• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

saving pictures from bad hdd

Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
343 (0.09/day)
Likes
6
Location
iowa
Processor AMD A64 X2 4600
Motherboard Asus M2A-Vm
Memory 1 G Kingston DDR2 PC2 5300
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage seagate 250GB Samsung 500GB
Power Supply Thermaltake
Software Micorsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pack 2 (Tweaked)
#1
Hello,
I have a laptop hard drive that has either a really nasty virus or a corrupted os. I have tried various things to try to get it to work but k have had no luck. Thiz is what it does: it powers up nd passes the BIOS and passes the windows loading bar (by the way it has windows vista) and after that it just sits on a black screen. I have tried restore but it doesn't have a saved point. I have this from a disk also i pulled up the cmd with the disk and tried chkdk nd that didn't work i also tried connecting the laptop hard drive to a to save pictures and when i do that my desktop won't boot to the desktop even after booting to the good working hard drive. It just sits on the windows 7 icon. I also got a bsod with a error of "c0000142 dll initiallization failed" this was with the laptop hdd installed on the laptop
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#2
does your board support hot plugging? You could go into Windows and then plug the HDD
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#3
try to attach the hdd to other pc and try recover using recuva if the file cant be read
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
343 (0.09/day)
Likes
6
Location
iowa
Processor AMD A64 X2 4600
Motherboard Asus M2A-Vm
Memory 1 G Kingston DDR2 PC2 5300
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage seagate 250GB Samsung 500GB
Power Supply Thermaltake
Software Micorsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pack 2 (Tweaked)
#4
does your board support hot plugging? You could go into Windows and then plug the HDD
I actually got it to load the desktop this what i did ..i put my desktop pc on sleep mod then i plug the laptop hdd and then i turn it back on nd the hdd shows under "computer folder " but the folder takes a long time to load (the green bar on top that loads when you refresh the folder) but the hdd does show it just doesn't show how much space is available. I also tried to scan the hdd with malwarebytes and when i tried that the desktop froze
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#5
it looks your hdd in trouble, does your hdd ticking or sound not normal?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
343 (0.09/day)
Likes
6
Location
iowa
Processor AMD A64 X2 4600
Motherboard Asus M2A-Vm
Memory 1 G Kingston DDR2 PC2 5300
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage seagate 250GB Samsung 500GB
Power Supply Thermaltake
Software Micorsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pack 2 (Tweaked)
#6
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,810 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,798
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#7
it looks your hdd in trouble, does your hdd ticking or sound not normal?
+1 ...it sounds like toast, possibly even the controller. All you can do is keep trying, by connecting to a second computer. Assuming it's a SATA drive? What's the model?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#8
Take the HDD and place it in a ziplock bag and place in the freezer for like 4 hours. Then do hot swap and get as much data as you can. It only works for like 15-20 minutes then needs refroze
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,810 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,798
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#9
Take the HDD and place it in a ziplock bag and place in the freezer for like 4 hours. Then do hot swap and get as much data as you can. It only works for like 15-20 minutes then needs refroze
Never heard that one before.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
93 (0.03/day)
Likes
24
System Name AMD
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX R2.0
Cooling Noctua u12p se2
Memory Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 4GB
Storage Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Packard Bell 22
Case Coolermaster CM690 III
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC892
Power Supply OCZ ZS550W
#10
scan your HDD with HDD regenerator to see what's wrong with it.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.08/day)
Likes
51
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
#12
As a last resort, you can run Photorec.

I have used this and it works well, just use this to sort the files that get recovered.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
343 (0.09/day)
Likes
6
Location
iowa
Processor AMD A64 X2 4600
Motherboard Asus M2A-Vm
Memory 1 G Kingston DDR2 PC2 5300
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage seagate 250GB Samsung 500GB
Power Supply Thermaltake
Software Micorsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pack 2 (Tweaked)
#13
I cant do much with programs wise because every time I connect the bad hdd to my desktop It freezes my pc. all I want to save are pictures.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,480 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,029
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#14
My guess is the HDD has a lot of Damaged sectors.

Run HDD tune and im sure it will show up many.

Otherwise yea connect to another PC and just grab your documents folder and copy across.

Good luck
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
343 (0.09/day)
Likes
6
Location
iowa
Processor AMD A64 X2 4600
Motherboard Asus M2A-Vm
Memory 1 G Kingston DDR2 PC2 5300
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage seagate 250GB Samsung 500GB
Power Supply Thermaltake
Software Micorsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pack 2 (Tweaked)
#15
As a last resort, you can run Photorec.

I have used this and it works well, just use this to sort the files that get recovered.
I tried this nd it actually picked up the bad hdd but im not sure how to save the pictures
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,350 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,973
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#16
Take the HDD and place it in a ziplock bag and place in the freezer for like 4 hours. Then do hot swap and get as much data as you can. It only works for like 15-20 minutes then needs refroze
old trick :)
sound like the drive is spent tho .... possible a issue with the other machines config
try setting the drive to NATIVE-IDE mode in the bios after installing it in MACHINE B:
else if the photos are absolutely 100% non replaceable you can look forward to sending the drive someplace to have it recovered
looking at between 1200-3k depending on how fucked the drive is if its just a bad controller you can swap that your self provided you can find a identical donor drive (30-100 bucks) if you can do it your self its just two cables and some screws on most drives
NEXT TIME MAKE BACKUPS :shadedshu why do people always wait until something breaks before being convinced that they need backups
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
343 (0.09/day)
Likes
6
Location
iowa
Processor AMD A64 X2 4600
Motherboard Asus M2A-Vm
Memory 1 G Kingston DDR2 PC2 5300
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage seagate 250GB Samsung 500GB
Power Supply Thermaltake
Software Micorsoft Windows XP Version 2002 Service Pack 2 (Tweaked)
#17
old trick :)
sound like the drive is spent tho .... possible a issue with the other machines config
try setting the drive to NATIVE-IDE mode in the bios after installing it in MACHINE B:
else if the photos are absolutely 100% non replaceable you can look forward to sending the drive someplace to have it recovered
looking at between 1200-3k depending on how fucked the drive is if its just a bad controller you can swap that your self provided you can find a identical donor drive (30-100 bucks) if you can do it your self its just two cables and some screws on most drives
NEXT TIME MAKE BACKUPS :shadedshu why do people always wait until something breaks before being convinced that they need backups
Thanks for the suggestion but i have tried that too nd still nothing ...and the laptop is a friend ...i always keep mine backed up.