• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Screen Blacking Out While Gaming

Clear Watt

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Bay Area, CA
System Name Custom Desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Ed. 3.4GHz
Motherboard MSI 870A-G54
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws 240-Pin DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Video Card(s) 2: Sapphire 100283-3L Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 720RPM
Display(s) Envision 22" res: 1680 x 1050 5ms
Case ATX-Midtower
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#1
I've been searching and searching for a reason for this but I haven't found one so I'm hoping maybe someone here might help. Here is the problem:

While playing Bad Company 2 (Only happens during this game, haven't seen it anywhere else), my screen flickers then goes black for all 3D objects. The HUD in game is still there, and it only lasts for about 30 to 90 seconds, but it's hard to enjoy a game while this keeps happening. and it seems to go in and out as I move through the level and then it will stop. There seems to be no pattern to it.

Any help is greatly appreciated! :)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,369 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
Sounds like your video card is over heating.. Maybe cleaning the dust out of the fan\heatsink and making sure air is getting to the card.
 

Clear Watt

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Bay Area, CA
System Name Custom Desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Ed. 3.4GHz
Motherboard MSI 870A-G54
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws 240-Pin DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Video Card(s) 2: Sapphire 100283-3L Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 720RPM
Display(s) Envision 22" res: 1680 x 1050 5ms
Case ATX-Midtower
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#3
Sounds like your video card is over heating.. Maybe cleaning the dust out of the fan\heatsink and making sure air is getting to the card.
That kinda makes sense actually. The layout of my tower has the PSU on top, which leaves the second card pressed against the base of the chassis. I've been meaning to upgrade but don't have the money. >.<

Any short term ideas besides dusting off the fan and heatsink? I did that yesterday when I installed a wireless card, and it still happened.

I also usually look at their temp through the overclock menu, though I don't use the overclock since I feel like I'd fry my cards... and the max it's ever gone when I've looked is about 65C, so like 140F.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,369 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Use GPU=Z and make sure it continue refreshing is ticked, you can all so click the little arrow or numbers to get it to stay on max temps\speeds during a session.

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

Did you take the plastic part of them to make sure no dust build up ?. You could always buy a new case or a dremel ( when you can )and make 120mm holes in the bottom of the case :p. And if it's as small as i am thinking one at the top too :p.

Could try leaving the side of the case off too and you could all so try using a house hold fan to blow over the cards to see if that helps some just make sure tou don't get it too close.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Bay Area, CA
System Name Custom Desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Ed. 3.4GHz
Motherboard MSI 870A-G54
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws 240-Pin DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Video Card(s) 2: Sapphire 100283-3L Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 720RPM
Display(s) Envision 22" res: 1680 x 1050 5ms
Case ATX-Midtower
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#5
That little app is great! Thanks. I had it running while I was playing and it did crash, so I looked at the temp of the gpu and it was hovering around 82-86C... Now that seems a bit high to me, so I took off the side case, and that lowered the temp by around 10C, so now it stays at 69-70C, but it still crashes!

I did a little research about crashes in BC2, and it seems it's fairly common, but have no idea how to fix it still since I implemented their "fixes" and it still crashed on me today.

I'm out of ideas
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,369 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
That little app is great! Thanks. I had it running while I was playing and it did crash, so I looked at the temp of the gpu and it was hovering around 82-86C... Now that seems a bit high to me, so I took off the side case, and that lowered the temp by around 10C, so now it stays at 69-70C, but it still crashes!

I did a little research about crashes in BC2, and it seems it's fairly common, but have no idea how to fix it still since I implemented their "fixes" and it still crashed on me today.

I'm out of ideas
Well 82-86c for that gpu is a none issue but cooler the better as there is other electronics around there too, it's probably the game hehe. Any chance you can see the VRM temps as they tend to be higher than the GPU temps.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Bay Area, CA
System Name Custom Desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Ed. 3.4GHz
Motherboard MSI 870A-G54
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws 240-Pin DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Video Card(s) 2: Sapphire 100283-3L Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 720RPM
Display(s) Envision 22" res: 1680 x 1050 5ms
Case ATX-Midtower
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#7
If you mean I can do it through GPU-Z, then no it doesn't list VRM temp. It ends with VDDC voltage.

It may also be a server issue since sometimes I'll notice that the server is completely empty when I log back in.

Thanks for all the help though!