• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Vapor-X R7 370 won't post

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
HI
I have a TB250-BTC motherboard with internal graphics and a Sapphire Vapor-X R7 370 GPU.
The pc was used for mining, but now I would like to use it for light gaming.
The pc worked fine for mining with 2 R7 370 GPU's on pcie riser cards, but when I plug the GPU into the pcie slot on the motherboard it won't post.
I've played around with the bios settings, but I cannot get it to work.
I've disabled mining mode in the bios and I've tried every possible combination of bios settings, but the card is either not recognised or I get an error.
There is no error message the slot just shows red on the bios screen on startup and the pc boots with the internal GPU.
Please help as I'm about to use it as a fire starter.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,917 (1.64/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX / XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.735 Firestrike | P31.369 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
Did you try a different slot? Do you have a different motherboard to try it out on?
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
Check the PCIe slot for damages. Some cheap riser cards can do that.

Make sure you're using certified DP cable and not some cheap cable.

Update the motherboard BIOS to the latest version and check UEFI / CSM options.

If you modded the BIOS on the graphics card, restore the original one.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,610 (4.13/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
There is no error message the slot just shows red on the bios screen on startup and the pc boots with the internal GPU.
Sounds like you have the iGPU connected to the display and not the dGPU.
Make sure the display cable is connected to the Graphics Card.
 

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
The MB only has 1 full length pcie slot, the other can only work with riser cards.
The GPU works with a riser in one of the smaller pcie slots, but not in the full length slot.
The slot marked with red in the pic does not work, the green ones work.
The bios is set to software select primary video, because I need the internal GPU for troubleshooting as the R7 370 does not show anything.
I tried setting the R7 370 to primary, but then I had to reset the bios to get any output from the internal GPU
tb250.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,917 (1.64/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX / XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.735 Firestrike | P31.369 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
The MB only has 1 full length pcie slot, the other can only work with riser cards.
The GPU works with a riser in one of the smaller pcie slots, but not in the full length slot.
The slot marked with red in the pic does not work, the green ones work.
View attachment 156609
Please answer the questions/suggestions people do when they try to help you. Did you try a different graphics card?
 

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
I have 2 x R7 370 and I have tried both.
I've flashed the MB bios to the latest version and I have tried 3 different bios versions on the GPU's

I'm trying to answer the questions, I've not had anything in that slot previously, so I doubt that it was damaged by a riser.
I've tried all 3 outputs on the cards.
I've tried every possible bios setting and combination of settings.
One thing that I am not sure of is that windows is installed in legacy mode, so not sure if that could be an issue, but I have set the video to legacy and uefi.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,610 (4.13/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Do you have the 2x 6 pin power plugs connected to the card?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,917 (1.64/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX / XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.735 Firestrike | P31.369 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
I have 2 x R7 370 and I have tried both.
I've flashed the MB bios to the latest version and I have tried 3 different bios versions on the GPU's
Option A) mainboard is incompatible with the GPU's. Unlikely.
Option B) the mainboard's main PCI-E slot is broken. Somewhat likely.

Only thing you can do, to be more sure, try a different GPU on this mainboard. But it is somewhat likely that the PCI-E slot is broken.
 

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
I do not have another MB to try, but as the cards both work if I use a pcie riser, I doubt that they are faulty.

I have 2 x 6 pin power plugs connected

I will see if I can get another GPU to try.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,610 (4.13/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
the slot just shows red on the bios screen on startup
The MB only has 1 full length pcie slot
The slot marked with red in the pic does not work
View attachment 156609
The slot showing in red on the bios screen indicates it is selected and functional.
you contradict yourself by saying it does not work.
More likely the Graphics card is faulty or you stuffed it by flashing.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,917 (1.64/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX / XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.735 Firestrike | P31.369 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
I think he is talking about mainboard error LEDs.
 

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
I have 2 cards and have kept 1 with stock bios to check

They both work if plugged into one of the smaller pcie slots via riser
If the cards were both faulty of had a bad bios flashed, surely they should not work in another slot.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,917 (1.64/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX / XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.735 Firestrike | P31.369 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
I have 2 cards and have kept 1 with stock bios to check

They both work if plugged into one of the smaller pcie slots via riser
If the cards were both faulty of had a bad bios flashed, surely they should not work in another slot.
After you have tested another GPU, you will probably have your answer then.
 

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
Just to clarify the MB has 5 x PCI-E 3.0 x1 Slots and 1 x PCI-E 3.0 x16 Slot.
The graphics cards work if connected with a riser card to any of the PCIE 3.0 x1 slots, but not if installed in the PCI-E 3.0 x16 Slot.

The PCI-E 3.0 x16 Slot is probably faulty then, and must have been from the start as it has never been used before.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,917 (1.64/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX / XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.735 Firestrike | P31.369 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
The PCI-E 3.0 x16 Slot is probably faulty then, and must have been from the start as it has never been used before.
Possibility. Test a different GPU and report back.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,610 (4.13/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Red = error, grey = not there, yellow = working
My apologies.
I was wrong.
Perhaps it is still set to mining in the Bios and the X16 slot is disabled?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,610 (4.13/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Just to clarify the MB has 5 x PCI-E 3.0 x1 Slots and 1 x PCI-E 3.0 x16 Slot.
The graphics cards work if connected with a riser card to any of the PCIE 3.0 x1 slots, but not if installed in the PCI-E 3.0 x16 Slot.
Had you previously set the PCI-e 3.0x1 slots to PCI-e 1.0x1?
If so has it been reverted to 3.0?

edit: have you tried connecting a Molex 4 pin to the Auxpwr1 just in case that is an issue?
 
Last edited:

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
I have tried Auto, Gen1, Gen2 and Gen3 settings.
I have Molex 4 pin connected to Auxpwr1 and 2 from PSU.
It is a 750w PSU.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
Disable UEFI and enable CSM legacy mode.

Does the Radeon card appear in the device manager if you use the integrated GPU?
 

adri76

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
12 (0.28/day)
I did try disabling UEFI and using legacy.
UEFI did not work at all and legacy detected the card in the slot, but it showed up red (error) in the PCIE detection screen.
622dd741632408c47712afa2bd3.jpg

This is not an actual screenshot, but this is basically what I get
 
Top