• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Scary HD4890 VRM readings :eek:

marceli7

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
Poland, Poznań
System Name Windows7 RC
Processor Intel C2D E6600@3400MHz
Motherboard Asus P5B Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory DDR-2 Patriot LLK 2x1GB
Video Card(s) His HD4890
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) Samsung 204B
Case Sharkoon Rebel9
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Antec Trio 650W
Hello!
I have a rather poor oc HD4890 made by HIS, reference model. All I can get without bumping voltage is 910/1070. Ok, it runs near 1GHz with more voltage but... Always some "buts" ;)
This is what I see in defaults clocks and default voltage:
--Idle--------------------------------------------------GPUTool stability test (window)-----------------------Furmark stability test (window)



And now the really scary one. Furmark with 910/1070 oc:


Like U see temps seam to be rather normal but VRM :shadedshu With such high VRM temps I decided to stop experimenting without more knowledge about HD4890. All those readings are from auto fan config but in fact setting manual to 50% not helping much on VRM.
So... I am asking HD4890 users to test those temps and help me decide if I have to use screwdriver and try to tighten things or just forget about overclocking this card.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,990 (8.70/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
What temps do you get in real life applications? Yeah, furmark gets things insanely hot. Hotter than any real application. If I were in your shoes, I'd just stop using furmark all together as it does absolutely nothing but torture and destroy your card. If you are going to add voltage and clock the nuts off your card, might as well set the fan to 100% or look for a better cooling option.
 

marceli7

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
Poland, Poznań
System Name Windows7 RC
Processor Intel C2D E6600@3400MHz
Motherboard Asus P5B Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory DDR-2 Patriot LLK 2x1GB
Video Card(s) His HD4890
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) Samsung 204B
Case Sharkoon Rebel9
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Antec Trio 650W
I'd just stop using furmark all together as it does absolutely nothing but torture and destroy your card.
Thks erocker for wise words but in fact I am looking for HD4890 users with opinion about VRM temps of my HD4890 comparing to theirs cards VRMs. In other words I suspect something is wrong with my vga.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
316 (0.07/day)
Location
Canuckistan
System Name Slave
Processor Core i7 920 @4.2 Lapped
Motherboard Biostar Tpower x58
Cooling Ek Supreme + Backplate, Thermochill 120.3, mcp655
Memory 6Gb Gskill Black Pi ddr3 1600 8-7-7-19 1t
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 (flashed to 290x) + DTek Fuzion block @1100
Storage Samsung 840 evo, WD Black
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 1440p
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme P.O.S.
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 950watt
Benchmark Scores i7 920 c0 @ 4.6ghz
Those temps are perfectly normal.
 

uptux

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
marceli7, did you use Furmark in the "throttled by catalyst" mode?
The Catalyst drivers normally throttle furmark down (due to obvious reasons), which can be disabled by renaming furmark.exe to something else (or using the etqw.exe included in recent versions), or disabling Catalyst A.I..

In this "unlocked" mode my VRMs go well above 120-130°C in furmark.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.54/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
yep those are normal temps...
if i were you, i wouldnt use furmark on a 4870/90 card ;)
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Location
Switzerland
Processor Intel i7 9700K
Motherboard Aorus Z390 PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Aorus DDR4 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X 11GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M.2 1TB / Toshiba E300 2TB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case Fractal Define R6 TG / Corsair ML140 Pro
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software Windows 10 x64
It's the same story witht the HD4870, both card have a Digital PWM, they tend to get toasty. The VRM's are rated for 125°C I believe. Anyways I would suggest to not play too much with Furmark or OCCT for these card, they stress the cards much more than a 3D game would and at such high temperatures your card's lifespan is going to be significantly reduced. They don't reflect real applications. Also try to set manually your fan at 100% if you are doing some stress test.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,791 (0.52/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
That "125°C rating" is nothing but misinformation based on datasheets of the coupled inductors used with these so called "digital PWMs", and as such the figure is useless.
 
D

DreamSeller

Guest
set the fan speed higher that's tooo low 38% @ full omg mines running 55% while idle...
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
326 (0.08/day)
System Name Harley
Processor Intel core i7 3820
Motherboard ASRock Extreme6 X79
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory Geil Enhance Corsa DDR3 1600+ 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GTX Titan
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD / Toshiba 7200 2TB HDD
Display(s) Crossover 30" 2560x1600
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB - Custom Modded
Audio Device(s) n/a
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300w
Software Win7 64
geeze , in my 4770 cf setup, the highest recorded load temp is 7C lower than your idle!
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Location
Switzerland
Processor Intel i7 9700K
Motherboard Aorus Z390 PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Aorus DDR4 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X 11GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M.2 1TB / Toshiba E300 2TB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case Fractal Define R6 TG / Corsair ML140 Pro
Power Supply EVGA G3 750W
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software Windows 10 x64
That "125°C rating" is nothing but misinformation based on datasheets of the coupled inductors used with these so called "digital PWMs", and as such the figure is useless.
Well it's what I found out about those Vitec/Pulse components. Sure they will not break if you reach 126°C for example but I believe that it's quite a high temperature and a card won't last long in a such a high environnement.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,233 (3.53/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Speed the dam fan up that will help lol, Like come on it's on 41%. try using GPUTool for the fan and CCC for the overclock.

As for over i have to bump up the volts to pass 955. But heats becoming a issue around that time.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,791 (0.52/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
Well it's what I found out about those Vitec/Pulse components.
Those "Vitec/Pulse components" are inductors and their temperature is irrelevant. They produce around 1-2W of heat so they don't really even heat up by themselves. It's those Volterra VT1165/95SF chips near the inductor that report the temps (in GPU-Z, eg.), as they do all the work while wasting maybe 5-10W each.
 

marceli7

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
Poland, Poznań
System Name Windows7 RC
Processor Intel C2D E6600@3400MHz
Motherboard Asus P5B Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory DDR-2 Patriot LLK 2x1GB
Video Card(s) His HD4890
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) Samsung 204B
Case Sharkoon Rebel9
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Antec Trio 650W
Hello again!
Well... Thks all for interesting discussion!
Now, after some tests I decided to try Crysis with all VeryHigh (objects on High only) settings in 1600x1200 res.
This is what I got with 945/1080 1,4V.
Locked at MAX in "Core" level:

IMHO it looks good :) Well, I know that my 4890 is lowclocker but at least it goes fine on 945MHz with 1.4V.

BTW: On this level only ("Core") I see in some (very few) places strange thin black lines. It looks like invisible texture edge. Underclocked, normal or overclocked, no matter. Looks like driver (9.5) or game (1.2.1) engine glitch. I can see them with vhigh settings in dx10 mode. I am on windows7.
BTW: The last Crysis level... Well it looks like ticking bomb. On this level memory usage climbing slowly and Crysis crashes always reaching ~1.7GB memory usage on my 2GB system. I do not know what is it, driver, game engine or win7 but it looks like huge memory leak.
 

Attachments

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,233 (3.53/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Hello again!
Well... Thks all for interesting discussion!
Now, after some tests I decided to try Crysis with all VeryHigh (objects on High only) settings in 1600x1200 res.
This is what I got with 945/1080 1,4V.
Locked at MAX in "Core" level:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=26593&stc=1&d=1244917985
IMHO it looks good :) Well, I know that my 4890 is lowclocker but at least it goes fine on 945MHz with 1.4V.

BTW: On this level only ("Core") I see in some (very few) places strange thin black lines. It looks like invisible texture edge. Underclocked, normal or overclocked, no matter. Looks like driver (9.5) or game (1.2.1) engine glitch. I can see them with vhigh settings in dx10 mode. I am on windows7.
BTW: The last Crysis level... Well it looks like ticking bomb. On this level memory usage climbing slowly and Crysis crashes always reaching ~1.7GB memory usage on my 2GB system. I do not know what is it, driver, game engine or win7 but it looks like huge memory leak.
Good temps :).. The crash are you using a fixed pagefile ?.. if you are change it to a windows managed one as it sounds like your running out of memory..

And maybe think about getting another 2GB..
 

marceli7

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2005
Messages
23 (0.00/day)
Location
Poland, Poznań
System Name Windows7 RC
Processor Intel C2D E6600@3400MHz
Motherboard Asus P5B Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory DDR-2 Patriot LLK 2x1GB
Video Card(s) His HD4890
Storage WD 640GB
Display(s) Samsung 204B
Case Sharkoon Rebel9
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Antec Trio 650W
Good temps :).. The crash are you using a fixed pagefile ?.. if you are change it to a windows managed one as it sounds like your running out of memory..

And maybe think about getting another 2GB..
Well... Yes it was with fixed 3GB pagefile but it is the same with system manged. Just checked.
Tried running with Vista compat. and still crash just before 1.7GB memory usage.

BTW: About more then 2GB. Just for Crysis? :shadedshu
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
246 (0.06/day)
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z170A Gaming M5
Cooling EK Nickle Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + D5 variable pump
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix 1080Ti with Bykski Waterblock
Storage 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/El Capitan Dual Boot
mine went up to 141C when I run furmark, I immediately stopped it and after that never run furmark on my system :|.
 
Top