unable to fix all of my problems.

System Specs:
Windows XP Pro 32bit SP3
5g ram (i know it's overkill, memtested fine)
Xfi Platinum
Pentium D 2.8

I am at a loss for ideas here. I firmly do not think that the card is 'defective', only that this is a driver or GPU BIOS issue. I will be happy to provide additional information. I apologize for the length and unpretty formatting. Thank you to everyone who reads this.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
lol no :confused:
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Free bump because the forum anti-spam software blocked your posts and made a mess of your thread. Sorry about that.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
At any time during any of the crashes did a small red LED turn on, located on the bottom of the card?
 

defach

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Thanks for all the help getting the post sorted out!

I have not noticed it. I will take a look at it during crashing -- right now there are no LED lights at all on the card. Just have to turn the computer around. I will crash it right now and be back in ~15. Using 8.10 RC2 now, same deal.
 

defach

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
No LEDs at all during or after crash. When I reboot the system, I also do not see any LED lights come on. I am in a dark room with a case window and minimal case lighting. I can see the back (non fan) side of the card easily. I do not see where there would be LEDs to light up.
 

berp

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Were you able to find a solution? I'm having the same problem and I've tried pretty much the same things you mention without any success.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#8
Did you uninstall Nvidia drivers, run Driver Cleaner before installing ATi drivers? The remnants may not be playing nicely together.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#9
More detailed plz . 5GB RAM? How the freak is there a combination that makes 5 GB RAM.
AND WTF::: How the hell you play Cod 4 and Bioshock on this thing:

System Specs:
Windows XP Pro 32bit SP3
5g ram (i know it's overkill, memtested fine)
Xfi Platinum
Pentium D 2.8
 

defach

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I have resolved my problem. I needed to underclock to stock (not Toxic) speeds using Rivatuner. Underclocking with any other method did not work. I apply the profile on startup, and I have had ZERO crashes since. Looks like there was a problem with the TOXIC cards and they can't run at advertised speed.

Yes I did clean the NVIDIA drivers, and I have zero FPS problems running COD4 or Bioshock. What is so bad about my setup? I realise it's not a Core 2 Duo, but the PD's were great chips at the time, they just run a little bit hot. I run them at 1680x1050 with all options on, too.

I had two 1g chips, bought two 2g chips, one 2g chip failed, replaced it with another 1g. 3x1g + 2g = 5g async.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Texas
System Name Alienware Aurora
Processor i970 @3.8
Motherboard Alienware x58
Cooling Alienware liquid
Memory 12 gigs Corsair XMS tri-channel
Video Card(s) Visiontek 7950 3 gig
Storage Barrucuda 500 gig sata II x 2
Display(s) Dell U2312HM
Case Aurora
Audio Device(s) Realtec 7.1
Power Supply 875 watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#11
try just using the 2 x1 gig chips for a total of 2 gigs and put it back at default speeds and see if that fixes the problem.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2006
Messages
310 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
System Name Junkamatic
Processor i7
Motherboard Z77
Cooling Thermaltake
Memory Corsair
Video Card(s) Evga GTX770
Storage 4 Seagate Satas
Display(s) VW266H
Case Lian-Li A77B
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Corsair HX1000w
Software W7
#12
Maybe your over-clocking your card to much.
 

Paintface

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
389 (0.11/day)
Likes
72
Processor E5200 @ 3.7ghz
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P35 DARK
Cooling Zalman CPU + case cooling
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 4GB 1066
Video Card(s) Saphire 4890 Vapor-X OCed
Storage Raptor 74GB + 640GB sata + 1TB sata ( all WD)
Display(s) BENQ 24inch LCD 1080p
Case my desk
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply OCZ gameXstream 700w
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
#13
I have resolved my problem. I needed to underclock to stock (not Toxic) speeds using Rivatuner. Underclocking with any other method did not work. I apply the profile on startup, and I have had ZERO crashes since. Looks like there was a problem with the TOXIC cards and they can't run at advertised speed.

Yes I did clean the NVIDIA drivers, and I have zero FPS problems running COD4 or Bioshock. What is so bad about my setup? I realise it's not a Core 2 Duo, but the PD's were great chips at the time, they just run a little bit hot. I run them at 1680x1050 with all options on, too.

I had two 1g chips, bought two 2g chips, one 2g chip failed, replaced it with another 1g. 3x1g + 2g = 5g async.
i have the same problem, sadly underclocking does not fix it for me, i suspected my creative soundcard giving issues, did you try playing at toxic clocks without your xifi card pulled out and drivers disabled? this would help me out in trouble shooting.

thanks in advance
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#14
rma card.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
I seem to have the same problem. How do you underclock the card? I also seem to have seen a few references to updating the GPU Bios on a few sites, how do you do that?

My system does not BSOD but does crash and I get a screen of vertical lines. Not always consistent with games. Games which I can't get more than 2 mins into are: bioshock/crysis/cryis warhead/empite total war (inconsistent as to when it crashes)/farcry2/stalker. Convesly I got all the way through medol of honour airbourne and so far so good with COD World at War.

Any help from anyone would be appreciated as i'm about to give up on PC gaming altogether

My system is:
Vista home
2 x OCZ 2GB KIt (2x1GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 Reaper Memory HPC Edition Dual Channel Kit CL5
ASUS M3A 770 Socket AM2+ 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard
AMD Phenom X4 Quad Core 9950 2.6GHz Black Edition Socket AM2+ Retail Boxed Processor
Sapphire HD 4850 Toxic Edition 512MB GDDR3 Dual DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphics Card
Creative soundblaster X Fi fatality
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#16
Toxic over heating problem possibly nailed on the head

I'm 99.9% sure I have figured out the root of a huge problem with the Toxic HD4850 crashing.

Simple.

The card gets hot because the fan spins so slow.

I figured this out using FurMark and enabling Xfire for it.
Using Furmark to test for stability and running CCC to underclock the Hd4850 Toxic as close as possible to the reference design VisionTek HD4850.

I'll post some screen shots later on of the temps of each card along with the speeds of the fans all while under load.

Right now I'm going to try to figure out a way to increase the speed of the Toxic HD4850 fan. CCC doesn't do a thing for it.

Fan of Toxic maxes out around 1950 RPM and the VisionTek tops out at over 7860RPM using CCC.


The VisionTek stock heat sink and fan keep it running at 65/69/65 degress stable with the fan at 100% under 99% load from Furmark.

Toxic with GPU clock adjust to 655 mhz and GDDR3 RAM@1100 mhz under Furmark load runs 87/96/88 with only 90% load.


I think the percentage of load able to process is limited to the heat of the GPU. Since the VisionTek GPU is much cooler it can process 99% load while the hot Sapphire Toxic can only handle 90% of full furmark load.

I'm sure overall temps of both card in Xfire effect how efficient it can process.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#17
Here is a screen shot that covers the situation.

 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#18
In response to this locked thread:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=953069#post953069




This fan is very quiet.

Big mistake in not making the fan control adjustable.

This card has so much potential to perform but is limited because the fan doesn't spin fast enough to keep it cool.

Where is the OP of that thread? :wtf: That was the only post made by the OP.
 

zlimvos

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
At any time during any of the crashes did a small red LED turn on, located on the bottom of the card?
Hello there
I have crashes with the red led turning on. I am trying now to find what it means and going through forums. I hope you are still around to tell me cause there is nothing in the 'manual'..
(I suspect temperature)
Sorry for reviving the post, but i figured maybe more googled and ended up in this post for same reason.

cheers
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
no problem. After reading various comments on here and also even getting a letter puplished in PCZone mag about the issue, I still kept getting crashes, intended to send card back, but never got around to it, so just put up with it, kept machine well cooled and settings on low, with intention to replace with a dx11 card.
However, i randomly looked to recheck drivers last month and since then the card seems ok, but I haven't really tested it, but certainly no crashes since, but not used with extreme games yet.
I don't remember ever having any red light issues
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.26/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#21
I know old resurrected post.

I have seen these issues before with the toxic cards sadly.

Seems they are just toxic waste in some cases and under-clocking is the only answer.

But then again.

My HD4850 does the same thing as the OPs if I run my AC Twin Turbo passive.
The strange thing is.....the temperature read out is below stock cooler temperatures and this will happen which leads me to believe it is not the core but another component of the GPU which is over heating....

I point to the VRMs as the VRM heat sinks supplied with the Twin Turbo are rather small and not directly in contact with the main cooler itself.

So I would say the same thing which happened to my HD4850 when running passive has happening to the Toxic versions.