• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Screen Flickering

Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#26
This:
This device can not find a suitable free resources that it can use. (Code 12)

If you want to use this device, you need to disable one of the devices present in the system.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#27
Right, you need to disable some unused device in your bios, some controller you are not using.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#28
Where and which controllers?
I don't understand.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#29
Where and which controllers?
I don't understand.
Sorry it's kind of hard to explain, but your board assigns resources to each controller on your board for usb, sound etc, there is none spare for the onboard video, so you need to disable something. maybe a unused usb controller or something. It should probably be in the onboard devices section in the bios maybe.

Hopefully someone else will jump in and help me out here :)

Do you have a sound card or are you using the onboard sound?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#30
I'm using onboard sound. I try disable USB.

@edit:
I disable, USB 3.0, audio controller and something else but this change nothing...
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,285 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,387
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#31
I'd just pull out the 7970, it'll let the iGPU work.
 
Last edited:

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#32

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#33
I'm using onboard sound. I try disable USB.

@edit:
I disable, USB 3.0, audio controller and something else but this change nothing...
Re enable what you disabled and pull your 7970 out, the iGPU should work then.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#34
I disabled them from device manager. It's not the same? Then yellow icons are disappeared but come back when I reboot computer.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#35
I disabled them from device manager. It's not the same? Then yellow icons are disappeared but come back when I reboot computer.
No its not the same really, the bios assigns resources to them when it boots, you would need to do it in the bios, just power off and pull your 7970 out, the onboard gpu should work then.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#36
Ok. I try this tomorrow. Now I'm going sleep. Thanks for helping guys! You're awesome :toast:

Also I was turned on iGPU two hours and there was no flickering. Now I'm back to GPU, time up: 5 minutes and flickering... I think that answer is simple. It's something wrong with my GPU.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#37
Ok. I try this tomorrow. Now I'm going sleep. Thanks for helping guys! You're awesome :toast:

Also I was turned on iGPU two hours and there was no flickering. Now I'm back to GPU, time up: 5 minutes and flickering... I think that answer is simple. Something wrong with my GPU.
Yup, looks that way.

Night:)
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,952 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,062
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#38
I'd just pull out the 7970, it'll let the iGPU work.
+1

As Tigger said, the bios designates resources if it detects the card in the slot, so physically remove it and boot up. Though I do tend to agree you have a possible GPU failure, let's ensure it's not a faulty cable (can't say I've seen one) or a crap monitor.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#39
Hi I'm back and I noticed something else. (For this thread: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=185422)
When my monitor and GPU has connected DVI and DL both and I turn off monitor with switch and next turn it on, I see my screen and there is no problem.
When I have connected only DL and turn off, turn on I see black screen and mouse only.

Whaat? Why? Why does it matter?

Soon I run on iGPU and will see.

@edit:
Ok, It's so easy... And on iGPU I can return to desktop when I shout down monitor. Also for now there is no flickering but I wait 3/4 hours.
And I can run in 120Hz! Nice :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#40
Hi

When connecting *two cables from a single graphic card to a single monitor using *two seperate out puts and inputs, windows will recognise this as a dual monitor and assign one or both sources depending on Windows [*Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Display\Screen Resolution] if the OS has prioratised one of the source outputs to an input of the monitor that has not been assigned in the monitor settings then it would appear blank.

Note: Limitation or the vga card DVI-DL and DisplayPort cannot be used at the same time [*a single link adapter can be used with DP].
Example:
Dual Link DVI.jpg
Marked in RED

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#41
Ah, thanks..

Ok, so up time is: 2h 32m and still no flickering.
What now? Can I rescue my card?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#42
I did tell you when you first got the card and posted about it that users were reporting issues with DL-DVI(not sure if you remember, but I think I even linked you to a review that reported this issue as well). I think you're just running into this issue.

If you have things connected as Law-II's picture above, then I'd submit a support ticket in to ASUS.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#43
Yes I remember. Then I change DVI to DL.
Anyway, I try contact ASUS and maybe send this to RMA.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#44
I have one more question.
How long the card will live? Month? Few months? Year?
And what can I do? RMA is impossible.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#45
Running a lower resolution doesn't fix it?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#46
I don't know. I didn't try.
But even on 60Hz card have a problem with flickering.

PS. And this Intel HD Graphic 3000 support 120Hz :)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#47
Hi

Intel HD Graphic 3000 support 120Hz
So no issue with HDMI connection from PC motherboard to Monitor HDMI input, good

Which of the following do you have?
- Cable with DVI-DL to HDMI
- HDMI to HDMI
- Active Display Port to DP version 2.1 [are able to test with this?]
- DVI-DL *adapter to HDMI used with HDMI to HDMI Cable
- DVI-SL *adapter to HDMI used with HDMI to HDMI Cable
- DVI-DL *adapter to D-sub used with D-sub to D-sub
- DVI-SL *adapter to D-sub used with D-sub to D-sub

- Did the vga card have this flickering issue when you first got it; If Not when did it start and what had happend [was it over clocked]
- What AMD Driver version was installed?
- When was windows OS last reinstall?

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
426 (0.25/day)
Likes
69
Location
Poland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4,4 GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Superclocked
Storage Corsair SSD Force GT 120 GB & Seagate Desktop SSHD 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T & BenQ T720
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply OCZ ZT 650W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#48
I have only DVI-DL-DVI-DL, DVI-SL-DVI-SL, VGA-VGA and DP-DP.

Actually I have 13.4 but I tried 13.6.
I install OS two mounts ago.

So no issue with HDMI connection from PC motherboard to Monitor HDMI input, good
DisplayPort. HDMI dosn't support 120Hz.

And, yes. On the iGPU there is no issue.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#49
Hi


-I will ask this once more,yes: Did the vga card have this flickering issue when you first got it; If Not when did it start and what had happend [was it over clocked]

DisplayPort. HDMI dosn't support 120Hz. Confirm Is this 2.1 compliant?
I need to know if it flickers in the same way using DisplayPort even if it dose not support 120Hz, as this may indicate that the PSB has damaged components or corrupted vbios image, driver corruption.

Test the DVI-SL-DVI-SL while your there from the correct output [attach this to the DVI-DL vga output and attach display port under this] enter window properties for monitor and select display as one.

When testing the DisplayPort cable:
attach DP cable to the port furthest away from the DVI-DL
Dual Link DVI.jpg


Need to start testing the vga card, all ports need testing, double check that there are no bent pins in the cable fittings or damage to the vga cards ports

- check that the PCIe Blades are clean ,
- clean the PCIe x16 motherboard slot [use air duster]
- Ensure the vga card is seated well
- change the power cables if the PSU is modular, if not assign other cables from the PSU if supported.

Uninstall AMD drivers, dose the flicker still occure? [Check all cable scenarios while driver is uninstalled]

If you are able to test this with a clean install of windows + service pack [all the better] get a cheap hdd / ssd if you do not have one spare

take your time; and ensure all cables are secure

Edit:
And now I plug in both cables and DL have no problem... I don't understand this. What happens?
Most of the answers to this here makes for some light reading in between testing; however this is a possible bug in the AMD driver.

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#50
If you have them, try the molex to pci-e power cables too, may as well take out the PSU's PCI-E power cables out of the equation.