• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire X1950 GT

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Sapphire's new X1950 GT is based on ATI's RV570 GPU. It comes with 256 MB of GDDR3 memory and is cheaper than the Radeon X1900 GT. Of course you can not expect performance wonders from a $140 card, but it is a great way to survive the wait for ATI's next-gen products while being able to play all the latest games.

Show full review
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,394 (0.93/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Memory Team T-FORCE XCALIBUR RGB 4000 @3466 CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Did I read wrong or there is a mistake...
X1900GT use RV570?:confused:
And the standard X1950Pro is 256MB DDR3...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 2400G
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX450M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
yeah, i could have sworn the x1900gt was based on the r580

The GPU used is the RV570 Revision A12. I wonder what the little X stands for on the GPU.
my guess would be they use that to mark the rv570 cores that didn't pass the tests at x1950pro specs

just a guess though
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
original x1900 gt uses r580 .. x1900 gt rev. 2 uses rv570
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.34/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
As nice as the reviews are w1z, isnt it about time those game tests are updated? 3dmark is, afterall, just a synthetic test.
 

zwawy

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Location
Egypt
System Name Zwawy
Processor Phenom II 710 Unlocked X4@3GHz
Motherboard Biostar - TA790GX3 A2+.
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston-DDR2-800 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4850 512Mb+Zalman VF1000
Storage Western Digital 500 GB SATA-II
Display(s) ViewSonic VA1918wm 19" LCD (WXGA+)
Case Gamma Small
Power Supply HEC ACE - 420W
Software Windows 7 X64 B.7600
very nice reviews..thanks
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.20/day)
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Great review, will help clear up some of the common misconceptions that some people here have about the differences between the three.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
As nice as the reviews are w1z, isnt it about time those game tests are updated? 3dmark is, afterall, just a synthetic test.
which apps would you suggest we use? they need to have an integrated benchmark feature .. only thing i can think of right now is suprememe commander which is horribly inaccurate.

3dmark06 == 3dmark05 + cpu test .. so not really any difference compared to 3dmark05
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.34/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Something thats extremely demanding in the real world would be nice, say the likes of Oblivion, its in-game FPS counter or fraps could be used to obtain average framerates in places that really matter, like the heavily forested areas and the FPS killing active Oblivion gate areas dotted around. For shits and giggles FPS in places like the Imperial City and indoor areas like taverns could be taken too just for completeness.
 

ZakB

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
After talking to Sapphire about this they sent me a new BIOS. With this the card is a lot quieter and much more fun to use.
-Can someone tell me how to change BIOS on this card, is there any tutorial or beginners guide?
-Am I going to lose waranty if I do that?

Thanks for review, it's really great!
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 2400G
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX450M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
As nice as the reviews are w1z, isnt it about time those game tests are updated? 3dmark is, afterall, just a synthetic test.
thats why there are game tests in the review too.:nutkick:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
you cant automate oblivion :/
 

GargoyleBG

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Processor E6400@3504Mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS4
Cooling Scythe Ninja+
Memory 4x512Mb A-Data, Elpida chips
Video Card(s) Sapphire 1950GT
Storage Hitachi SATA2 250Gb+320Gb
Display(s) 21" Dell P1130
Case Codegen ATX-9001
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2
Power Supply Fortron 460W

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
yes it's the correct bios i got from sapphire .. i will dump my bios from the card once i'm back from travelling
 

lordgestle

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Question. Noticed the VRM component layout is different compared to the X1950 Pro reference. Reason I ask is that I just received a Sapphire x1950 Pro 512MB and they layout matches exactly to the x1950GT. I'm a little dissapointed as I already order the VRM cooler for the Accelero and my guess is that this will no longer work so I just wasted an additional 7 bucks. I guess the bigger question is that is this new revision a better version compared to the previous revision (which required a cooler) for the 1950 pro line or is this just bringing the cost down for those models.
All I know is seeing those big caps on a video card does not give me a warm and fuzzy feeling.
*Edit*
Just noticed it missing the mounting holes for the accelero outside of the 4 around the gpu. This 1950 pro going back.
 
Last edited:

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.34/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
You dont have to automate oblivion, using its built in FPS counter is good enough to test a card with oblivions more challenging areas like in dense forests. As pretty much all graphics cards struggle in this game, IMO its a good test to see if the card you have been eyeing up to upgrade to is really worth its salt.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 2400G
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX450M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
You dont have to automate oblivion, using its built in FPS counter is good enough to test a card with oblivions more challenging areas like in dense forests. As pretty much all graphics cards struggle in this game, IMO its a good test to see if the card you have been eyeing up to upgrade to is really worth its salt.
no not having an automated test means that the conditions can't be reproduced identically every single time, meaning the tests will be invalid
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.45/day)
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
Any word on the Sapphire 1950GT 512mb version review? I've searched the internet high and low but cannot find one..
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.34/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
no not having an automated test means that the conditions can't be reproduced identically every single time, meaning the tests will be invalid
No, they wont. all you have to do is pick a dense area, then save the game there and load it up. The save file has all essential information to make it useful. Doesnt matter what system that save file is then used on, it will still load with the player in the EXACT place they were standing. From there a general 360 degree sweep is enough to see a minimum and maximum FPS and to work out an "average"
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 2400G
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX450M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
No, they wont. all you have to do is pick a dense area, then save the game there and load it up. The save file has all essential information to make it useful. Doesnt matter what system that save file is then used on, it will still load with the player in the EXACT place they were standing. From there a general 360 degree sweep is enough to see a minimum and maximum FPS and to work out an "average"
no that isn't good enough because the frame rate will vary greatly based simply on how fast you do the 360 sweep

for any framerate test to be valid every single aspect has to be identical on every single run
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,617 (1.26/day)
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
W1zzard - What are the temps on that 1950GT card and how does it compare with 1950Pro? Is the fan loud/too loud at full speed? Can you try posting the temps with default cooler and after market cooler like Artic cooler?
 

NewbieBuilder

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
Location
California
Oh wow, thank you for the review, I was planning to get this gfx card but I still wasn't quite sure on how it would perform. This cleared up most of the stuff I was unsure about. I'll definitely be getting this then.
 
Top