• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

screen choppy

Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.29/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#1
okay so i have an issue with this. screens hella choppy when it comes to surfing the internet!

specs:
mobo: a8v
cpu: amd 3500+
ram: hyper kingston X 512x2
vid card: asus 6600 with icebergq 256mb agp
hdd: theres a 30 wd and a 150 wd ionno how to check for buffer and that.

if you guys got any ideas to whats going on with this throw some suggestions. run prime95 right now is there anything else i should run.

also this computer is loaded with spyware and adaware and norton360 is crap so i ignored that.

thank you for helping me and many thanks :nutkick:
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.71/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#3
techpowerup got free anti viruses and spyware removers.
try them and after that try what ktr said
and what browser do you use? IE or Firefox? do you have lots of toolbars in your browser?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
Use Avast, you can get it here.
Get Spybot S&D, which can be had here.

It would probablly be best if you format your HDD and reinstall Windows first.

When reinstalling windows, follow this tweakguide's advice here.
Btw, how did that x800 work out?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.71/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#5
if you wan to format, then you don't need to scan anything :D
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#6
Yeah, but with those programs I suggested , this problem won't happen again. I use these programs to keep Spyware and viruses frome getting on my system. Regardless of how many, scanners, cleaners, etc. he uses, his file structures and system performance will be deminished. Plus if he follows the tweakguide, things can be installed correctly. Mabye you should try it too!
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.29/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#7
eh erocker i'm already fine i think i tuned it up as much as possible but he needs to. probably just run uninstaller and see whats up with the startups.

naw no need for format. rather clean it up and do a clean install but i'll try to fix any of the things that might go wrong. so far memtest is good passed all.

quote erocker: its great you never left me heat for it loser! leave me one too XD thanks for it i never oc'ed or anything to a ptxe or whatever

quote: he's using IE.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.29/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#8
so far nothing screens still choppy might have to reformat. anyone have a registry tweaker? or like the guide to tweak the registry?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#9
quote erocker: its great you never left me heat for it loser! leave me one too XD thanks for it i never oc'ed or anything to a ptxe or whatever

quote: he's using IE.
Lol, sorry bout that, already taken care of.:D
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.71/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#10
so far nothing screens still choppy might have to reformat. anyone have a registry tweaker? or like the guide to tweak the registry?
OH!!! LOL, REINSTAL YOUR Video card drivers! see if that works
You will get that chopiness if you don't have any drivers instaleled
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.29/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#11
alright.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.29/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#12
is there another way to find out what graphics card he has i fergot what program to use it where it tells you everything. was it sandra or everest?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#13
Use GPU-z. You can get it on this site.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.29/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#14
ah it stopped thank you. i didnt have to reformat but theirs hella spyware. running spybot and avs all day still has spyware. probably install spysweeper and the uninstaller considering spysweeper is a ram killa. thanks for the help
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.71/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#15
so, video drivers were the problem or spyware?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.29/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#16
video drivers. now its on to spyware.