1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire X1950 GT

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,769 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,507
    Sapphire's new X1950 GT is based on ATI's RV570 GPU. It comes with 256 MB of GDDR3 memory and is cheaper than the Radeon X1900 GT. Of course you can not expect performance wonders from a $140 card, but it is a great way to survive the wait for ATI's next-gen products while being able to play all the latest games.

    To read this review go to: https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Sapphire/X1950_GT/
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,999 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Did I read wrong or there is a mistake...
    X1900GT use RV570?:confused:
    And the standard X1950Pro is 256MB DDR3...
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    681 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    yeah, i could have sworn the x1900gt was based on the r580

    my guess would be they use that to mark the rv570 cores that didn't pass the tests at x1950pro specs

    just a guess though
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,769 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,507
    original x1900 gt uses r580 .. x1900 gt rev. 2 uses rv570
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    As nice as the reviews are w1z, isnt it about time those game tests are updated? 3dmark is, afterall, just a synthetic test.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. zwawy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Egypt
    very nice reviews..thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Great review, will help clear up some of the common misconceptions that some people here have about the differences between the three.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,769 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,507
    which apps would you suggest we use? they need to have an integrated benchmark feature .. only thing i can think of right now is suprememe commander which is horribly inaccurate.

    3dmark06 == 3dmark05 + cpu test .. so not really any difference compared to 3dmark05
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Something thats extremely demanding in the real world would be nice, say the likes of Oblivion, its in-game FPS counter or fraps could be used to obtain average framerates in places that really matter, like the heavily forested areas and the FPS killing active Oblivion gate areas dotted around. For shits and giggles FPS in places like the Imperial City and indoor areas like taverns could be taken too just for completeness.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. ZakB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    -Can someone tell me how to change BIOS on this card, is there any tutorial or beginners guide?
    -Am I going to lose waranty if I do that?

    Thanks for review, it's really great!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    681 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    thats why there are game tests in the review too.:nutkick:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,769 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,507
    you cant automate oblivion :/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. GargoyleBG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,769 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,507
    yes it's the correct bios i got from sapphire .. i will dump my bios from the card once i'm back from travelling
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. lordgestle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Question. Noticed the VRM component layout is different compared to the X1950 Pro reference. Reason I ask is that I just received a Sapphire x1950 Pro 512MB and they layout matches exactly to the x1950GT. I'm a little dissapointed as I already order the VRM cooler for the Accelero and my guess is that this will no longer work so I just wasted an additional 7 bucks. I guess the bigger question is that is this new revision a better version compared to the previous revision (which required a cooler) for the 1950 pro line or is this just bringing the cost down for those models.
    All I know is seeing those big caps on a video card does not give me a warm and fuzzy feeling.
    *Edit*
    Just noticed it missing the mounting holes for the accelero outside of the 4 around the gpu. This 1950 pro going back.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    You dont have to automate oblivion, using its built in FPS counter is good enough to test a card with oblivions more challenging areas like in dense forests. As pretty much all graphics cards struggle in this game, IMO its a good test to see if the card you have been eyeing up to upgrade to is really worth its salt.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    681 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    no not having an automated test means that the conditions can't be reproduced identically every single time, meaning the tests will be invalid
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,106 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Any word on the Sapphire 1950GT 512mb version review? I've searched the internet high and low but cannot find one..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,507 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    No, they wont. all you have to do is pick a dense area, then save the game there and load it up. The save file has all essential information to make it useful. Doesnt matter what system that save file is then used on, it will still load with the player in the EXACT place they were standing. From there a general 360 degree sweep is enough to see a minimum and maximum FPS and to work out an "average"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    681 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    no that isn't good enough because the frame rate will vary greatly based simply on how fast you do the 360 sweep

    for any framerate test to be valid every single aspect has to be identical on every single run
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,553 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,124
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    W1zzard - What are the temps on that 1950GT card and how does it compare with 1950Pro? Is the fan loud/too loud at full speed? Can you try posting the temps with default cooler and after market cooler like Artic cooler?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. NewbieBuilder New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    76 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Oh wow, thank you for the review, I was planning to get this gfx card but I still wasn't quite sure on how it would perform. This cleared up most of the stuff I was unsure about. I'll definitely be getting this then.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)