• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

sapphire vapor-x 6770 unable to overclock

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
my sapphire vapor-x 6770 is completely unable to overclock. on the default clocks(core@860 mem@ 1200) run smooth and without a hiccup if i try to use it on the core@910 mem 1300 in 1 minute flat it will crash the whole system (or make many artifacts)


it is on a clean windows 7 x64 install with 12.1 drivers

other hardware

amd 955 @ 3800
msi 790fx gd-70
750 watt psu
ohh and about 6 fans on the case
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
more info.


bios version 012.020.000.055.000000 (113-e14802elp-ep4)

on core@950 mem@1350 crash instantly.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,250 (4.31/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
dunno if you know this, but the 6770 is a re-badged 5770 most 5770's needed a voltage increase to come anywhere close to 1GHz on the core.

Since your card is a non reference card, you will not be able to tweak the voltage.

----

In otherwords, you didnt win the draw when you submitted your ticket (order) for the card.
and thats probably the best it can do on stock volts.

If you feel you need more performance then sell up and get a 6950 as they are going fairly cheaply now and do provide much much bang for buck
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
my previous card was an sapphire 5770 and with the same volts (i think) it was stable with core@950 mem@1350.


but i guess you might have a point.maybe the bios is very strict on the voltage management.I guess i might use an bios editor to change that.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,250 (4.31/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
its nothing to do with how strict the card is on voltage, there are HARDWARE differences between a reference and non reference cards. Non reference cards do not have the Volterra chip needed for voltage tweaking.

Even if you edit it in the bios, it wont work as the card needs to support voltage tweaking in the first place.

If you do go ahead with messing with the bios then you run the risk of potentially bricking your card. (dont say i didnt warn you)

Also some lower end 6xxx series cards dont like their bios's being modified due to AMDs driver modifications - Drivers will 'check' a card at boot up and will BSOD the system if the speeds dont match the ones coded into the driver. I dont know if someone has found a way around this yet but last time I heard, you had no choice but to use programs like afterburner or TriXX to overclock them and load overclocks when windows starts up.

I honestly wouldnt mess with the card, if thats the best the card can do, then theres no use trying to push it unless you want to be without a graphics card for a month while Sapphire sort out your RMA.
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.16/day)
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
i have found many reviews of this card ,and in most of them they says that they have achieved oc even far as core@950/mem@1385 so i thing the card can handle it.

my guess is either bios or the card is faulty.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,250 (4.31/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
i have found many reviews of this card ,and in most of them they says that they have achieved oc even far as core@950/mem@1385 so i thing the card can handle it.

my guess is either bios or the card is faulty.
No CPU, GPU. Motherboard, RAM or hardware in general is ever the same...

For example....My CPU overclocks to 4.9Ghz, Ive built rigs with almost the same identical setup that struggled to get to 4.7Ghz no matter how much voltage i put through it.

Reviews are more of a general headsup to let you know what is achievable, that doesnt mean you can achieve it. Nothing is ever 100% identical when it comes to hardware.

If you can get a good OC on it, then you are lucky - If not then your just unlucky enough to be given a card thats bad at OC'n and thats all there is to it...

THAT DOESNT MEAN THAT THE BIOS OR THE CARD IS FAULTY

Where motherboard bios's are concerned some bios's might handle voltages differently which results in instabilities or super stable overclocks. things like Vdroop or issues with VRM control can often be fixed or improved with a bios updates as the bios's mature.
 
Top