• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

'Scan For Artifacts' causes system crash at default settings

Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi ppls,

I just bought a brand new ATI AIW X800 XT (my first ATI card) and I loaded ATITool 0.24 and did the 'Scan For Artifacts' at default 499.50/499.50 settings and after about 2 minutes my PC reboots!!! The same things happens when I do the 'Find Max Core' or 'Find Max Mem'. The only thing I can think of that might cause the system crash is my PSU which is a Fortron Source FSP Blue Storm 500 watt and the +12 rail is averaging 12.11 volts with the high 12.22 V and the low being 11.98 V. Fortunately my PSU has ajustable rails but I need confirmation that my +12 volt rail is low before I'll even consider adjusting it higher and if I do need it higher how high? Thanks in advance!!!

Edited update:

I am able to overclock the card 540/560MHz and play Half-Life 2 just fine for a couple hours and I also ran 3DMark03 and 3DMark05 at those settings. Perhaps I should try an earlier version of ATITool? :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
hmm well Fortron is one of the few companies known to underrate their PSU's and those levels are well within levels
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I think I solved the problem! I previously had a BFG 6800 OC and then a BFG 6800 Ultra installed and I'd been told by BFG tech support to set the AGP VDDQ Voltage to 1.6 Volts in my mobo BIOS settings and that's were I left it when I installed the AIW X800 XT. I experienced a random system crash when playing Half-Life 2 so I thought I'd check my BIOS settings because I do have a 10% overclock on my system from 200 FSB to 220 FSB and I changed the AGP Voltage back to default 1.5 Volts and then ran 'Scan For Artifacts' for 12 minutes at default 499.50/499.50MHz without crashing! :)
The only other BIOS setting that I might need to change is 'AGP/PCI Frequency (MHz)' which I currently have set to Auto. In my Asus P4P800 SE BIOS I have 3 other options:
66.66/33.33
72.73/36.36
80.00/40.40

With my system overclocked 10% what would be my best choice for AGP/PCI Frequency? Thanks in advance!!
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
ALWAYS used the fixed option if possible but if you have none 66/33 is the ONLY setting it should ever be at.generally when raising FSB it also raises the AGP/PCI clocks as well and will cause instability on most cases
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
INSTG8R said:
ALWAYS used the fixed option if possible but if you have none 66/33 is the ONLY setting it should ever be at.generally when raising FSB it also raises the AGP/PCI clocks as well and will cause instability on most cases
Thanks INSTG8R!!! I see you have a Arctic Silencer 4 on your X800 XT; what load temps do you get with that cooler on compared to stock cooling and how much more of an overclock has that allowed you to achieve??? Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
It lowered my temps about8-10C overall as for OC I have other issues there that arent heat related. Unfortunately for your AIW your only option is ATI Silencer 1 Rev.2 a good cooler it may be it offers you no Mem cooling