• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Screen Flickering

Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#1
Hay everyone!

Today I run my computer and my screen was heavy flickering all time and sometimes screen was black(after a few sec). I changed to 60Hz but flickering was still existed.
So I changed to DVI and back to DL and flickering was disappeared.

And I saw flickering when I start system(Windows 7 logo before Windows start).

Why? Where is the problem? It's something wrong with my GPU?

Thanks
~Tintai

PS. All time I have problem with flickering :(
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#2
Hi

Are able to test with a spare 60Hz monitor or borrow one from a friend

Have calibrated the monitor; dose it do this @100Hz @120Hz @144Hz

Are using DVI-DL out from vga card to DVI-DL in to monitor?

Have tried a new cable?

Dose screen flicker in windows safe mode?

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
Are able to test with a spare 60Hz monitor or borrow one from a friend
Hmm no...

Have calibrated the monitor; dose it do this @100Hz @120Hz @144Hz
I don't know but monitor tell me(in monitor options) that optimal refresh is 60Hz. Before was 120Hz.
But I using 120Hz.

@edit:
Ah, on the DVI optimal is 120Hz but on DL is always 60Hz. So this isn't problem. I think...

Are using DVI-DL out from vga card to DVI-DL in to monitor?
I'm using Display Link bcs on DVI I have many problems. PCB 1.0.

Have tried a new cable?
No. I don't have.

Dose screen flicker in windows safe mode?
Yes. Everywhere.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
PS. All time I have problem with flickering
Return that card for something else. I've heard of many issues with Asus Direct Cu 7970's. You could try finding a different monitor to see if your monitor is the problem, but I doubt it.

**I though you tried differnet cables. Buy a new cable and try it. Get a Dual Link DVI cable.

Here's a list.

1. Uninstall and reinstall video drivers.

2. Replace cable

3. Try different monitor

4. Try different video card

5. Replace video card.

If you can do any of the steps above, just skip to step #5.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#5
Hi

Have you got a spare vga card you could test with the monitor?

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#6
Return that card for something else. I've heard of many issues with Asus Direct Cu 7970's. You could try finding a different monitor to see if your monitor is the problem, but I doubt it.
Perhaps it's best option. Maybe something from Nvidia.

1. I try this. But drivers doesn't work before system loading.
2. I don't have other but maybe I buy second and try it. But my current cable is new.
3,4,5. Like up. I don't have different.

Have you got a spare vga card you could test with the monitor?/QUOTE]
Unfortunately, no.

Look, when that flickering appeard I change(in CCC) to DVI(I have connected two cables and I can change between DVI and DL) and flickering was stoped. Next I change to DL and problem is gone.

And I was this problem: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=185422
I think that card is bad. Hm, it's impossible that my monitor dying.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#7
didnt you flash your card to the matrix bios and post a thread about vrm temps about 100*c?!
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#8
No. Now I have original BIOS. And I buy this pads. But I don't have a time to install them.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#9
Hi

But I don't have a time to install them
Make the time, if heat is an issue the longer it is left the more damage it will do

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#10
I buy 2mm pads. It's ok? I can buy other. E.g 0.5mm.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#11
No. Now I have original BIOS. And I buy this pads. But I don't have a time to install them.
Well then, the card is probably dead now. Running a card at those temperatures for a time will kill it.

It's not your fault though, the card seems as if it was defective from the time you got it. Return the card.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#12
I don't have proof of purchase. But when I'm not playing vrm is ~60C.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#13
Hi

If the vga card is still in warranty return it to the retailer/e-tailer and or RMA the card, *removing the fan shroud will invalidate the warranty.

I would also check to see if the fan shroud nad heatsink are making good contact with the PCB - if not raise an RMA

I buy 2mm pads. It's ok? I can buy other. E.g 0.5mm.
Memory 0.5mm thermal pad
VRM's 1.0mm thermal pad

If the vga card is out of warranty; then try replacing the thermal pads, however I do not see this as the issue with the card other than VRM temp at 56. [this on its own would not caurse flickering] Underclock the card to see if flicker goes away

If you have a spare hdd / ssd, as a last resort / attempt reinstall windows and service pack and load [AMD Catalyst Whql, Driver ONLY use custom install]

*As unable to test the vga card in another system and or with another monitor to see if it exibits the same flickering [it is hard to tell what advice to give]

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#14
Yes, it's in warranty but not in my country. It's horrible! I can't send this to RMA.

I remembered that I have graphic card in processor. So I try this.
And tomorrow I buy 1mm pads.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#15
Guys, I did video with this issue.

Still on my 7970: (Earlier this flickering was repeated many times in minute)

It's not good. Yea? :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#16
All advice that needs to be given seems to have been. Though, looking at your video I would definitely try a different monitor.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#17
How can I run my integrated graphic on CPU? I must remove GPU?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#18
How can I run my integrated graphic on CPU? I must remove GPU?
You should be able to just unplug the card from the monitor and plug it into the back of your motherboard with the system off.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#19
I find you can do it without turning the system off, never had problem doing it without powering down.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#20
How exactly? I must change something in bios? I do it first time.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#21
How exactly? I must change something in bios? I do it first time.
Well if your lets call it onboard gpu is enabled in the bios, just pull the cable off the graphics card and plug it onto the onboard connector, monitor should just come back on.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#22
Yes! I change priority in bios and system start on iGPU.
And I install drivers. Now I must waiting for... issue.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#23
Yes! I change priority in bios and system start on iGPU.
And I install drivers. Now I must waiting for... issue.
If it still flickers, it could well be your monitor.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#24
I install drivers but I have 640x480 and low colors. On devices manager I have yellow symbol in Intel HD Graphic 3000. And I didn't see monitor on manager. Lol.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#25
What does it say on properties(right click it) for the HD3000 on control panel?