• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Sapphire X800GT COMPLETE NEWB, Need LaserMod help, Voltage Solder, and Card Identity

devilspy

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi everyone, I just received this card today off ebay and popped it into my cpu. (deided to make my own thread.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Sapphire-RADEON...9913209QQihZ004QQcategoryZ80184QQcmdZViewItem

Display adapter RADEON X800 GT (0x554B)
Core Name R423
SubVendor Sapphire (P.C. Partner) (174B)
SubDevice 0600
BUS 5
Device 0
Function 0
Base Address 0 D000000C
Base Address 1 00000000
Base Address 2 FD7F0004
Base Address 3 00000000

Bus Type PCI Express
Hardware Information ASIC (Software) Method
Family 56
Emulated Revision 2
Gfx Engine ID 3
VRam Bit Width 256
Installed memory 256

Hardware Information Direct hardware access
Installed memory 256 Mb
Memory Type GDDR3
Memory Width 256 bit
Active Rendering Pipelines 8

______________________________
Radeon Registers
RADEON_BIOS_0_SCRATCH 02000002
RADEON_BIOS_1_SCRATCH 0500C000
RADEON_X_MPLL_REF_FB_DIV 00464904
RADEON_XCLK_CNTL 00807FFA
RADEON_MCLK_CNTL 00031212
GB_TILE_CONFIG 00010017
MC_TIMING_CNTL 69668334
MC_SDRAM_MODE_REG 10430000
______________________________
Video BIOS Information
Version 009.010.001.015
Part Number 474r423.pcp
Date 2005/06/28 11:08
Vram Type DDR3
____________________
Displays supported by adapter
0 (1) Monitor (CRT1)
1 (2) Second Monitor (CRT2)
2 (4) Component Video Output
3 (8) TV
4 (16) Digital Flat Panel


Its 8 pipelines, attached pics below. I want to get to 12 at the very least ,16 is what I'm aiming at. The card has a stock cooler for now, video goes blank from heat when I try to oc too high...due to temp going to over 65C(or maybe voltage draw, its only running on a true 300w power-supply)..i had no artifacts but it shuts off, memory highest was 614mhz w/out artifacts..and gpu got to 525 before heat-up..but stable at 510 or below .

Soldering is not a problem for me, I do it all the time, good at following diagrams, but not great at figuring out what does what. Voltage mod , laser cut pipe-unlocking, heard it all mentioned, but hard to find specific guides..i think that vmod guide is aimed at my exact card? Couldn't find the link to the laser mod re-solder(where r the points?) for 16 or 12, and can I use thin led free solder with a 15w fine tip point?, also if anyone could point me to the right Bios for my card would be appreciated.

oh yeah the:
Memory Chips
Samsung 531
K4J553230FGC20

AWE451PZA 3 CHIPS
AWE547GAA 5 CHIPS
AWE485GAA 1 CHIP

CHIP/CORE ?
ATI RADEON X800GT
215RBMAGA12F
GF9177.1
0531AA
TAIWAN

PART # PRINTED ON (RED COLORED)PCB 109-A47401-10
Noticed a dip switch on the back anyone know whats that for?
Hope this is enough data.
 

Attachments

PtokaXX

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Sweden,skåne
Processor AMD athlon 64 3500+@2.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus A8N5X
Cooling Zalman 9500-LED
Memory 4*512 Kingston
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850Pro*Zalman AlCu-VF700
Storage 410Gb
Display(s) LG L1932P-SN 4ms
Case Antec Sonatta II
Power Supply Antec Smartpower 450w
#2
your core is R423
 

devilspy

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
been reading through the 100s of pages of posts, looks like I might be out of luck to get 16pipes no matter what amounts of solderign I do..right?

So how do I at least get 12?
Found that alot of ppl are praising Dolfs iso, anyone have that?

I attached my bios dump for more reference. I plan on putting a zalman cooler with the two huge plates, once I find the core adapter.

Oh my email is atimod@gmail.com for applicable bios, and tools. Thnx
 

Attachments

Last edited:

devilspy

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
I ran it through Riva Tuner, I have no clue what I'm doing, anyway it says its R430?
> Hardware table: at 0xB192, Rev.2
hw_a: 0x350F, hw_b: 0x0000
> VESA BIOS Extension 3.00, Rev. 9.10:
Vendor: (C) 1988-2005, ATI Technologies Inc.
Product: R430, Rev. 01.00
OEM: ATI ATOMBIOS
Memory size: 256 Mb
> ASIC config:
0x75 = 0xE4, 0x74 = 0x03
0x7B = 0x08, 0x7A = 0x62

Also found this in one of the threads, forgot which had it in copy and paste, my browser crashed from the 300+ tabs I had open..


"By DOLF
BruceAWAY unfortunately your card can't be unlocked.


"Quote:
Originally Posted by omirko View Post
I have ATI X800GT AIW 10 days

Device ID : 554E
Chip name : R430
Memory size : 128 Mb
Memory tipe : DDR3
Active pipelines : 8
GPU clock: 398.00 MHz
Mem Clock : 492 MHz
Config_die_fuses : 0xFFFF5FFF
Config_substrate_fuses : 0xFFFFFF9D
Config_ROM_fuses : 0xA62
GB_pipe_select : 0x29550

Is it possible unlock another quad of pipes?

That card also can't be unlocked to something more than 8 pipes. Probably it could hides R480 which is very good overclocker. Try the core max. overclock with ATITool and if you figure out that it can reach 480-500MHz then return here. If it is capable of only 420-450MHz then it is R430 and you can't do more to improve the performance.
dolf is offline Report Post Reply With Quote"


If you take a look at my bechamrks picture my max oc I was actully able to go up to the 520/600 before screen blanked..not sure due to oc or too much draw.. Lots of conflicting information on these forums. Do I have R423 R430 OR R480 ?

But gives me hope. I'm going to take a break from this.. my head is hurting, any help is much appriciated.
 
Last edited:

TXcharger

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
431 (0.10/day)
Likes
2
Location
SAN ANTONE, TX
Processor Intel Prescott 3.0ghz with HT o/c to 3.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar P4M80-M4 (agp)
Cooling AIR!! with Arctic Silver 5 on processor and vga
Memory 2gb(1gb x 2) OCZ high performance PC3200 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800gto r430 445/545(1100 effective) w/ Zalman FATALITY fan and Omega Drivers 3.8.360
Storage Maxtor 80gb 7200rpm
Display(s) 19in dell flatscreen LCD
Case Dell Dimension 3000
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply stock 350 watt
Software Windows XP sp2
#5
rivatuner is more for nvidia and to the best of my knowledge there is no X800gt there is a gto though, you need to flash the X850XT bios on it i believe because i THINK that is the card that has that chip but you need to reseach that
 

TXcharger

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
431 (0.10/day)
Likes
2
Location
SAN ANTONE, TX
Processor Intel Prescott 3.0ghz with HT o/c to 3.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar P4M80-M4 (agp)
Cooling AIR!! with Arctic Silver 5 on processor and vga
Memory 2gb(1gb x 2) OCZ high performance PC3200 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800gto r430 445/545(1100 effective) w/ Zalman FATALITY fan and Omega Drivers 3.8.360
Storage Maxtor 80gb 7200rpm
Display(s) 19in dell flatscreen LCD
Case Dell Dimension 3000
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply stock 350 watt
Software Windows XP sp2
#6
ok your gonna want to flash the X800XT bios on it and you should see a performance increase and i wouldnt really recommend buying of ebay in the future
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#7
I'd REALLY change that PSU if you wanna push the card! Bloody good price on that card btw :D